It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Fox & Rabbit Inn, Pickering

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Jill kornas on 27th July, 2013

Add your review
Very upset with this visit, had Sunday tea here, very overpriced and they bought a very small portion of vegetables when 5 of us were having roast dinners, then they did not being it until after we had finished our meat, and the staff were not helpful, never again.

Date visited: 21st july 2013

Review by Sandra on 4th January, 2012

Add your review
Rude and unwelcoming staff. A pub trying to be a restaurant and failing at both. Five of us made the mistake of thinking that this was a pub we could have a few quiet drinks in for the afternoon after a long walk. The staff were very rude when we politely asked where we could sit that wasn't reserved for diners and, when we were laughing at one person's (clean) joke, we were asked to be quiet. Drinks are expensive, food looked overpriced, ambiance is non existent and it's quite uncomfortable. My advice would be to go the White Swan in Levisham instead, which was friendly, comfortable and did nice food.

Date visited: 1/1/12

Review by Richard W on 25th April, 2010

Add your review
A great find - a wonderful level of service and the exceptional home-cooked food. You'd expect much less than this from the outside - it could be just another pretty and well kept roadside pub catering for passing trade, but you could not be more wrong. We had very tasty home-made Black Sheep ale beef pie one night and crisp and very fresh battered haddock the next day. (The menu is much broader than this and I'm sure is every bit as good.) The service is friendly, engaging and the staff couldn't do more for us. It's on my "go back next time I'm up that way" list!

Date visited: April 2010

Review by Sarah Vernon on 16th October, 2007

Add your review
Extraordinary food, service and a friendly cosy atmosphere. Highly recommended!

Date visited: 15th October 2007

Review by Sue Bright on 26th June, 2007

Add your review
How refreshing to find an establishment that believes in giving a first class service alongside a first class product. The food was superbly cooked & piping hot and the staff were all friendly & professional. I would strongly recommend this restaurant.

Date visited: 22/06/2007

Review by Mrs. G Williams on 21st November, 2006

Add your review
This was an amazing find! Staff lovely and warm, in a traditional setting. The best thing was the food...absolutely delightful! my husband and i were highly impressed, had a gorgeous meal by an open fire. Highly recommend the homecooked sunday roasts! Husband said best steak he'd had...well worth the trip out and are now weekend regulars!

Date visited: 10/11/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A painter must think of everything he sees as being there entirely for his own use and pleasure. - Lucien Freud
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James Iís Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleportís Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages