It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of George Inn,

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mrs Geddes on 15th May, 2010

Add your review
Visited the George for a beer. Good beer if a bit warm. We were sitting in the beer garden relaxing when the landlord came out and started shouting at some customers who had just exited the pub and were putting on their rucksacks etc. He was telling them that he hated walkers because they come to the Dales in their expensive gear and think they can do what they want. After being told that if it wasnot for walkers and tourists visiting the area he would not have the trade to make a living. He said he didn't care about the visitors because he was moving on within 2 years. With an attitude like that he should sell up and move on now. Spoilt my day for me having to hear such a load of abuse.

Date visited: 13/05/2010

Review by Geoff on 20th September, 2009

Add your review
I have stayed at The George Hubberholme on numerous occasions, even prior to the present landlord being there. I can honestly say that the improvements made since the present landlord took over have made a vast difference. With improvements to the rooms,guests breakfast area and overall appearance both internally and externally including a new water supply. I have always found the landlord and his staff both friendly and helpful and the bar menu and drinks available give a good variety of choice. I therfore found some of the comments I read earlier unbelievable.Indeed so much so I had to contact The George to see if had been taken over. I have always enjoyed my stays at The George.and will continue to do so. Keep up the good work all the staff at The George.

Date visited: 18th to 20th Sept 2009

Review by phippster on 6th July, 2009

Add your review
Our experience of The George Inn at Hubberholme was not a particularly good one. The barman was the most lethargic I've come across and the landlord disinterested and remote. Evidently, neither of them wanted to be there. It was 28 degrees and the cask ale was served unacceptably warm. The pub felt scruffy and 'unloved'. With this amount of incompetence on display, we decided to eat/drink elsewhere. NB: The White Lion at Cray was the best pub in that area (superior to The Buck Inn, in my view).

Date visited: 27/06/09

Review by Kev & Heather on 8th March, 2009

Add your review
Just returned from a very enjoyable overnight stay at the George Inn. Having booked the accommodation before reading the previous reviews we were a bit apprehensive about staying. However, the room was clean (newly re-furbished), warm and comfortable with the Shower having plenty of hot water. All bedrooms are en-suite. We had a great evening in the bar after a hard days walking - the local's folk song entertainment was very enjoyable, the food and beer were also excellent and good value for money. The owner and staff were very friendly. The bar toilet's are outside (a few steps from the main door) but this is in order to keep the pub as close to the traditional Dale's type Inn as possible. The toilet's were spotless when we were there.

Date visited: 7th March 09

Review by Deborah on 3rd June, 2008

Add your review
I visited the George Inn following a recommendation in our local paper. After a 2 hour drive my fiance and I decided to park at the George Inn, have a drink before we set off on our walk and return to have lunch there. We noted a sign as we drove in stating the car park was for use by patrons only. As were having a drink and were intending to return for lunch we didn't envisage a problem but as a matter of courtesy told the barman our plans. A couple of minutes later after sitting down with our drink we overheard the landlord talking to the barman. He clearly stated that it was not okay for us to park, "why should I have a full car park" were his exact words, even though when added up we would have spent £50 with him that day. Needless to say I was not prepared to give him any more of our money and my partner and I left, via a trip to he outdoor, dirty toilets, the ladies chain was made out of a plastic clothes line! Fortunately we found a gem of a spot called the Buck Inn in Buckden about 2 miles down the road - lovely people, great food, smashing pub. If you visit the Dales stay clear of the George but head for the Buck!

Date visited: 24th May 2008

Review by andrew wimpenny on 2nd June, 2008

Add your review
I visited the pub as part of a recommended dales walk. The walk started and finished at the pub, and this seemed to be the ideal place for a drink prior to the walk and for a meal at the end of the walk. I must say that i was less than happy with the service- the barman appeared to be half asleep, too busy watching the telly and forgot to pull the two pints i had ordered!!!!. The menu was poor and the choice limited-we didnt eat there. the toilets were outside , filthy , foul and locked- but worst of all was the way the barman and the landlord chose to discuss me and my partner within earshot!!! I would advise anyone visiting the area to go to the buck inn. for a friendly warm welcome and good food with out the bitching from the barstaff. The buck inn is located about 3/4 mile down the road from the George inn, so you can still enjoy the walks in the area. - and what ever you do, dont try and park in the george inn carpark- or at least note the clamping signs!!!!!

Date visited: 24.05.08

Review by Lesley on 7th November, 2006

Add your review
Bedrooms: We were in a room separate from the Inn. Nicely decorated and very clean, however damp (de-humidifying box of crystals slopping about in water)which made the room smell and took well over 6 hours to warm up after we arrived - don't know how long the radiator had been on prior to our arrival. Bathroom had a very small heated towel rail which never did warm the room up. Hot water ran cold for ages, came through hot for a few moments and then ran cold again. Evening Meal: Good but it would have been nice to have tea or coffee after but this was not offered. Breakfast: Good but had to ask for more toast as only 7 quarters brought for four of us. Packed lunches are available but we arrived too late on the Saturday and by the time we returned to the pub after our walk, lunch was no longer being served and the only way to get anything to eat was to drive elsewhere as there is no-where else to go in Hubberholm. General: As soon as pub shuts, everyone is banished to the garden, even residents, so if you are a group having a weekend away together the only communal area is the garden which is fine, if it is not cold or raining. Tea and coffee only available if you make it yourself in your room or at breakfast. Nice place to call in for a drink but would I stay there again - certainly not.

Date visited: 4th November

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
All mankind... being all equal and independent, no one ought to harm another in his life, health, liberty or possessions. - John Locke
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James Iís Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleportís Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles