Royal

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Royal York Hotel, York

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 5th November, 2008

Add your review
Bad Points: We arrived at Check in to be told there was no room at the hotel and they had 'transferred' our booking to another, inferior hotel. We had already arranged a theatre visite and only arrived at the theatre when the curtain went up. The whole experience spoilt the weekend. WE WILL NOT BE BOOKING WITH ACTIVE HOTELS AGAIN

Date visited: 2008-11-05

Review by J, Allen on 15th May, 2007

Add your review
Hummm, Looks splended from the outside, situated next to York rail station, a more or less right in the heart of york, Ideal for any race day, BUT: its showing its age inside, rooms are tired and shabby, staff less than willing to help. ( Thats if you can make them, understand you) I true Fawlty Towers.

Date visited: 05.4.2002

Review by Steph and jax on 21st July, 2006

Add your review
The hotel was fantastic, Imaculate room, perfect staff and amazing pool area. Would deffently stay again.

Date visited: 16/07/06

Review by Debs Marshall on 27th April, 2006

Add your review
Unfortunately my experience at this hotel was disapointing. First of all when we arrived there was no confirmation of our booking, even though we had booked several months earlier with our conference party. We were then allocated a room which I feel was sub standard in the basement given the fact that we were being charged at a 'special rate' of £130 per night due to the number of people in our party. The room was swiftly changed after we complained. Lunch was expensive and disapointing too. The sandwich my husband ordered came to him stale and my chicken salad was very greasy. One morning at breakfast the waitress cleared our table before we were finished and when we asked for more toast we were given a selection that had been cleared away from other tables. All in all the decor seems quite old and tired with a colour scheme that is depresssing. The main bar has little if any atmosphere as does the main reception area with the most uncomfortable arm chairs I have ever sat on. The staff in general were very polite and helpful and apart from the occasion when we were offered old toast I couldn't complain about the service we recieved. We felt very over charged for what we got and found that to charge £6 per night at weekends and £10 for week nights to use the car park only added insult to injury. We heard many other complaints from members of our party, including one couple who were unable to draw the curtains in their room because they had come off of their hooks and had been draped over the rail. Not good for me, it gets the big thumbs down.

Date visited: 22nd April 2006

Review by harry millis on 27th October, 2005

Add your review
The royal york is the best hotel i have been to. It is right next to the railway station is well. The rooms are very well laid out and include a tea/coffee/hot chocolate set (which includes kettle). a bath room with shower/bath tub, toilet and sink. this comes with free toiletaries. you don't need to bring a towel for the indoor swimming pool just take the one from your room. the breakfast is excellent. eat all you like. this includes fry up, ceral,fresh fruit, cakes and croisants but the city center has good food is well for lunch and dinner.

Date visited: 22nd october 05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Death is just life's next big adventure. - J K Rowling
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James Iís Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleportís Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages