It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Wrens of Ryedale Touring Park, Helmsley

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Helen Potter on 7th September, 2011

Add your review
I chose this site after a recommendation from a friend. The site is quite small but is very well kept with a modern shower block that was cleaned three times each day during our stay. There is a mixture of permanently sited static and touring caravans and an area for touring caravans and tents. All the caravans are privately owned. We stayed for 5 nights and spoke to lots of people on the site, most of whom were regular visitors. The owners were friendly, helpful and clearly work hard to maintain the beautiful grounds. The fact that ball games and late night noise are prohibited made our stay even more enjoyable! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

Date visited: 12/08/2011

Review by nigel doyle on 18th August, 2010

Add your review
as with oter reviewes we found the rules on arrival a bit over the top. having said that we found it extremely well kept clean & tidy but the owner kept asking every day to settle our bill (we were staying for 16 nights) we found this most untrusting & unnesscesary,& wanted cash no cheques, there is nothing for children and the dog walk which was up a nearby lane (private road)we will not be going there again due to the regime we encounterd

Date visited: july 22 2010

Review by Liz Hill on 11th August, 2010

Add your review
I write in disbelief! This is the first time we have visited this site and we were absolutely delighted! SO peaceful, owners very friendly and welcoming. Facilities were spotless, the site was spotless. What is wrong with the owners wishing to keep their other guests happy? We did not have children with us on this visit, when we do take children, we visit sites that are specifically child friendly. Perhaps some of these reviewers need to bear this in mind! A gem of a place, I for one would not want it to change.

Date visited: 6-8 August 2010

Review by David Evans on 22nd July, 2010

Add your review
If you want a good time and a peacfull holidy with friends and family this is not the place for you. But if you want to feel like you are in prison this is run like a concentration camp, you need to take chains to tie your children up with and a gag for your mouth because you cannot make any noise in you awnings after 10 oclock at night .So lights out for all holiday makers after 10 o'clock is what you need to to at this camp.P.S any type of ball game will explode on this site !

Date visited: 17th july

Review by Liz Dunn on 10th July, 2010

Add your review
This is a delightful site, well run by Mr and Mrs Wren, and then for a number of years by Mr Smith. A delightful rural setting - lots of space, and a range of clients who leave their vans for the whole year. The new owners have developed the toilet block - Sadly this is the only improvement. The camping field has been destroyed and turned into residential vans for hire. The rest of the site is crowded, and the atmosphere is tense. On arrival we were treated to a range of rules. We have visited annually since 1970, and our children and grandchildren have enjoyed many holidays at the site. Now it is impossible for children to play - the policing presence is constantly there The owner even accused my husband of holding a ball instead of a shuttle cock when playing badminton with our grandson. We were not treated with any respect as returning clients of 30 years standing. It is very sad that a beautiful site has been reduced to a money making venture , without any care or consideration for holiday makers, who are subjected to a continuous regime of policing - maybe these tactics would be more suitable for the day job - not the holiday business

Date visited: each summer - 1970 - 2008

Review by Allison Evans on 19th July, 2009

Add your review
I felt like this was more like a concentration camp not a holiday camp . The rules you are given when arriving should be on their web sites, it is not for families even though its advertized as a family run park its not CHILDREN FRIENDLY at all you should make sure you bring a chain for your children because they are not aloud to move round the park at all. It should be a adult park only . I had my weekend ended short due to the owners not letting children play at all . They were on there holidays and needed to burn of there some energy . PLease please please do not visit this site with children .

Date visited: 17/07/09

Review by michelle on 31st August, 2008

Add your review
Similar to the other comment. We found children were welcome but "should be seen & not heard." Also, we adults were made to feel like hooligans because we were in the awning, chatting until 11 pm. The owners make regular walks around the grounds on the half hour, checking on what people are up to. They need to make it a child free & silent adult only site.

Date visited: august 2008

Review by Sharp on 24th July, 2006

Add your review
A Nice Quiet site, a little run down but we were able to buy milk and bread etc from reception. the toilets and showers could do with refurbishing but were clean and worked well. the owner seemed very pleasant. An ideal spot if you want peace and quiet and there is a nice local bub about 15 mins walk away.

Date visited: june 2006

Review by Cally Hayes on 4th June, 2006

Add your review
When we arrived we thought the site was pretty but the owner seemed a little officious when informing us of the rules. "Dogs welcome" we were told when we enquired about availability, on arrival we were told they could not even be walked on site. Day one we walked ours off site and spent the rest of the day at a vets in Pickering, one of our dogs having suffered a acute allergic reaction to something. Day two the children were playing around the site and were told in no uncertain terms that they would be thrown off site if they made another sound. When they were playing with adults they were left alone as were other children playing with adults but it appears they were not allowed to play alone although this wasn't on the list of rules. Day three we came home where our dogs and children are actually welcome

Date visited: 01/06/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
If you are cast in a different mould to the majority, it is no merit of yours: Nature did it. - Charlotte Bronte
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James Iís Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleportís Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages