Attraction in Kirkcudbright
18th century town house of the Murrays of Broughton and Cally, which was bought in 1901 by E A Hornel, the renowned artist and member of the 'Glasgow Boys'. Between 1901 and 1933 he added an art gallery and a studio overlooking the fascinating garden with Japanese influences, which leads down to the estuary of the Dee. The House contains many of Hornel's works, paintings by other artists, an extensive collection of Scottish books including Burns' works and local history material.
Months Open: House and garden: April - October
Admission Price: £3.50
More Attractions nearby
This page viewed on 3,936 occasions since Oct 16th 2005