Hotel

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Hotel Elizabeth Orwell, Felixstowe

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Ken Wordsworth on 21st January, 2011

Add your review
I bought a Christmas tree from Horsfields, and I have to say it has been the best one we as a family have had. It was cut fresh as they grow their own and lasted well over Christmas and into the new year and no needles dropped off it. Will certainly be getting one from them again next year. They had a very helpful team when we were choosing and gave sound advise. thank you.

Date visited: Dec 2010

Review by Katrina on 14th February, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: location cleanliness Bad Points: bteakfast not included in price staff not very friendly shower not very good General review: adequate for brief stay

Date visited: 2009-02-14

Review by Iain on 9th August, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: staff were excellent, bar was good and comfortable. Bad Points: room to hot, out of date decor,

Date visited: 2008-08-09

Review by Adam on 13th June, 2008

Add your review
General review: Very impressive hotel with a warm welcome. A good nights stay

Date visited: 2008-06-13

Review by j garter on 3rd January, 2008

Add your review
well worth a visit for keen gardners, educated staff, reasonable prices, large place with stock of plants, trees, shtubs, herbs, veg and much more. lots of free parking and nice cafe too

Date visited: 12th dec 07

Review by Lizz on 27th November, 2007

Add your review
Arrived at hotel and settled down to afternoon tea with friends. Confusion with the bill as unable to be split three ways onto rooms equally!! Room was very tired , SO SO SO HOT - never been so hot in my life before - hotter than being in tropical rooms and no air con so unable to regulate. Radiator was off in our room so not quite sure where the heat was coming from. Carpet was threadbear and no bed side table. Breakfast staff - no ettiquette. Need basic manners teaching to them. Toast arrived with coffee as we were choosing our breakfasts so stone cold by the time we got back to table.!! To finish it all when we checked out the receptionist uttered NOT ONE SINGLE WORD!!!!!! How rude. Just acknowledged us when asked for room number so gave her my card but then did not utter one more word - no pleasantries about whether room was OK or not? May be they know not to ask as they know what the answer would be!!!! 77.50 for the B&B so not cheap! Not recommended as a place to stay although food and band at dinner dance were OK.

Date visited: 24 November 2007

Review by jane carter on 30th August, 2007

Add your review
This really is a traditional nursery and they actually grow most of their stuff rather than just buying it in like a garden centre, so i loved it as plants are my babies! - it is in the Pot House Hamlet which is next door to Silkstone church, wonerful setting, the cafe is lovely deco and all the solid oak is very nice, had a look in the clothes shop and furniture place too, nice day out, Will be back

Date visited: june 07 ad since

Review by Larry Ingram on 13th February, 2007

Add your review
What a fantastic place. We only pooped in to the Nursery for a plant, and ended up staying for lunch at the lovely Cafe, and then my wife dragged me into the Pookie - the ladies clothes shop in the same hamlet. I was relieved to find that despite her buying several items, the prices were reasonable too ! I thought the Pot House Hamlet makes a welcome change from anywhere else, with a variety of individual shops (there's even a hairdresser and a nail bar !), and i would highly recommend a visit.

Date visited: 12th February 2007

Review by Denise Young on 12th February, 2007

Add your review
Pot House Hamlet is a delightful location where I can spend lots of time...the variety of plants available in the nursery is fantastic, well priced and well looked after. The staff are knowledgeable and on hand for advice. As for the rest of the hamlet...well, there are lots of other great gift ideas too, the list is endless. To top it all off, there is scrummy food and drinks available at the on-site cafe and restaurant. All in all, a great day out. I'll certainly be going back for more.

Date visited: Various

Review by Vivienne, LONDON on 4th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Helpfulness of staff. Breakfast one of the best ever. Bad Points: Only small side-opening window on a very hot weekend. Stains on furniture. Wedding party at the time which made one feel you were in the way (in the bars etc). Loud music though it did stop at a reasonable time. General Review: Lovely hotel. Staff very impressive. Rooms pleasant. Bars particularly nice. Breakfast very tasty. Pleasant aspect to hotel and proximity to station helpful.

Date visited: 2006-08-04

Review by Anonymous on 2nd August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Clean and catering facilities in room was very good. Bad Points: A little small and very hot but it was the hottest July on record! They did supply a fan. Bathroom window did not open very well. General Review: Restaurant facilities very good. On the whole a very pleasant stay. Position of hotel as far as shops and Felixstowe front very convenient.

Date visited: 2006-08-02

Review by richard colthorpe on 9th March, 2006

Add your review
We arrived on a Saturday night which was very busy due to a wedding.A young girl gave us a card for our room.Going through a very smoky corridor we found our room which also was very smoky.We were not offered a choice of smoking/non smoking.Being very tired we did not request a change of room but went to the restaurant which was very enjoyable.On returning to our room we found it was over a very noisy disco but were assured by the receptionist it would close at 11pm.It didn't close until after 12pm which ruined our efforts at sleeping.We complained to the night porter but was it was too late to switch rooms.I was advised to write in with my complaint which I did.I received a holding reply which stated they took complaints very seriously but after writing again to the manager received no reply.So much for taking complaints seriously!We won't go back!

Date visited: 14/01/2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I have no consistency, except in politics; and that probably arises from my indifference to the subject altogether - Lord Byron
More Quotes

On this day:
The Last public hanging - 1868, Prince of Wales Opens Vauxhall Bridge - 1906, British Find Oil in Persia - 1908, First Female Magistrate Appointed - 1913, First ever Glyndebourne - 1934
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages