Chatelherault

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Chatelherault Country Park, Hamilton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by donna robertson on 3rd July, 2010

Add your review
I love the park and the hunting lodge, as well as the ruins of Cadzow Castle. the walks are superb, and the scenery breathtaking,, I took photos of the wedding there today and would be nice if you would pass on my email to the couple and I will send them the photos by email as some have turned out really good.. I will visit soon again with my grandkids, as Im sure theyd love the walks and swings.. Donna.

Date visited: 3rd july

Review by john hunter on 12th October, 2009

Add your review
I went here with my dog for a walk,weather was perfect,the forest and grounds are excellent,and met someone there who explained a little about the area,told me it was a five mile walk on path we were on,(as I was about on last mile)great walk though,I enjoyed every minute of walk,so did my wee dog.we will be going back more often now.I would recommend it to anyone.

Date visited: 12/10/09

Review by Heather MacPherson on 15th October, 2008

Add your review
What a fantastic place to visit. The staff are warm and friendly. The grounds and forrest walks are amazing. I have been here 3 times now, but not once been bored or wanting to leave. The house itself is warm and inviting. The gardens are superb too. I have recomended it to friends of mine. Oh and the food is great too.

Date visited: 15/10/2008

Review by Gary on 19th April, 2008

Add your review
A great place to walk the dog.Signs on footways need clarifying as very confusing got lost more than once !!A large map to show where the walks go and how to get back would be great.

Date visited: Regularly

Review by drew peacock on 15th February, 2008

Add your review
a went ther with ma maw,i fot it wer gret an a wid go bak in a flash

Date visited: 14 2 08

Review by euan huzarmi on 5th December, 2007

Add your review
not a patch on bothwell castle. now there's a visitor attraction. nice crumpets in the tea-room all the same.

Date visited: 05/12/2007

Review by alistair crozier on 23rd November, 2007

Add your review
i was with a group of pupils from craighead school it was a snny but cold morning we were there to fly a kite which was made by the pupils in there art project with there own design plus school badge and logo which went well we visited your museam it was very interesting to them we finished of with a nice walk around the hunting lodge the class group of 3/4 teacher mrs ritchie support staff mrs mc bride and myself hope to be back for another visit thank yous

Date visited: 23/11/07

Review by Alan McGuinn on 26th July, 2007

Add your review
Very nice walk but very disappointed at the lack of directional signage within the park and any sign we did come across was either badly vandalised or totally inadequate.This led to myself and partner becoming lost and her very panicky as the evening wore on, in fact we could still have been there if we hadn't decided to approach some nereby housing, where a gentleman gave us a lift back to my car.First visit and probably the last unless signage is restored.

Date visited: 25/07/07

Review by S. Gordon on 22nd July, 2007

Add your review
This was our first visit to the park and what an amazing place! The scenery is beautiful and the walks were delightful, although we did actually lose our way for a little bit as one or two of the sign posts were a tad confusing! We'll definately be back though.A great day out.

Date visited: 21/07/07

Review by R. Graham on 15th May, 2007

Add your review
Chatelherault is one of the Jewels in the Crown of Scottish visitor attractions. A beautiful historic building, inside and out, with very interesting exhibits on show in the visitor centre. There are extensive woodland walks in the park and lovely views across the Clyde Valley from the front of the buidling. Well worth a visit, but don't forget your camera!

Date visited: Many times

Review by alistair crozier on 3rd February, 2006

Add your review
i was with a local school group on a visit what a great experience plenty to see and do good walks and well kept gardens museam very interesting will be back for another visit in the neer future

Date visited: 27/ 1/06

Review by Mrs S Limpitlaw on 15th January, 2006

Add your review
This is a really lovely place to spend the afternoon, lots of woodland walks, a field full of ancient oak trees can be seen from the footpath and a chance to spend money at the local garden centre too. Big adventure playground for the kids, something to keep everyone happy.

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Virtue is the fount whence honour springs. - Christopher Marlowe
More Quotes

On this day:
Bolton Massacre - 1644, First indoor swimming pool opens - 1742, First Isle of Man TT Race - 1907
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages