New

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of New Country Inns Selby, Selby

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Steve on 8th July, 2012

Add your review
Very poor standard, I would not recommend the wishing well, we are a family of four I had the steak which was over cooked and not a lot to accompany it, my wife had Yorkshire pudding which was under cooked with sausages that were burnt black, we ordered to large kids pizzas and got two small pizzas that you can buy from a bargain frozen food supermarket.

Date visited: 7-7-2012

Review by Alison Ransome on 1st April, 2012

Add your review
Can't believe how many bad reviews there are, as I've had nothing but good experiences there, staff are always polite and kind, and food had always been great. In fact we are even taking kids for a play this afternoon. X

Date visited: 24/03/2012

Review by Sarah on 11th September, 2011

Add your review
Hi, I used to work here and can say that it was a hell hole with all the miserable and ungrateful customers that visit. I remember the customers that left a review above, they were just the most incredibly rude and awful people I've met, and I've met a lot I can assure you. They were just free loaders wanting to not pay for their meal, their kids were absolutely awful and ran riot, the husband appeared drunk and swore constantly at members of staff, so a policy of ignoring them appeared sensible - would you want to deal with people like that??? People pay £6 for a meal and expect way too much, going on as though they are eating at the ritz. And £3 for a cider yes it is for Koppaberg, it's the same everywhere in selby, it's premium bottled cider not White lightening for gods sake!!! I could go on....... Sarah

Date visited: Many

Review by Mrs Blackwood on 17th August, 2010

Add your review
well this was memorable for all the wrong reasons. Manager should be sent on a running a restaurant training course Staff should be sent on a customer service course. Sarah was being so efficient she forgot to smile or speak in a friendly manner. Meal served, asked for Tartar Sauce - went to bar and asked for Tartar Sauce again, finished a very medioca main meal. Waited for waiting staff to clear table (along with a table of 4 other people). Staff delivered meal to another person in the area and had to be asked to clear their table. The member of staff cleared the table then walked straight passed the rest of us and did not come back

Date visited: 17 August 2010

Review by mr thornton on 2nd March, 2010

Add your review
Lets start with the kids meals.. pizza and chips. 10 chips on the plate and 3 very very small slices of pizza without cheese. We paid for extra cheese which appeared on the vege burger we ordered. Now on to the chicken nuggets and chips, again very few chips and four very small nuggets. Vegeburger - the burger was as thin as they come with the cheapest ingredients. now for the piece-de-resiistance - the beef stew and yorkshire puddings... the beef was minimal, the yorkshire pudding managed to taste of wet dog... how does anyone even manage that? The peas were dry, the food microwaved, the service was ok and the staff friendly enough so no fault there... but really!!!!!!!!!!! The drinks were overpriced - 3 quid for a pint of cider? Thats London prices. AVOID AVOID AVOID at all costs.

Date visited: 2nd march 2010

Review by - on 27th July, 2009

Add your review
I cannot help but notice how quick people are to write a bad review butn ver a good one. The staff work extremly hard and are like a family themselves. The hotel side is boomind just what selby needed! I've visited the restaurant many times for various reasons..coffee, lunch, taking kids, nice meals, and personally i can't complain. It is what it is. Wherever you visit there will be bad experiences by some. However the amount of people who walk through the door satisfied outways it by far!

Date visited: -

Review by Julie on 14th May, 2008

Add your review
My family and I ate at the Wishing Well Selby 4 times in the last week as it was convenient and after working long hours, it was nice to sit with the children and not have to cook. However after the extreme degree of ignorance from the staff displayed this evening, which led me to walk out, It will be some time before I/we go back there again. My Issue - The 5th time in two weeks we decided to go there, nice weather etc. Whilst we waited for the childrens father to meet us there from work, one of my sons(13) took some money to order some soft drinks at the bar. He stood there for a good 10-15 minutes, being completely ignored by a woman stood at the till and others serving, whilst they served numerous others, who had walked up to the bar after him. When I asked what was going on, the lady behind the bar thought it was funny and smirked - a disgraceful show of ignorance. We promptly left. Good manners cost nothing and considering I have spent anywhere from £50 upwards each time, I feel I would be better taking my custom elsewhere.

Date visited: 14th May 2008

Review by Anonymous on 8th April, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Good size room and comfortable bed. Bad Points: Bathroom cleanliness wasn't too good and the room was far too hot despite my several attempts to turn off the heating!

Date visited: 2008-04-08

Review by Stephen on 2nd October, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: good value for money. Clean and friendly atmosphere

Date visited: 2007-10-02

Review by Lindsay Kirk on 23rd September, 2007

Add your review
I visited this restaurant with my partner and my son hoping to have a meal. We were met in the doorway by a female member of staff who informed us that there weren't any tables available in the childrens area and that we would have a 30 minute wait for a table to become available. We explained that we only wanted a meal so we didn't mind if the table wasn't in the childrens area. We were informed that we were unable to have a table if we weren't in the childrens area. This was very annoying as a couple had entered the restaurant infront of us with two children and they were seated for a meal in the bar area which was empty. We were not offered a seat in this area as we had a child with us. We left the restaurant and returned home.I rang the manageress of the Wishing Well who answered the phone in a very unprofessional manner and informed us that the bar area was full even tho we had seen for ourselves that it was empty. The manageress was very unhelpful. We were hoping to have our son's birthday party at this restaurant/play area but after our short experience we will not be returning or recommendeing the Wishing Well Hotel/ Restaurant to any family or friends.

Date visited: 23/09/07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Be thine own palace, or the world's thy jail. - John Donne
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James Iís Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleportís Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages