It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Russells Of Coppergate, York

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by S Clutton on 31st August, 2009

Add your review
I have always visited Russells when in York but my last visit was terrible. While the Meat was very good the veg was of a poor standard. The roast potatoes tasted like they had been deep fried in a fryer and the other veg was very under done. The service was very good, Fiona was attentive. 10 out of 10 for that. My main issue was when we came to pay. We were given the bill and took this to the till. The poor oriental lady couldn't process our payment as she didn't know how to deduct the 15% discount we were recieving with our York pass. Then after 5 mins Fiona came along to try and help. To no-avail either. She apologised and said she would try and find the Manager who had popped out. 10 mins later and still stood at the till, no sign of him. Eventually he came in. Fiona said you should apologise to these customers as they have been waiting for ages. The cheeky bugger then said i'm not apologising and laughed. To say i was gob smacked was and understaement. This man has no custmer service skills what so ever. Manager?? I would have sacked him if he worked for me. If York wasn't such a tourist place this restaurant wouldn't get the custmers it does. Will i go back? Hell will have to freeze over first! I'm off to the Three Tuns, what a lovely friendly pub serving good food at great prices and with a smile.

Date visited: Aug 2009

Review by Sandie L on 29th May, 2009

Add your review
We always used to go to Russells whenever visiting York (which is quite often). Our last visit was for my 50th birthday, and we found that the vegetables had ran out, the meat was dry, and the price of drinks was astronomical. When paying the bill we were overcharged, and were offered no apology. I don't like having to ask to have the bill checked in front of other customers! I wrote about the situation, and my letter was ignored. I am disabled, and was really looking forward to my treat for my birthday. Won't be going again. No customer service at all.

Date visited: November 2007

Review by David Taylor on 23rd December, 2007

Add your review
On arrival we were very hopeful. The restaurant looked cosy and inviting with a real open fire. The carvery has to be the worst that we have ever been to. The beef was very fatty with a larger ratio of fat than actual meat. The selection of vegetables was very poor and it was tasteless and the potatoes were rock hard. I approached the General Manager discreetly to ask if I could have some turkey instead because I was unable to eat the fatty beef and was given the filthiest look, follopwed by a tut. She then told Andy the Chef to "give him ONE slice" before turning her back on me and walking off. I wasn't looking for an apology or a refund but the GM's attitude was disgusting. Needless to say that will be our first and very last visit. I am in no way means a fussy eater, but even I expect my £11 main course to be edible. One plus point was the oriental waitress who was lovely.

Date visited: 23/12/07

Review by Rachel on 30th July, 2006

Add your review
Russell's is over-priced and the service is poor. The waitresses looked miserable and when the bill came they had charged us for four meals instead of 3. The food was ok, nothing to write home about.

Date visited: 29/07/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
One of the things being in politics has taught me is that men are not a reasoned or reasonable sex - Margaret Thatcher
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James Iís Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleportís Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages