It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Restaurant 55, Scarborough

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mrs Corrigan on 25th August, 2012

Add your review
Avoid!! My husband, 3 year old little girl and myself visited this restaurant as it was in the Scarborough visiter booklet and I love my seafood. Big mistake......My husband was served warm beer from a can, which he had to put ice cubes in, when I asked for another glass of wine, the waitress took my glass which still had some wine in and topped it up! I then asked for the mussel and king prawn starter but asked if I could have it with the white wine sauce, it was served to me with the bacon and no sauce with no explanation. I had lemon sole for main as they had run out of bass and I chose to have it with stir fried vegetables which ended up being an overcooked, tasteless lump of slime and to top it all off I found a hair in the batter of my daughter's fish. After quietly speaking to the waitress all I received was a sorry. I then asked if that was it and reluctantly they gave me a 2.00 reduction on what I would call an overpriced meal as apparently no one who works at the restaurant has the same colour of hair I found in the meal, well neither did we.......I was totally disgusted at the service and the food, obvoiusly not on our list to go again!!!!!!

Date visited: 16/08/12

Review by A Greenwood on 17th July, 2012

Add your review
WOULD NEVER GO BACK. Went to this restaurant with 6 members of my family. Ordered the Gammon & requested a baked potato instead of the chips with the meal, informed by the girl serving that they would'nt be able to serve me a potato as the chef's are fussy and would only do chips....I find this totally unbelievable, if i had'nt of been with my parents I would of left there and then. We then waited approx. 45 mins for the food to arrive, even though the place wasn't even half full!!

Date visited: 14/7/12

Review by andy cazaux on 21st June, 2012

Add your review
Hi guys been reading the reviews on this page to be honest they make my toes curl. My name is Andy and I now manage this restaurant with my wife Julie please please come back and try us again it has changed its now run by a couple who have passion for food and the service that you all expect Look forward to hopefully seeing u all very soon

Date visited: 20/6/2012

Review by Mrs Thompson on 9th June, 2011

Add your review
On a day out to Scarborough we decided to go to Resturant 55 as we had been before and had a good meal, however I ordered the Scarbro smokie pot meal which was supposed to be smoked fish with leeks and herbs in a white wine sauce topped with mash and cheese, when it came it was disgusting, it was basically a pot of mashed potatoe with a few leeks hardly any sauce and no signs or taste of the smoked fish, the meal was inedible and was sent back. The manager came to the table with a torrent of abuse saying the meal was fine and it was a blend of ingredients and that was why i did not find any fish pieces and if i did not like it to go somewhere. Needless to say we did not pay for that meal and will never use that resturant again. I think this manager needs to take a customer service course as he was very rude and insulting.

Date visited: 8 June 2011

Review by Mary Holmes on 8th August, 2010

Add your review
Avoid this "restaurant"like the plague Same as happened to other folk. Drinks prompt,still waiting for food after 45mins.Arrived after we queried delay. Baked pot inedible.Fish/chips all batter not very warm,no bread or butter At till asked for manager.When he finally came his first words were "I understand you want to scr-w me for no bread left".This to my daughter/in law and myself. The conversation went downhill after that. Our reduction was going to be taken out of staff wages! Basil Fawlty school of restauranteurs comes to mind This man shd not be running a hot dog stall never mind a restaurant

Date visited: 20/06/2010

Review by B on 29th September, 2009

Add your review
Nothing has changed since April 2007! Scarborough was not a visit without Restaurant 55 - Not any more! Drinks arrived 45 mins before meal. half cup coffee - had to top up with hot water. Chips were unusual colour and fish was cold. Sent meals back but expected to pay for drinks even though this was incl of meal. Asked to see Manager we were told he was too busy. Very young waiter insisted on payment of drinks. We insisted seeing Manager. He came eventually. We remained calm - he lost his temper. Fairly busy restaurant he shouted - there's the door, s** off don't come back. We did not answer back - not worthy. We left and will not be back!!!

Date visited: 26 September 2009

Review by Dave on 13th July, 2008

Add your review
We decided to try this restaurant having not read any of the reviews before. The restaurant was not too busy which was great as we have a 4 year old and a 3 month old. There was plenty of space for the pushchair and we got a table with a great sea view. We had the 55 special which was 4.95 for Fish & Chips, mushy peas, salad and bread and butter. The Fish & Chips were the best I had ever had in Scarborough and I've had a fair few portions. The baby changing facilities in both the mens and ladies are a great idea. We liked it so much, we went there on the Saturday that we went home too. Thoroughly recommended!

Date visited: 10/07/08

Review by Julie Stonehouse on 25th June, 2008

Add your review
We decided to try this restaurant whilst passing one Sunday afternoon. We went in, it was by no means full but nobody showed us to a table, so we found our own. After sitting there for about 10 minutes, still nobody had brought us a menu. We asked the very young waiter if we could please place an order, and he asked a nearby waitress if she could take our order. "I haven't got the time" she snapped back at him. Sorry love, then we haven't got the time to spend our money there. We promptly left without ordering and found somewhere else which was polite and friendly, unlike 55.

Date visited: 22nd June 2008

Review by leanne on 25th June, 2008

Add your review
I thought I'd just check back to here to see if this place had any more bad reviews, ah look so it does. I wouldn't normally reply but as somebody felt the need to attack my review I thought I would respond. Firstly, no I don't smoke and secondly it has nothing to do with seeing too many episodes of gordon ramsey, though thinking about it where's the contact details for ramsey's kitchen nightmares. This place just stinks! And as I passed it at the weekend and it still had only 2 people in it I think most people must agree. For anyone else, reading this I would suggest the possibility that the owners of this place wrote the good reviews!! Hence the rudeness of the review that matches the rudeness of the staff!

Date visited: 17th September 2007

Review by Steve on 18th February, 2008

Add your review
Yet another successful family lunch at what is now becomming a regular haunt for us on visits to Scarborough. Excellent food, good prices, warm & friendly. More tea than 3 of us could drink in an afternoon. Mrs Doyle would have been proud! Got our favourite table by the patio doors that overlooks the beach. Heaven knows what happened to the people who gave negative reviews. Maybe they watched too many episodes of Gordon 'Effin' Ramsay? Or too many cigarretes destroyed their appreciation? Anyway - we've never had a bad meal there. 10/10 thankyou :)

Date visited: 15/02/08

Review by alex on 10th October, 2007

Add your review
After reading the other reviews i was a little apprehensive about going in, but we did. I found the menu to be well varied and a good selection on offer. My partner and i both had the 55special and i must say that it was the best fish i have had in the UK, the batter was made to perfection and with minted mushy peas(to die for) and chips, well what can i say but wow. i was also impressed with the fact that they had baby changing facilities in both the ladies and gents toilets(in with the times i thought). whoever thought about the design for this place needs a good handshake as there was plenty of room for buggies and even a ramp which disabled people can use. overall i think the people who wrote the bad reviews are talking out of there rear ends, as it was a perfect end to our holiday. I think next year we shall bring a coachload in with the size of our family.

Date visited: 03/10/2007.

Review by leanne on 17th September, 2007

Add your review
This place is appalling please avoid it at all costs. The fish and chips were the worst I've had anywhere ever! The fish was just slightly bigger than a goldfish that had then been fried in a big vat of rancid oil before being laid on top of some barely cooked chips. The mushy peas had been minted presumably to hide whatever dubious taste they originally had. The staff are unfriendly and unhelpful and didn't offer any explanation or compensation for the culinary treat they'd just whipped up. There is also a big sign outside though that says 'enjoy the view'...this should be amended to 'enjoy the view...as the food is terrible'.

Date visited: 15 September 2007

Review by Helen Smith on 17th September, 2007

Add your review
I'm a frequent visitor to Scarborough but had never visited Restaurant 55 so whilst passing it on Saturday decided to give it a try. The menu states that the 55 special which is fish, chips, mushy peas and bread and butter is 5.95 bargain, there was however a large option underneath for an extra 2 and being rather hungry we decided to go for this one! The food arrived quite quickly and the portion was indeed large. However, I'm not too sure what they put in their batter but the chips just tasted bizarre, I'm sure some people wouldn't mind the taste but it wasn't for me nor my partner. The fish was large but was covered in a very thin and greasy layer of soggy batter not how fish and chips should be at all. Also the mushy peas were minted but only slightly which made them taste quite bizarre too. We did try and mention to the waitress that the food had been far from good but she wasn't at all interested and just said "oh dear!" All in all the worst fish and chips I think I have ever had and then when the bill came seemingly the tea and bread and butter weren't included in the price...9 for fish, chips, mushy peas tea and one slice of bread is far from a bargain. Needless to say we won't be going back. One plus point though the view from the restaurant is quite spectacular such a shame the food can't match it.

Date visited: 15th September 2007

Review by lisa on 11th April, 2007

Add your review
All i can say is my visit to this resturant was diabolical. The Staff were unfriendly and sullen, we ordered off the menu and most meals were not as described, either missing items or just not what was written. Fresh made milkshake with ice cream 1.50 (with no ice cream, wasn't even cold!). 2 tea bags for 4 people!. No carrot and swede on the cumberland sausage meal, no bread and butter with the fish and chips special, no mayonaise on the chicken and bacon sandwich, need i go on!. We spoke to the owner and all he could say was that they had been really busy and had run out of things, which would have been fine if we had been told that to start off with but he still wanted to charge us full price even with things missing, and wouldn't listen to our complaints, in fact he was down right rude and told us to pay and leave!. The bill came to 39.00 and we gave him 36.00 he was lucky to get that. Also the chips and the mushy peas were awful. My advice dont even consider eating here.

Date visited: 9/4/07

Review by John Robinson on 23rd September, 2006

Add your review
Had used this restaurant earlier in the year and everything was fine, however todays visit was not so good. Fish was fine but chips and peas were inedible. The waiter also short changed me by ten pounds after I gave him a twenty at the till. .

Date visited: 23/09/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
May not the complaint, that common people are above their station, often take its rise in the fact of uncommon people being below theirs? - Charles Dickens
More Quotes

On this day:
Joan of Arc burnt to death - 1431, Murder of Christopher Marlowe - 1593
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages