It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of La Gondola, Wallasey

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by San on 26th August, 2008

Add your review
I arranged for my daughter's birthday party at La Gondola and all my guests had a fabulous time. The staff were very friendly and went to a lot of trouble to ensure everything went well. I have been here before and always enjoyed the service/meals.

Date visited: 15.08.2008

Review by Karen on 11th November, 2007

Add your review
Ok I read the reviews before going tonight but was determined to keep an open mind b/c shit happens BUT tonight 9 of us went for my best friends birthday. The room was booked 5 days before but we still had to wait for nearly one hour to be seated. They were short staffed. Then we all heard effing and blinding from the kitchen coz the staff were literally screaming at each other. The guy servng us apologised and gave my friends a few free drinks which was great. So we all tried to be positive again. When the starters finally came after a long time, they were drenched in a thick balsamic sauce, you couldn't taste the actual food. The main course came one and a half hours after the starter, mine was cold. At this point I cancelled my meal, paid for my starter and one drink as he gave me one free. He was lovely and tried so hard but whoever was working the kitchen need a kick up the arse. So that's my rant. I hope the staff read this message b/c everyone was unhappy in some way. That restaurant has great potential but I'd be surprised if it lasted another year coz their reputation is shit. SORT IT OUT!

Date visited: 10/11/2007

Review by emma on 11th October, 2007

Add your review
where do i start the food was under cooked and my chicken was pink, this took 1 hour to arrive on the table. My friend is one of the waiting on/bar staff and was not working that night as the manager did not give her hours. My friend was also under paid she is 18 years old and got paid 3.90 ph and the legal rate is 4.60. She also waited a week to collect it and 40 mins whilst in the resturant to be given this dispicable amount. Do not go there it is a waste of time, money and energy getting served.

Review by Natalie Kelly on 13th September, 2007

Add your review
Although I agree with most of the things written previously by Paul Gilbert, I have to disagree with what he said about the waitress, as I am her! Yes the restaurant was unorganised and under staffed and since that day I no longer work there. The bride and grooms day was ruined but as the bride and the wedding planner (Jo and Mal) said to me and my former employer I did my best to make that day work and although the food was late, had I not have been there you would not have eaten at all. All the complaints were made to myself which as a waitress is not my responsibility and had I known the day would have been that stressful I would not of turned up at all. I remember you Mr Paul I write reviews for the internet Gilbert... VERY RUDE!

Date visited: n/a

Review by paul gilbert on 12th May, 2007

Add your review
where do i start, i went to a friends wedding today where 30 people attended and this should have been the best day of their lives, it started off well we got drinks and got to pick what we were having off a set menu. The speeches took place and then the trouble started. The menu which was already decided upon was either soup or pate for starters and chicken and potatoe with a choice of sauce, followed by either chocolate cake or coffee. The soup and the pate took 1 and a half hours to arrive and although we were patient we started to get a little upset, even the brides son was helping to serve the starter. Drinks were well over priced and people didn't like paying for them a further 1 and a half hours later the meal arrived and it only came out in drabs the kids menu was chicken nuggets and chips which actually tasted like fish. by the time i got my meal the potatoes which had been dished out for the table had gone cold so i asked if we could have some more to which i just got a grunt of acknowledgement and by the time i had finished eating the chicken the potatoes hadn't arrived and i was not happy. a mere 5 minutes later the potatoes arrived to which the waitress said oh i thought you wanted them to go with the meal. I was fuming by this point but as this was a friends wedding i didnt want to make a scene so i had a quiet word with the waitress to say look i dont think this was worth the money would they be willing to make some form of discout to make up for the terrible service and wait. the waitress said i will have to have a word with the boss who isn't here at the moment so i will have to phone her. She came back 5 minutes later with the boss's reply which was no!!, the meal in itself was lovely the soup was perfect and the chicken was tender. This restaurant i would not recommend to anyone to have a set menu in place for about 4 months before today and be able to mess it up, if they can do this for a wedding set menu what would they do for your meal. please don't waste your time!!!!

Date visited: 12/05/2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
The dictum that truth always triumphs over persecution is one of the pleasant falsehoods which men repeat after one another till they pass into commonplaces, but which all experience refutes. - John Stuart Mill
More Quotes

On this day:
The Last public hanging - 1868, Prince of Wales Opens Vauxhall Bridge - 1906, British Find Oil in Persia - 1908, First Female Magistrate Appointed - 1913, First ever Glyndebourne - 1934
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages