Falcon

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Falcon Manor Hotel, Settle

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 12th May, 2010

Add your review
General review: We both enjoyed the good value for money steak night meal offer which included a bottle of wine.

Date visited: 2010-05-12

Review by Nicholas on 2nd July, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Friendliness and helpfulness of Staff. Conveniently located. Reception and Staff excellent. Breakfasts excellent. Bad Points: Dinner poor. Small portions, overcooked and in the case of one dish 'risotto' rated inedible - Chef accepted complaint personally but no refund was offered. [NOTE: completed hotel comment form with similar comments and ratings] General review: Funny place with overblown Victorian decor and quirky layout. Nice grounds. Would stay again but definitely NOT have dinner there. [There are plenty of places in town - eg R.Spice]

Date visited: 2009-07-02

Review by Laura on 24th March, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Lovely views, good service, nice breakfast and an excellent base for hillwalking Bad Points: Decor was a little fusty in places General review: Very pleasant overnight stay, good value deal

Date visited: 2009-03-24

Review by Anonymous on 23rd June, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Friendly, competent staff Lovely views from bedroom Bad Points: Some parts of the hotel were a bit "tired" General review: Enjoyable

Date visited: 2008-06-23

Review by Kate on 30th October, 2007

Add your review
(Please read this review of you intend to visit this hotel)On first arrival My partner and I were excited to see the beautiful building with a stunning back drop of breathtaking Yorkshire hills. On arrival the female member of staff was pleasant and helpful with a swift booking in process. Unfortunately that was the best and only good part of the two day stay. The room we stayed in was rundown and tatty, the bed was old and uncomfortable, the decor dated and the toilet made a noise like it was going to throw up every time the next room flushed theirs. Although the bed linen looked clean I discovered a pillow in the cupboard which had suspect stains on it and when I removed the cover I nearly fainted when I saw the stained, smelly once white main pillow. Although speaking to the cleaner and the owner I received an apology but wonder what else has gone under the radar in the hotel? The meal on the first night was extremely disapointing. The started was burnt and the steak was salty this was accompanied by grey, overcooked veg which had undoubtably been reheated in a microwave. The dessert was not much better but the main abomination was the service. When asking for condiments the waitress passed the used french mustard from the next table to us. I had just watched the neighbouring table dip their food directly into the dish as well as their used forks. The table then next to us asked for the same mustard and the waitress passed ours to them. I obviously warned them not to eat it. When I complained to the waitress about the steak and the condiment she offered no apology and no one came to see us. We were offered no refund from the establishment when we complained to them. The atmosphere was bright and unwelcoming and decor dated in the dining room. The hotel has an awful reputation with the local village which is quint and full of welcoming facinating shops and cafes. If I mentioned all the problems with the hotel I would be here all day and if you have got this far I will bore you no longer. Remember this hotel cost me 150 per night!!!

Date visited: 26/10/2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I have learned to seek my happiness by limiting my desires, rather than in attempting to satisfy them. - John Stuart Mill
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Nechtansmere - 0685, Major Earthquake Damages Canterbury Cathedral - 1382, Treaty of Troyes - 1420, Cooper Floors Ali - 1966, Cutty Sark Ablaze - 2007
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages