Gibbon

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Gibbon Bridge Hotel, Preston

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Dr S Gill on 19th June, 2014

Add your review
Very friendly bunch of guys who play hockey to enjoy and win. They make everyone welcome, no matter what standard you want to play. Their currys are legendary!

Date visited: 1 June 2014

Review by jane dale on 4th January, 2006

Add your review
I visited this hotel after finding it on the internet. I had to wait about six weeks before I could get a room! I could not fault it at all. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the room (with the four poster bed and gothic window) will remain with me always. A previous review did not rate the breakfast - I couldn't fault it at all. Of all the hotels I have stayed in, this is one that I will definitely return to (probably in February 2006). It is rare to find a hotel of such high quality that is privately owned. A jewel!!

Date visited: 2005

Review by nick robinson on 12th December, 2005

Add your review
We stayed at the Gibbon Bridge hotel on a "Winter Warmer" weekend break in November. Every year we find a secluded country hotel with our friends so that we can enjoy a relaxing time with good food, wine and company, so our experience of such hotels is fairly wide. It has to be said that this hotel is absoluteley unique in it's approach to customer service. In it's favour the hotel's rooms are spacious and well decorated and it has to be said the food for the evening meals was superb on both nights. Every dish served was both exellent and I would not hesitate to reccommend the restauraunt to anyone. What was less superb was the rather bizzare way in which we were sent to bed at 11.30pm on Friday evening. Apparently the bar and all public areas are locked up after the bar closes on the stroke of 11pm as the member of staff is unnaccompanied and therefore all guests must return to their room. Luckily we were allowed to stay up until 12.30pm on Saturday.The Saturday bartender was both helpful and very friendly in a way that made you feel welcome and valued. I can honestly say that I have never been sent to bed in any hotel in the world. It seems remarkable that when paying over 200 per night that you may not even sit by the fire chatting. Overall, I will long remember my stay at the Gibbon Bridge. It's great food and rooms will unfortunately fade into insignificance behind the lasting memory the "travelodge" furniture in the bar area and some of the restauraunt, the poor breakfasts and the evening curfew. This really is a shame. Food like this deserves better.

Date visited: 18.11.05

Review by Ian Warburton on 11th October, 2005

Add your review
We (15 of us altogether) took our mum to the hotel on her 80th birthday for Sunday lunch on 9th October 2005. I have to say, and I have thought long and hard about this, the meal was the best I have ever had. All the party were in agreement with this. So if you get the chance go and try it.

Date visited: 9/10/05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Above our life we love a steadfast friend. - Christopher Marlowe
More Quotes

On this day:
Alfred Becomes King of Wessex - 0871, English order of knighthood founded - 1348, Birth of Shakespeare - 1564, Death of Shakespeare - 1616, Charles II is crowned - 1661, First Broadcast by British Monarch - 1924, Death of Blair Peach - 1979
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages