George

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of George & Dragon Hotel, Kirkbymoorside

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by rod rowden on 15th May, 2011

Add your review
would reccomend this hotel to anybody. The hotel is clean and the whole staff are so friendly yet professionel in the way they look after you.we ate in the resteraunt on both nights and can honestly say the food was outstandingly good,give it a try

Date visited: 13/14th may 2011

Review by Anonymous on 28th September, 2009

Add your review
Bad Points: Your booking process was shambolic.You confirmed a second room as booked but the hotel didnt have one and I had to sort out direct.Even then there was total confusion on check out.

Date visited: 2009-09-28

Review by Anon on 17th November, 2008

Add your review
Accommodation quite expensive as the room was in need of redecoration, bathroom was clean but we were unable to use the shower properly as there was no shower curtain or shower head attachment even though there had been before as we could still see the holes in the wall etc.. Staff very helpful when we arrived. Garden area and car park poorly lit at night which is the only access to the rooms. No CCTV which would of came in handy as when we returned late at night from a 65th birthday party we were attacked whilst returning to our room. Staff were very un-helpful after this incident and even tried to blame us for it.. Breakfast looked nice but I was unable to sample it as I had to deal with the police, they did burn my toast though. Definitely won't be going back.

Date visited: 24th Oct 2008

Review by Susan on 17th September, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Extremely friendly staff. Excellent food, very good varied menu. Bad Points: Shower didn't work very well. Bed cover was stained. General review: Very nice place to stay. Good points outway bad points.

Date visited: 2008-09-17

Review by weekend visitor on 14th September, 2008

Add your review
accomodation expensive for what we had the room was in need of redecoration as bathroom had mouldy skirting board behind washbasin shower under powered also the bed was very hard and uncomfortable however food excellent so recommend staying elsewhere and eating at the george and dragon. the staff were excellent too and very obliging

Date visited: september 2008

Review by Anonymous on 29th February, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: The people and the service, Food was excellent General review: Hotel stay great, However your booking on line had not passed onto the hotel my booking could have been a problem?

Date visited: 2008-02-29

Review by liz on 10th April, 2007

Add your review
We stayed for two nights over the Easter break and found the G&D an excellent base for our daily walking trips. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Both breakfast and dinner were of excellent quality. Would certainly recommend to our friends.

Date visited: Easter 2007

Review by norman isle on 25th February, 2007

Add your review
lost our booking,stayed 2 years ago,superb.re booked as A suprise,very dissapointing.very unhelpful staff average food very pricey very child unfriendly wont be going again

Date visited: 17/02/2007

Review by Lewis Lack on 17th December, 2006

Add your review
We were given a wonderful welcome by the new owners, Alison and David Nicholas who have made this hotel a relaxing and comfortable place to stay. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was excellent, with a new interesting menu offering plenty of choice. We understand the hotel has been updated and the rooms refreshed since Alison and David arrived and from our experience there, we would not hesitate to recommend it.

Date visited: 17th December 2006

Review by Anonymous on 28th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Rooms are in seperate buildings behind the public house. Bad Points: Nothing General Review: The accomodation was good, the room was of a fair size with tea and coffee making facilities provided. We had an evening meal in the hotel which was excellent.

Date visited: 2006-08-28

Review by James, Rotherham on 3rd July, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Comfortable and clean but ready for a lick of paint Bad Points: Nothing General Review: We have stayed here before and found the food to be fantastic. The young staff are attentive and very enthusiastic. Overall we feel that we get excellent value for money. There is no doubt that we will be returning again and would highly recommend.

Date visited: 2006-07-03

Review by Anonymous on 4th October, 2005

Add your review
Very large, well proportioned, comfortable room Bearing in mind we were only there overnight there were no areas of improvement needed/ This was a building with great carachter,verycomfortable and homely, with wonderful food. The Staff were very pleasant and helpful and friendly

Date visited: 2005-10-04

Review by Morna on 18th September, 2005

Add your review
Lovely big bedroom (actually in a family room although only two of us}nicely decorated - very fresh and clean. Excellent restaurant - good choice of food in the evening and lovely freshly cooked breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful. Showers - but as it said in the bedroom literature this was an ongoing problem. Hotel car park slightly small but there is plenty free street parking at the door. This is a very nice, small hotel with friendly staff and good, clean accommodation. Possible drawback to some would be the fact that bedrooms are located in separate buildings and you have to walk outside to get to bar and dining room. However this was not a problem for us. The food is very good with an excellent choice in the evenings, also very extensive wine list with some very reasonably priced bottles of house wine.

Date visited: 2005-09-18

Review by Roger on 5th July, 2005

Add your review
comfortable bed,comfy settee,lovely white soft towels,sunny room, nice people and exellent everning meals(compliements to the Chef)all round good feel. Cannot think of any problems Very comfortable bed and sunny room, exellent food (complements to the Chef. Soft white towels nice bath room with bath and shower,nice people,loved our stay. I would have liked more photos of rooms on internet and more info about Kirkbymooreside.

Date visited: 2005-07-05

Review by stephen on 10th May, 2005

Add your review
We stayed in room 20 and the view overlooking the town and especially the garden was fantastic. Our stay in Kirkby Moorside was very enjoyable and relaxing. The purpose of my visit was to celebrate my partners birthday. I reserved a table for an evening meal and this made our stay so memorable, the quality of the food was spectacular. I have already recommended this hotel to our friends and I will be staying at this hotle again in the near future.

Date visited: 2005-05-10

Anonymous Review

Add your review
Food could not have been better. Location perfect. Parking ample. Room comfortable and in good position ( room 16 ),some members of staff maybe not quite as friendly as they could be.,Had lovely stay.Overall no complaints. Would recommend and would stay again if in the area.Our room in particular was ideal with the outside door in the warm weather.Food was brilliant both breakfasts and evening meals.

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
You will be better advised to watch what we do instead of what we say. - A A Milne
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James Iís Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleportís Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages