Britannia

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Britannia Adelphi Hotel, Liverpool

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Deb on 22nd January, 2010

Add your review
I too was on a Cosmos tour apporximately 11 years ago and we stopped over night at the Adelphi Hotel. What a beautiful grand hotel but I felt something was not quite right within. All looked fine on the ground floor, but when I got out of the lift on an upper floor, forgive me for not remembering which one, I noticed there was only a small table with a single lamp on it for lighting. Yes it did add to the atmosphere I suppose. Turning right out of the lift then another right along a wide passage way, I noticed the doors to the rooms were recessed back into the rooms a little, and there was a glass panel above them. For some reason I felt uncomfortable walking along this passage and could wait to get to my room. I felt as though something/someone was waiting to grab someone walking past too close to a door way. Call it my imagination or whatever but I didnt feel safe in that passage way. Over all, Loved the room and the view and the service was great. Would love to have an opportunity to visit it again.

Review by Laura on 19th April, 2009

Add your review
I remember this hotel for being more of a haunted mansion than anything. The hotel is quite past its hey day, but very interesting. I was on a cosmos tour and stayed on the third floor- and although I didn't see any entities I certainly heard them. Both nights I stayed there I could hear something unlocking the chain on the door- from the inside. I was in a room by myself and there was nothing in the room or in the corridor outside. And both nights at around 10:30pm I heard a bang or knock from within the room. A fellow traveller told me he heard something shaking and rattling within his closet, and at one point a few of us got stuck in an elevator for about 10 mins which kept going up and down onto floors where there was no one waiting. Quite a spooky place

Date visited: 2007

Review by leesa banks on 6th March, 2008

Add your review
The hotel is very grand.The amenities,i suspect are wonderful.I just didnt sleep a wink.Why,u ask,well il tell you.the place is extremely haunted.Floor 3,room 326,dont stay in that room.theres a mirrored wall on the coridor and yes i saw a man in a black coat behind me as i walked past.I tried to eat a sandwich in that room and couldnt eat as every time i entered that evil room i started feeling really sick.thank god i only stayed there for 2 nights.i will come back one day but only if derek acora is with me.

Date visited: 28.02.08

Review by Peta on 22nd December, 2006

Add your review
My boyfriend and I came over from Australia and stayed in this hotel as part of a Cosmos tour. I have read all the bad reviews that have been written about this hotel, and I just can't see it! We both found the place to be absolutely beautiful! It was full of old world charm and character. The one problem I had, which made the whole stay more interesting, was the fact that the hotel was about the most haunted place I've ever been too! I saw the same ghost several times, of a lady with long curly dark hair, walking in the foyer and the ballroom. She was wearing a long, circa 1900's, white dress. Two other people on the tour with us also had 'ghostly' experiences, and saw the same lady! The funny thing is, in all the reviews I've read, I can hardly find any mention of it being haunted! I would expect it to be on some top 10 list for the amount of activity I detected!

Date visited: April 2006

Review by Virginia Malone on 15th May, 2006

Add your review
After staying at your hotel this weekend I was very disappointed in the service we received, and since we were only there for one night the service we required was extremely limited. First it took almost 40 minutes to check us in. Then on entering our suite, Room 217, I found the toilet to be dirty. We unpacked and reported it to reception. When we arrived back to our room about 3 hours later, the toilet was still dirty so I phoned down to reception to ask housekeeping to come and clean it. We then went out for the evening and again on arrival back found the toilet still hadn't been cleaned. I find this extremely unacceptable when I had twice asked for the toilet to be cleaned. I was going to complain a third time when we checked out, but since we had paid for the room in advance and all we had to do was hand our keys in, I didn't bother, which is why I am writing to you now. Also, a light bulb in one of the bedside lamps was broken and the TV didn't work, there was no proper picture which was a pity because my partner would have liked to have seen some of the Liverpool V West Ham Cup Final game being shown on Saturday. Also, my mother (Mrs Wilson) who stayed in room 215 was unable to watch her TV also as the aerial had fallen behind the table and she couldn't reach it to plug it back in. I would have thought that housekeeping would ensure that everything in the rooms is in good working order before letting guests stay in them. I don't think I would stay at your hotel again, I've stayed in a few four and five star hotels, The Chamberlain in London, Slaley Hall in Newcastle to name but a couple and also various Travel Lodges throughout Britain and find the level of service in some of the other less "prestigious" hotels to be better than those of a higher reputation.

Date visited: 13 May 2006

Review by David, Frodsham on 10th May, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: It had good parking and was a great venue for the ball we went to that evening. Bad Points: The room was substandard, especially considering the cost. I wasnt expecting that the wallpaper would be peeling, that there would be marks on the wall, the toilet still had its factory barcode on it (which was obviously years old judging by the colour of it) and one of the lamps didnt work. General Review: Overall the hotel is great, but as I have said, the room itself was substandard. As a venue for functions it was excellent, the food and service were both fantastic. There are plenty of places nearby for entertainment and food, and the parking facilities served us well. It was just a shame about the room.

Date visited: 2006-05-10

Review by A Humphris on 22nd April, 2006

Add your review
A romantic break booked by my boyfriend turned out to be a devestating disaster. Wooed by the fact that it was famous for Titanic passengers and the glorious pictures of it's "stunning" banqueting halls and rooms, we both thought we would be in heaven. the outcome.......... the first three rooms we were given/offered were mucky, smelly, in need of desperate repair.... quite frankly I would not put a dog in such rooms. shabby bed clothes, food stains, chicken legs bones just outside the window, no plug for the sink, no mirror, no enamel on bath and sink, no shower. It made my skin crawl and I thought if I stayed in one of these rooms I would catch something unpleasent, (scabies, crabs spring to mind). Just so I don't put you off completely after tears and wonderful boyfriend complaining we eventually were "upgraded" to the Lady Adelphi Suite. At no extra charge. I would say this room was acceptable, it was clean and bright and apart from finding a tic tac on the floor you could tell that there had been more effort made however I would not call this a suite it would be my idea of a standard hotel room. It was very private to the main part of the hotel but the lift which only accessed the Suites smelt of pee and looked like someone had puked on the door and it had become encrusted (unless someone spilt some food but with the experience you think the worse) The entrance hall, the main lounge were beautiful and it is hard to believe that that is the only nice thing about the place. When my boyfriend complained he stated that when he booked the break the website specified it as a 4 star hotel, however the manager said this was not the case, the Adelphi is a "No Star Hotel, we only have 4 star facilities" straight from the horses mouth! After all the stress we reduced our stay from a three night stay to two and went home early. I would like to say though when we complained the staff were very polite and I thank them for their efforts in resolving the situation I undrstand though from reviews not everyone has the same assistance. When I read bad reviews i took them with a pinch of salt. I wish I'd taken more heed. We could not bring ourselves to use any of the facilities and ate out for fear of potential food poisoning. It is a shame but I now pledge to forget my experience, when I return to Liverpool again I know that I won't stay here! I'm far from posh, I'm not a snob but as any normal person would i expect standards to match the room price. Thankyou for reading.

Date visited: easter weekend 2006

Review by mr-mrs l parkin on 18th April, 2006

Add your review
PERFECT MANY THANKS fantastic, food service second to none

Date visited: 14th april-17th

Review by Nick Serpell on 26th March, 2006

Add your review
This hotel was built at the time of the Titanic and, as such, has some wonderful period features. Unfortunately that is the only plus point. The Adelphi is an experience best avoided. The rooms have not been updated for years and, in the case of my room, not cleaned properly for the same amount of time. The bathroom ceiling has had a recent coat of paint, spmething it was possible to ascertain by the splatters of paint around the toilet bowl. There is no shower and two of the room bulbs were not working. The bedroom windows were absolutely filthy. The food is third rate. Breakfast consists of a buffet with everything cooked well in advance and put under hot lights. This means that the fried eggs are like bullets, the scrambled egg made from powder, the tomatoes are straight out of a tin and, judging by the bacon, they have some very strange shaped pigs in Liverpool. The fruit juice is sterilised and either out of a tin or a carton. On three of the four mornings there were no tea spoons with the cups and getting tea from the staff is a major task in itself. Instead of bringing a pot to the table staff come around and fill up your cup, that's if they can be bothered. Attracting their attention is next to impossible and they certainly do not show they are alert to the needs of staff. We ate dinner in the hotel three times and the quality and service was no better. Food is overcooked well in advance and is very much of school dinner quality with an extremely poor choice. We ordered wine, from their abysmally small range to have it arrive at the table with the cork already out and the white at the same temperature as the red. The highlight of the stay was watching two security guards remove an intruder from the fourth floor. The hotel does not appear to have any securoty on the door and there were some interssting characters hanging about in reception. The street life outside is pretty rowdy. Liverpool is due to be the European City of culture in 2008. It would really improve the visitor experience if the Adelphi was demolished before that date.

Date visited: 22nd-26th March 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Poverty of course is no disgrace, but it is damned annoying. - William Pitt (The Younger)
More Quotes

On this day:
Bolton Massacre - 1644, First indoor swimming pool opens - 1742, First Isle of Man TT Race - 1907
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages