It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Waffle House, St Albans

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Denise on 1st May, 2011

Add your review
Found this on the internet, my husband was not looking forward to visiting it, queued for about 20 minutes, the waiter seeing people to their tables was unorganised and a bit miserable, but it was well worth the wait, and putting up with this man. The waitress serving us was friendly and quick. The waffles were delicious, I had the ham, cheese and mushroom, which was delicious, no complaints whatsoever, I also ordered a side salad which was fresh and tasty, my hubby had the Chilli-con-Carne waffle, which he said was lovely and actually said he would definately come back again, even after his initial thought that he would not enjoy waffles. He ordered a pot of tea, very strong, he loves strong tea, which you very rarely get a good tasty strong tea served in these sort of places. I had a small chocolate shake, bit on the small side, so next time a large is a must, cos this shake was gorgeous, so very delicious. As I just couldn't resist I even had a sweet waffle for desert, which again was delicious, I had a plain waffle with chocolate sauce & ice cream, the sauce was very tasty, and the ice cream creamy, which accompanied the hot waffle perfectly. I would not say it was expensive, and will definately return if I have the opportunity.

Date visited: April 2011

Review by Emma on 5th December, 2007

Add your review
The food is fantastic, the scenary is amazing and like no other restaurant i've ever been too, the staff are friendly and very helpful. there is a great choice on the menu, i would definatley recommend it to anyone who wants a bit of a change.

Review by anon on 25th June, 2007

Add your review
Lovely restaurant Lovely setting Lovely Water-mill theme and mueseum Lovely options with the waffles (esp. Special of the day Apple with mixed berries) and lashings of real whipped cream BUT.... THE WAFFLES WERE DISAPPOINTING. NOT LIKE THE REAL THING. Please Waffle House! Go and try real waffles at Belgo Centraal In West End and compare, then bring it to your restaurant and I'll be back every week with more people everytime! The only disappointment therefore were the waffles themselves :(

Date visited: 24 June 2007

Review by Dave on 27th December, 2006

Add your review
A wonderful setting for a relaxed summer lunch or afternoon tea. It can get busy so be prepared for a little wait, but worth it for a tasty and freshly made waffle (either sweet or savoury). Leave some extra minutes to visit the watermill.

Date visited: Aug 06

Review by n/a on 30th May, 2006

Add your review
We had previously visited the day before with friends and our two 3year olds. There was the usual queue which believe me goes really quick! 10-15mins does pass you by when your surrounded by beautiful scenery,good company and great atmosphere! all we kept seeing whilst standing in the queue were mouth watering waffles YUM YUM! When we were seated at our table our children were straight away taken care of with crayons and paper! the delicious food arrived in no time at all, try the hummus and avocado, with a sweet chilli dressing, simply divine! every dish that came out looked amazing!& the ingredients were organic. i chose a waffle with homemade chocolate sauce drizzled over toasted hazelnuts and sliced banana, and whipped cream, absoulutely amazing!! the service on both days were great, despite being extremely busy and the fact that it was Bank Holiday Monday! the staff were attentive with smiles on their faces. By the way for any of you wanting to go with your dogs, this is the place as they are allowed to sit with you outside, which is perfect because you dont need to worry about it raining, because its covered up, and they have big heat lamps. so as long as your dogs well behaved this is the place for you! plus its across the road from the park!! i'll be defenately returning in the near future!

Date visited: 28 and 29th May 2006

Review by emma on 28th February, 2006

Add your review
A friend of mine took me to the Waffle House as a treat as she knows i have a Belgium - the home of waffles!)... when we arrived at the restaurant there was a queue to get in so expectations were high....! once inside, i scanned the menu which consists of savoury waffles in addition to the usual sweet variety (although the sweet variety was mainly served with banana, banana and.. you've guessed it.. more banana!)... so we ordered 2 banana waffles... and to be honest, at 4 a go I was extrememly disappointed... the waffles themselves no way compare to the waffles you can buy for less than 2 euros on nearly every street corner in Belgium...! I think they give you the same waffle whether you go for a savoury or sweet topping so the taste is rather bland.. not at all the warm, fluffy and sweet taste you'd expect... a nice setting, nice ice-cream and erm... nice banana.. but if you're expecting a real belgian waffle you might be disappointed...

Date visited: 25th February 2006

Review by emma on 27th June, 2005

Add your review
the food is excellent, lots of choice and easily adjustable to peoples needs! the staff are friendly and helpful! the area is beautiful and great for breakfast or a lunch snack. there is a museum there aswell which at a cheap fee you can view and learn about the mill!

Date visited: 24.06.05

Anonymous Review on 10th April, 2005

Add your review
The waffle house is set in the beautiful surroundings of st albans, a Roman city that has retained most of its old english charm. the waffle house itself is atmospheric, transoporting you back to the days before industrial power, when water power ruled the roost. take time to devulge in the history and workings of the museums, before enjoying the delightful waffles served with a variety of toppings. however, this restuaramt is not overly suitable for those with restricted diets, as dairy and spices feature strongly amongst the toppings. Step back into time - for an old english delight!

Date visited: 9/04/2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
He who rejects change is the architect of decay. The only human institution which rejects progress is the cemetery - Harold Wilson
More Quotes

On this day:
Storming of the Bastille - 1789, 1st demonstration of Dynamite - 1867, First National Grid Pylon Erected - 1928, Abortion Bill Passed - 1967
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages