Talbot

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Talbot Hotel, Malton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mrs F Horton on 31st March, 2009

Add your review
What a disapointment. We arrived and waited for 15 minutes at reception for somebody to answer. Meanwhile I had a good nose round as nobody about, and I had made up my mind this was a mistake for a 3 night stay.The place has long since seen better days and is very, very long overdue for a makeover. Can't imagine what Ruth Watson (Hotel Inspector)would make of it.Things got worse! Our room,quite honestly should have been out of bounds. It was dirty, the furniture and carpet is a disgrace, stains etc.I haven't stayed in a hotel for years where they still use blankets on the bed.The bathroom was dreadful no shower and smelt musty. Hot water ran out for the bath! Waiting staff in restaurant were lovely. Not so helpful on reception. Food good, shame about the rest. Close it and give it a good doing over as in a lovely part of the country. Cant imagine what visitors to this country must think!! No I didn't complain left that to others enough of them. Notice we didn't get a form to fill in when we left! Wonder why???

Date visited: 27.3.09

Review by joanne white on 1st January, 2009

Add your review
Arrived to a very impressive hotel from the outside! Inside very very sad, it is a beautiful periodic building which in its day has been as impressive as the outside. But today its dirty unkempt and in need of bringing it back to its former glory. The reviews are correct, the room was dated, the carpet was disgusting and we had to remove the fabric headboard as it was absolutley filthy. As stated in previous reviews there is no customer service skills in this hotel, a lot of disapointed guests!!

Review by Anonymous on 19th August, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Parking Bad Points: Room needed a good clean including bathroom Inadequate staff cover Deco very dated General review: Never ever been to a hotel where I witnessed so many other guest complain to the management(I did not complain at the time as so many others had already done so). Our party had a number of rooms which varied from just about adequate to horrendous to a room that had only just (day before?) been painted and smelt horrendours and gave the occupants a headache. Other family members had an absoutely horrendous experience, complained and the experience only got worse, management really needs to work on their customer relations skills. Rain coming in to the interior of the building, Booked an early arrival room only to be told that they knew nothing of this although we had been emailed and it was agreed that one room at least would be available early. Even got asked to move at breakfast even though we were talking to our extended family at the adjacent table. Whole experience horrendous apart from the lady on reception and the bar person.

Date visited: 2008-08-19

Review by anonymous on 15th February, 2008

Add your review
overall, good value for money.1st room shabby + facing a building site nxt door, 2nd rm lovely w/river vws, clean w/blow heater + ch, HOT water.only dissapointment was no chef during day for afternoon T. dinner +b.fast good. Have paid more for big name hotels and been dissapointed with the interior condition being worse than the talbot. would benefit from an injection of money to bring her up to her once regal condition. would go again

Date visited: 2nd February 2008

Review by N Lawman on 5th October, 2007

Add your review
Although the hotel looked beautiful on the website, when we got there it was a different story. Most of the staff were somewhat lacking in customer service skills, the floors were filthy, the paint/wallpaper was peeling off most of the walls and the shower in our room was useless. The breakfast was okay and the restaurant staff were more helpful than the other staff (and much more polite) but apart from that, I wouldn't recommend this hotel and definitely wouldn't stay there again. I think a refurb and some staff training would make The Talbot a much nicer place to stay.

Date visited: 21st September 2007

Anonymous Review on 17th June, 2006

Add your review
We arrived at the hotel at 2.00 p.m. after a four hour journey only to be told that the room would not be ready for occupation until 3.00 p.m. as it was still being cleaned. On entering the room the first thing we noticed was the shabby furniture, the wardrobe was leaning away from the wall and it had all seen better days. There were tea stains down the front of one set of drawers and all the mirrors needed cleaning. We had no view from the dirty windows but we did have plenty of traffic noise. The hotel leaflet assured us of generous portions at mealtmes but we can honestly say do not stay at this hotel unless you are on a diet. We could fit our whole meal on a teaplate with room to spare for our first night's dinner and were most disappointed. Our second night was not much better, very tiny portions looking as though the hotel was on a very tight budget. The Hotel was probably very nice in its hey-day but overall it was quite musty and in need of decoration.

Date visited: 12 June 2006

Review by Mrs M Taylor on 31st May, 2006

Add your review
I have never been so disgusted in the first room given to us No 18, after being told we would receive a room with view of the river, we had a room with a view of an overgrown weedgarden and council houses, I explained on booking that my husband had a disability and could not walk very far, we were put on the 1st floor, along a corridor through a door down some steps and along another coridor and through another door and down more steps, along another corridor it was more like a rabbit warren. When we eventually got to the room! There was no shower in the antiquated dirty looking bathroom. there was a sink next to the bed that had been boxed in with a cupbourd underneath but without handles to open it, it looked grubby and not at all suitable for us, I complained immediately and was given a suite. Room no 1. on entering the room we faced a broken blue bedsetee, a through door where there was a snall step emphasised by yellow and green tape across the doorway so that you did not fall up the small step, a bedroom with a double bed with a dirty headboard and what looked like baby oil splashed onto the wall, and oily finger marks on the wall around the headboard, a bathroom with two washhandbasins and two wall lights one not working, a toilet that had not seen bleach or a good clean for a few many years, a shower fitted over an old bath with a filthy shower curtain. but (NICE TOWELS) is all I can say for the Talbot if this is a sample of English Rose Hotels then you can keep them. from the brochure that was sent to me it looked lovely. We were spending a Bank Holiday weekend with relatives who could have given us accomodation and had already recommended an alternative Inn situated in Malton at half the price. (I did visit them and the rooms were far superior to the Talbot) I do hope that these comments are taken seriously. I have owned a small family Hotel myself for many years and also a number of Bedsits all of which are cleaner and better equiped that the rooms we were given at the talbot. I have taken picture of the room and views for anyone wanting to see what we had to endure. We were so happy to come home, and will not again visit one of the English Rose Hotels or recommend one.It was more like a cheap B/B or Bedsit in Blackpool. Yours in anticipation Mrs Marilyn Taylor

Date visited: 27th May 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I don't ever blink, honestly. - Ridley Scott
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Nechtansmere - 0685, Major Earthquake Damages Canterbury Cathedral - 1382, Treaty of Troyes - 1420, Cooper Floors Ali - 1966, Cutty Sark Ablaze - 2007
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages