It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Aroma Restaurant, Northallerton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Tony on 28th July, 2012

Add your review
The place looks nice, however the food is bad taste of the dishes tasted very bland certinaly no aroma.

Date visited: 13/07/12

Review by David on 14th March, 2010

Add your review
Maybe we are too discerning, having travelled widely in India and other places with large Indian populations - and having offspring close to Curry Mile in Manchester and Tooting in London. We thought the Aroma was a very underwhelming experience. It was at best 'average' all round - with little interest when we very politely pointed out the augergines were like rubber! We had six dishes which were in either 'yellow sauce' or 'red sauce' and despite the poetic descriptions on the menu, were all pretty much the same. Sorry, but in our book it doesn't make the grade as somewhere special!

Date visited: 12th March 2010

Review by oliver on 6th May, 2009

Add your review
Perched on a town which appears to have more than itís fair share of Indian restaurant Aroma goes for a modern and slick look thatís hard to beat in the area. Chocolate brown, black & grey interiors smoked glass and dark wooden flooring add to an elevated feel that is at once calm and relaxing. Menu boasts mainly north-Indian fare, but is rendered with care and fresh ingredients, not to mention with the added bonus of tasting menu. Dishes include sri lankan shellfish curry, murghi dum and a gamut of standard favourites that are made with skill. The service is also notable and very professional, making the restaurant a must visit for locals.

Review by pat on 15th February, 2009

Add your review
Perched on a town which appears to have more than itís fair share of Indian restaurant Aroma goes for a modern and slick look thatís hard to beat in the area. Chocolate brown, black & grey interiors smoked glass and dark wooden flooring add to an elevated feel that is at once calm and relaxing. Menu boasts mainly north-Indian fare, but is rendered with care and fresh ingredients, not to mention with the added bonus of tasting menu. Dishes include sri lankan shellfish curry, murghi dum and a gamut of standard favourites that are made with skill. The service is also notable and very professional, making the restaurant a must visit for locals.

Review by Mrs Jackobson on 20th June, 2008

Add your review
This place is absolutely fantastic, the food was great and very good value for money. Service was of an exceptionally high standard and the food was brilliantly presented and cooked to perfection by their number one chef Nij Hoque. The man behind it all is a genius!

Date visited: 20/05/08

Review by Johanne on 31st May, 2007

Add your review
Excellent food, excellent prices, excellent variety and excellent customer service. I think that says it all.

Date visited: May 2007 (and various before)

Review by Mr Baker on 23rd April, 2007

Add your review
I'm not quite sure which restaurant the previous reviewers have been to but they must have been mistaken! This place is superbĖ I have been living in Northallerton for many years and this is definitely the best restaurant in town- and it's great. Really nice food, superb, friendly service and competitive prices! Maybe the previous reviews have put bad comments to put people off- as they don't want the secret to get out! Or they just donít know anything about the cuisine. In reality it is one of the best Indian places in North Yorkshire!! I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone, you wont be disappointed but be warned if your going at the weekend do book its VERY VERY BUSY.

Date visited: 30 march 2007

Review by Mr Smith on 23rd April, 2007

Add your review
I use the Aroma restaurant every single week this is the best restaurant in Northallerton by far!! You are always made to feel welcome by the excellent staff, who are always happy to help you, the boys always go out of their ways to make you feel comfortable. The food what can I say about the food, the food is always very very good, I have tried a lot of the new dishes off their new menu, which are out of this world, the restaurant is always very clean and the atmosphere is brillant, even on a very busy Friday the service was excellent, I will go again next week and I would recommend the Aroma restaurant to any one, you will not be disappointed, Mr killen definitely went to the wrong restaurant because the makhani has butter and tomotes in it.

Date visited: 15 April 2007

Review by Mr Killen on 14th February, 2007

Add your review
I feel this establishment has gone down hill drastically. When I first visited the restaurant it was lovely and value for money. The meal I received last night as a take away was not of value and is still sat uneaten in the fridge. I was not satisfied with their reply to my phone call and will not be going there again. It was covered in oil (although they did state they only cook in butter) there is an inch on top and was solid tomato with no other flavours and identical to a different meal I received at the same time. One was supposed to be a lamb passandra. The yoghurt and cucumber dip was watered down to the extent you could taste the water. No unfortately this is a case of bad chef and a restaurant getting greedy because if you could find the meat in the sauce you were lucky and it cost £19 for four poppadoms with dips, a keena nan, a lamb passandra and another meal that was past description.

Date visited: 13 February 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Patriotism is an instant reaction that fades away when the war starts - Mick Jagger
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James Iís Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleportís Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages