It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Francesco's, Tring

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Annabel on 6th September, 2012

Add your review
Excellent real Italian food at reasonable prices.

Date visited: 06/09/12

Review by andy drinkeld on 25th November, 2011

Add your review
this is what you would call a real value for money eating house when my wife and i visited on a friday evening.we had not booked and just went in on the off chance where we were greeted by the owner francesco and his wife rosa.we had anti pasta for starters followed by carbanarra and fillet steak which was fabulous and 2 bottles of good quality wine all for the grand sum of 55.anyone who can dish up food like that for that amount deserves to be packed out every night,oh and i almost forgot to mention they gave us 2 brandies on the house.we will be going back again soon.

Date visited: 18/11/2011

Review by Andy & Gill on 19th October, 2010

Add your review
We have been to this restraunt several times. On arrival there is always a friendly greeting from either Franco or his delightful assistant Amarossa... While being a small family run business it is quaint and homely. The menu is varied to suit all Italian food lovers and the food is always freash..and the portions are large, not like some of the other bigger establishments (boil in the bag). The wine range is not large but has all the favorites you would need to compliment a meal. We have recommended this place to several friends and they have not been disappointed. OVERALL...A relaxed and enjoyable place to eat in a way which is truly ITALIAN.

Date visited: 15 Oct 2010

Review by Bob Todd on 21st November, 2009

Add your review
As a regular visitor to Tring for shopping etc, we often have lunch in La Tasca. Today we decided to support a local business chose Francesco's. On arrival we were seated at the back of the restaurant, near the aforementioned dirty looking kitchen, and the feel of the plastic table cloth told me that this wasn't going to be good. The place stunk of fried food and it was clear that most people were eating full English breakfasts...not very Italian!! 4 sticky menus were delivered with McDonald's style courtesy and I opted for pasta as I thought that it might be safest. Carbonara...I'm certain that this was a Dolmio jar sauce poured on a small amount of hard spaghetti - it looked like someone had been sick on my plate!!!!! My son's pizza looked more promising, but on closer inspection it seemed to be swimming in grease...mmmmm... I have lived in Italy, my father is Italian and this does not rate as well as a back street trattoria in the most run down area of the most run down city in Italy...next time I'll stick with a chain restaurant, at least I'll know what I getting and I can complain without fear of being punched by a scary, messy looking chef!!!

Date visited: 21 November 2009

Review by Katy on 8th May, 2009

Add your review
The veal in masala I ordered was basically veal medalions covered in flour ( which hadnt been cooked off in the sauteing process) with a heated up slop/sauce poured over it. 'chips' were VERY overdone and served on a plate covered in foil which was lethal to touch due to the heat it radiated! The wine was dreadful, the coke was warm. As with the previous review the kitchen was visible and left a lot to be desired. Despite this the place was actually very busy mainly with families and teenagers. Dont be decieved as we were!!!!!!McDonalds serves better quality food than this place, I mean, Mc Dirty's it's shit, but you know that when you order it, this place is taking the piss out of its clientele - AVOID, AVOID, AVOID...

Date visited: 04/09

Review by Kevin Cruickshank on 15th February, 2009

Add your review
Oh dear. I am afriad our vist was not so glowing. Firstly 1 high and two set's of parents fighting over it. I am afriad to day that I found the service lovely but the food was awful. I was presenteda an old lasangne which has been re-heated and hot mince poured all over the top. Whe I asked why there was no cheese the waitress said because lots of people are allergic to cheese - and excuse I found bizarre as my daughter eat their pizzas. The chips were served on a plate wrapped in tin foil??? The kitchen was right next to our table and every time the door opened it was clear that the chef was not wearing whites and frankly it just looked unclean. The white wine was warm and when we asked for mineral water we were given 3 warm mini bottles. When I chased up the wine for a 2nd time, I was greeted with - sorry I had a heavy night last night. I just found it an unpleasant experience and I will not be returning.

Date visited: 16th Feb 2009

Review by Tony on 25th January, 2009

Add your review
What a find! I was very pleasantly surprised to find such a great little Italian restaurant out in the sticks in Tring. The food was good authentic Southern Italian, and I should know since I am originally from Southern Italy. The presentation, quality and quantity of food were all truly excellent and great value for money. The place looked very clean and the staff were all very nice friendly and could not have done more to enhance our very pleasant experience of "Francesco's'". The wine selection could have been a little greater but all in all a very nice place and the coffee has to be the best north of Milan. Top marks, I will definitely go there again and I highly recommend it to anyone. AAA+++

Date visited: 20 January 2009

Review by Roberto on 22nd January, 2009

Add your review
wow!! visited this restaurant on the above date and found the food excellant. the starter was very good seafood salad and antipasta the carlo pizza was to a very high standard and very good value for money. you would only taste a pizza like this in sclily. my wife enjoyed the whole experience of the restaurant staff and the waitress service was very efficent and polite. it was like being at home very relaxed and no matter how busy the service was alwys with a smile. the food was very excellant and hot, fresh and a great presentation. no one can ever say this is not good value or graet food and great value for money. its very nice to go out to eat and hve everyting you would expect to have in italy.

Date visited: 17/01/09

Review by ACCURSIO on 18th January, 2009

Add your review
hi i visit this restaurant on the above date and also visit on a regular basis two/three times aweek over a period of three yars. replying to Andrew. oh my god you must not of tasted proper italian food before because the food at Francescos its fabulous and the food is good value for money. also you must appriciate that diffeent itlian restaurants cook different as they come from different parts of italy. The staff are polite and the service is very efficent and also am scicilan man and i have very good expereience of pizzeria and restaurants and i find that the food is to very high standard.

Date visited: 18/12/08

Review by Barbara on 18th January, 2009

Add your review
Hi i visit this restaurant today at lunchtime and its a very nice warm atomsaphere and staff and owner very pleasent. i found the service vey efficent polite. i found this restaurant just by mistakeand i was very pleasently surprised. starters i choose to have a seafood salad the presentation and the taste was fabulous. my mother had brushetta and yet again the presentation and the tasste was fabulous. main meals i had a carlo pizza and the presentation and the taste was fabulous and cooked to a very good standard. my mother had spaghetti bolonges and the presentation wa excellant and the taste was fabulous. dessert the selection was very good and my mther had tirmusi and that again was fabulous. i had a ice crean dessert not sure of the nae but i had to have a second one as it was so nice. who ever states the food is horrible they oviously have no clue about itlian food. barbara

Date visited: 18/1/09

Review by Fabio on 18th January, 2009

Add your review
hi if you are looking for a great italian meal you must try!! ivisited this restaurant on this date and took my family and friends with me altogether 5 of us enjoyed all the food and especialy the pizza. my friends also enjoyed the friendly service and the hospitality was great. i would recommed this restaurant to anyone that would like to taste proper italian food at its best in a samall village like Tring. Fabio

Date visited: 11/01/09

Review by r cutler on 11th January, 2009

Add your review
ENJOYABLE HOME MADE PIZZA, FRESHLY MADE AND VERY GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY. MEAL AND DRINKS FOR TWO LESS THAN 20 NEXT TIME WE PLAN TO TRY THE PASTA'S

Date visited: December 2008

Review by andrew on 24th November, 2008

Add your review
Oh my god, this was easily one of the worst dining experiances of my life. On first impressions this is appears to be a small family run establishment and i was looking forward to some authentic Italian home cooked food. How wrong could I have been. From the outset everything was aweful from the viewes of the waitress about the olives ordered - which weren't on the menu, surely typical for an italian restaurant to have olives as an appertiser! When they arrives they were presented in a filthy glass and were obviously well beyond their best! Bruchetta, typical italian starter, never before have i seen it comprising of a piece of burnt garlic bagutette from tesco with a foul mixture of tomatoes and chunks of raw garlic on top. Could this get worse? For mains I ordered a pizza and my partner orderes Veil in a white wine sauce, this was offered with an Italian salad and soteoed Potatoes. Italian restaurant and Pizza, can't go wrong you would have thought ... the edge of the pizza was burnt and the centre was still like dough the topping was swimming in juice, disgusting! As far as the viel went, the meat was like eating warmed tyres and the sauce tasted like viniger with flour floating in it, the consistancy was as if the chef has relieved himself into it. I will not go on about how a couple of bits of iceberg letuice passes for a salad and the cold, floppy potatoes could ever be served to dogs let alone customers. We approached the owner(?) and told her that we were not happy with the food and wanted to pay and go. Very kindly she said she would not charge us service ... bloody cheek! We did not pay service and had an argument to get her to take off the pizza from the bill as a good will gesture! As you can guess i would not recomend this place at all ... avoid at all costs.

Date visited: 22 Nov 2008

Review by Local on 18th December, 2007

Add your review
Pretty little resaurant, relaxing with a pleasant atmosphere but oh dear the food is some of the worst I've ever eaten, anywhere! We paid up and left after a few mouthfuls. We felt we couldn't refuse to pay, after all the food wasn't off or anything - just horrible. It was the evening of the Tring Festival and we bought pork and stuffing rolls and ate them in the rain! Much more enjoyable.

Date visited: 30 November 2007

Anonymous Review on 3rd May, 2006

Add your review
A menu of standard italian fare, with friendly service and a relaxed atmosphere... but the food was very disappointing. The two pasta dishes ordered were below-average quality, largley due to the meat sauce, where the minced beef was far from tender; the flavour was more 'savoury mince' than an integrated, rich, tender beefy-tomato. Another table of diners asked for toasted cheese sandwiches which didn't seem to be on the menu. Perhaps this is what they do well & should stick to it! An honest review which may help others avoid disappointment; we've certainly experienced greater value for money & satisfaction elsewhere in Herts.

Date visited: May 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A man is in general better pleased when he has a good dinner upon his table, than when his wife talks Greek - Samuel Johnson
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Falkirk - 1298, King David Hotel Bombing - 1946, Death of Jean Charles de Menezes - 2005
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages