It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Chutney Joe, Bishops Stortford

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by lavina on 6th September, 2010

Add your review
chutney joes do not clearly communicat ewith their clients in its dealings.we had our wedding reception there and it didnt seem that they can handle big gatherings and kept getting into our celebration space as well as it didnt seem that the order menu was what they were serving.also they serve they served champagne to our guest on their accord and charged the same to us,therfore putting us in a difficult position to pay for them or ask our guests to pay for us,would recommend them to anyone

Date visited: 10//12/2005

Review by Lorens bonich on 23rd March, 2010

Add your review
the food is good. just above average especially if you stick to the tried and tested meals rather then the chefs specials which aren't. I live in the Hadham Road so have eaten here on several occasions dispite the services which leans on the side of indifference. It is certainly best to go when they are not busy as this is when the service really slips. There are better and worse Indians in Stortford.

Date visited: 5/03/2010

Review by Waz from Oz on 6th February, 2010

Add your review
We lived on Hadham Road and ate Chutney Joes (Chutters as we started calling it!) once a week. We had just moved over from Australia and were releived to have an amazing restaurant so close. We LOVED it! We moved back to Australia in January of 2009 and we still talk about Chutney Joes!

Date visited: July 2008 to Jan 2009

Review by ann cox on 23rd January, 2008

Add your review
my son's 21st birthday meal was arranged well in advance here and re-confirmed at least 3 times due to it being quite a large booking.table was booked for 7-730pm,meals were ordered,very long wait,starters came with main course,(those that came that is?)four of the party had to keep asking where their food was,one we found was still not received when we requested the bill,they then as she had asked 3 times for it charged 3 times for it on the bill,half the tables were split while family and friends were still eating and one even had his food taken away whilst he was in the loo,which they denied doing and when we asked for it to be replaced were charged again for it.one of our party was charged in his round of drinks for the bottles of water that were on the tables when we arrived.when we queeried the bill with the manager he was very rude told us no mistakes had been made,that they cant cope with big parties to just pay and leave,thank you for ruining my son's big day and we will never come back or recomend your establishment to any of our friends or family.

Date visited: jan 19th 2008

Review by Michele Abbott on 21st January, 2008

Add your review
I went to Chutney Joes for a friends 21st birthday. We were a group of about 35. Booking was made well in advance. Took ages for them to take order. Eventually the starters and main courses came together. Meals were missing. I didn't actually get mine for 3 hours. The bill was incorrect 29.50 for 1 chicken korma. Management was dismal. Waiting staff were not happy with management. Some had been there only a week and were already leaving. Manager said he couldn't cope with large groups.... why accept the booking Will not go again

Date visited: 19 January 2008

Review by hilary johnson on 26th February, 2007

Add your review
Chutney Joes was a great place if you want great typical indian food. It was a busy night and the food came fast and it was scrumptious. I think it is the best indian restaurant in Bishops Stortford.

Date visited: 26.2.07

Review by Gary Beanstock on 24th September, 2006

Add your review
Bascically i want to put my point because i went to bishop's storford chutney joe and the food was horendous the service was very poor and most of all i waited for my food for 2 hours that is absolutely ridiclous and for drinks i had to tell them 5 or 6 times i really got fed up and after my meal i payed and left very unhappy.

Date visited: 11/09/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Surround yourself with human beings. They are easier to fight for than principles - Ian Fleming
More Quotes

On this day:
Storming of the Bastille - 1789, 1st demonstration of Dynamite - 1867, First National Grid Pylon Erected - 1928, Abortion Bill Passed - 1967
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages