Galphay

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Galphay Inn, Ripon

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Glen Wood on 6th February, 2012

Add your review
Visited for Steak Night (£25 for 2 inc. bottle of wine). Food was really excellent and wine too was superb. Really great value for money and we were full, but still managed a pudding (an apple pie and a jam sponge). Also excellent. Will certainly go back next time we are in the area.

Date visited: 2nd February 2012

Review by Jan and Graham on 22nd January, 2012

Add your review
A lovely pub,we received a warm welcome from the owners,a super meal (pub grub)at reasonable prices and had a very enjoyable evening. The place was lovely and clean including the loos (V Important)and we will certainly return. Well Done The Galphay!

Date visited: 21/01/2012

Review by K haley on 27th February, 2011

Add your review
Fabulous pub recently refurbished. Log fires and tasteful decor Good honest pub food at decent prices and a wonderful reception from the lovely staff. We're going back this weekend we loved it so much.

Date visited: 19 feb 2011

Review by Paul Millington on 20th September, 2010

Add your review
My wife and I have thoroughly enjoyed our meals at The Galphay Inn and as other reviewers have said, so glad we ignored the review of 15 August 2010. The food is home cooked (agree with all comments re the chips!!) and is excellent value for money. There's also a good selection of beer, lager and wine. The Inn has a nice atmosphere and is run by a lovely couple, who are making terrific efforts to ensure that the reopened Galphay Inn is a success. We wish them well for the future and will continue to support them.

Date visited: 10 September 2010

Review by Lynda Heath on 19th September, 2010

Add your review
As previously stated this pub has reopened after two years. The beer is first rate - the landlady is very friendly - the food is basic "pub grub" sensibly priced. home made and very good. The best pub in North Yorkshire!!

Date visited: visit weekly

Review by Karen on 14th September, 2010

Add your review
Please ignore the review on the 15th August, we are really glad this pub has re-openned, it has a great atmosphere the landlady and landlord are very friendly and welcoming, the food is very good and at a resonable price, give it a try and support your local!!!

Date visited: 10th September

Review by Ann Brown on 12th September, 2010

Add your review
Despite arriving very late in the afternoon at this pleasant local pub, the landlady was very accomodating in providing a well cooked meal with good portions of meat and freshly cooked veg plus a tasty vegetarian tart with real chips and mixed salad. The roast pepper soup proved a good choice of starter. The atmosphere was friendly and the comfortable surroundings made an enjoyable experience which is worth repeating.

Date visited: 12 September 2010

Review by John Yates on 12th September, 2010

Add your review
What a lovely pub! We went in a party of five, late this afternoon and Sue, the landlady, was so accommodating that she rustled up an excellent Sunday lunch well after they normally finished serving food at 4. A warm welcome, stylish surroundings, good home cooked food, excellent beer and great service. What more could you ask for?

Date visited: 12 September 2010

Review by Lynda Lucas on 5th September, 2010

Add your review
We are also glad that we ignored the review dated 15 August as we have just had a lovely Sunday lunch at The Galphay Inn. We eat regularly at this pub since it re-opened a few months ago but it was the first Sunday Roast we have had. It is great to see it open again after being closed for 2 years. We have thoroughly enjoyed every meal we have had and appreciate the reasonable prices. Couldn't agree more about the chips!

Date visited: 5 September 2010

Review by Sue Hinchcliffe on 31st August, 2010

Add your review
So glad that we decided to ignore the review dated 15/08/2010. We had a really lovely pub meal with excellent service. The food is very much that of the old style bar meal - good tasty food at a good price! Not like so many pubs that charge restaurant prices for mediocre fare. By the way - the chips are the best !

Date visited: 31st August 2010

Review by Jay Price on 15th August, 2010

Add your review
Very disappointed with this pub. We booked a table well in advance and arrived on time. We were told there was a short waiting time for food. There was only a choice of two sunday dinner meats which was fine, but as there wasn't a lot of options we didnt expect to wait over an hour for the food!! When it did arrive the beef was about 2 hours overcooked and only one slice offered. The veg was overcooked and we weren't offered enough for 5 people. The gravy was disgusting, it was extremely lumpy and so solid it didn't want to come out of the jug. When we questioned the proprietors, all we got was a lot of attitude and hassle. All in all we didnt enjoy the food or service. The only thing they got right were the drinks, even though when one of my party tried to change her mind whilst the manager was writing the order down, we got a lot of attitude and was told she had already written down her drink order. Not a good experience particularly as we were out for a birthday meal. WE WILL NOT BE RETURNING OR RECOMMEND THIS PUB!!

Date visited: July 2010

Review by Catherine Raw on 23rd July, 2010

Add your review
the pub closed a couple of years ago but has now reopened. The food is good. Reasonably priced. wines delicious and I'm told the beer is ok too! open each day from lunchtime except Monday and will always rustle up some simple but delicious food even when at quiet times. home made cakes are good dogs welcome

Date visited: July 2010

Review by Gaynor Allen on 4th March, 2007

Add your review
This is essentially a foodie pub, but saying that it also serves excellent real ales, including Timothy Taylor Landlord. The food is excellent, the decor is tasteful country and the place has ambience. On Thursday nights they offer free bottles of wine with every main course purchased. The food is much better quality than served in many pubs, and is one to recommend.

Date visited: 1 March 07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I could not live in a country so miserable as to possess no castles - John Ruskin
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James Iís Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleportís Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages