It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Block & Tackle, Ashington

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by lyn on 31st July, 2011

Add your review
Redecorated, refurbished, nice food and of course a lovely couple who are working very hard to keep everything nice - well done you two!!!

Date visited: 24 July 2011

Review by ? on 21st March, 2011

Add your review
the glass collector is amazing

Review by Stan on 2nd July, 2010

Add your review
I have visited this establishment on different occasions, and can only say that myself and quite a large number of local residents are delighted that the pub is eventually getting a new manager. The pub has detoriated over the last few years and this is not just down to the decor but also to the management for the lack of interest and good customer service. Lets hope that the next Manager does not mind doing what they are paid to do?

Date visited: Regular

Review by Julie and girls on 27th June, 2010

Add your review
Pleased to hear there is going to be a change in management in the next few weeks. Its about time, the current manager is no longer interested in the locals or the business and this has been for a while now. It is such a shame a good pub has been spoilt by one manager and his interest in drinking the alcohol rather than serve it. I think this pub will be a better place for everyone once the new management is in place. Lets hope the next one can do a better job!!!!!! P.S please publish this as it is a forum to voice your opinion and I have tried before without success

Date visited: 25th June 2010

Review by niki on 30th October, 2009

Add your review
the food is realy nice and it is NOT microwaved beacouse my sister works ther and it was realy busy and i ast if i could go in and help and i seen what they were doing and this is from a 14 year old girl whos been since i was younger so thats what im saing but dont lisn 2 bad comments because they are just sick people who dosnt kno what they are doing and just go for youself and see if its good or not

Date visited: 23-10-09

Review by robson on 23rd October, 2009

Add your review
I cannot believe how awful my visit to this pub was. Complaints were being made about the quality and quantity of the food nevermind about the long wait for it. The owner was having an argument in the middle of the pub with a band who he decided to cancel without telling them. I strongly advise anybody to avoid spending their money in this unworthy pub

Date visited: 23/10/09

Review by lyn on 8th June, 2009

Add your review
Used to go quite a lot but boy have things gone downhill! The whole place needs decorating, the toilets are beyond a joke (smells), the aircon job from years ago still has not been finished and the food has largely deteriorated to frozen microwave stuff. And get this - the last few weeks the've started selling second hand cars in the front car park!! Bet the brewery hasn't noticed that yet!!

Date visited: 5 June 2009

Review by Fibi on 15th October, 2008

Add your review
My first visit to the pub. A new maneger who was very helpful. The food was very good, once I told the waitress she had brought me lamb rather than vegetarian food. For dessert, I asked for ice-cream but with my cake, received cream, so I gathered the waitress was either deaf, or needed sacking. Having said that, I am going to give it another go tomorrow, October the 16 2008, because when I did get my veg dish, it was fantastic and not at all deer and a very good size plate. The barman was so friendly. No sport now, so much better clientell, possibly a bit rough before but for sure not the night I went, thanks to the new Maneger!

Date visited: 23 September 2008

Review by Alan on 13th May, 2008

Add your review
What can I say? An absolute delight! We visited at lunch time, and enjoyed a very nice welcome from the staff. A nice atmosphere too, incidentally the managment have banned sport from the premises, so no cheering or swearing while you eat. The menu is excellent, ranging from two courses for 3.95 to the more expensive steaks. There really is something for everyone on the menu and the food is delicious. We had a baked potato with cheese and bacon sauce and scampi and chips, followed by chocolate brownie with ice cream and chocolate junk yard. Really really impressed with this place. On Sunday you can enjoy a carvery, which was voted 'Best in Northumberland'. I really have to sing the praises of the Block and Tackle, and will return again and again. Highly Recomennded!!!! Give it a try.

Date visited: 8 May 2008

Review by julie on 16th April, 2008

Add your review
On every visit we have enjoyed our meals . Firstly i like the fact that this is one pub that hasnt fell into the market of buy one get one free - not always suitable. Second they do a range of mega meals and smaller portions which suits all appetites - at first i thought the smaller portions would not be filling enough but by the time you have a desert (included in price) its a perfect amount. Lastly the staff have never been anything but friendly and helpful just a shame i live so far away!!

Date visited: march 2008

Review by Helen on 19th December, 2007

Add your review
I felt it needed to be said that since my last review i have found the food to be an excellent improvement and the portion sizes have got bigger! The staff that work there are brilliant and always have smiling faces, the manager has turned the place around and has a great team of staff, and the lager is now brilliant. I took a friend not so long ago and she thoroughly enjoyed her meal and we were advised by the manager to try something which was really delicious, Mushrooms in Mascapone in filo pastry, i would recommend a visit. However it really annoys me when some people (below) do not like constructive critisism i thought that this was what the review pages were for, (it is still a free country!) and i feel that every meal since my last review had been lovely. We will be back!

Date visited: December

Review by Jack on 16th November, 2007

Add your review
Just want to say the person BELOW who has complained about the food being crap, the pub being crap and it not having sky sports. You obviously have not had the food in there for months now, maybe you should try it. There is nothing wrong with the surroundings and as for no sky sports, If you came into watch every game maybe it wouldn't have been taken out! The place must not be as bad as your making out.. Because your STILL in there EVERY WEEK! So STOP whinging ANDY!!!

Date visited: 15 November 07

Review by Andy on 29th October, 2007

Add your review
Well ive been a regular in this pub for a very longtime & my wife would probably say i used to live there..lol..But over the last few years ive noticed a very big deteriation in the place...Not only is it one of the most exspensive bars in the are but the standards of food actually cant get much worse.Ive waited over 45mins for what i would say was a chicken ding,what i mean is frozen food heated up in a microwave & to be fair always overcooked..I believe this pub has the potential to be a very good eating & drinking place but falls short on all aspects!!!!Scott the manager has tried to change lots of things about the bar & hats off to him,not sure on a personal issue i like most of them but Heay whatever...How bout the brewery takes time out to look at how the bar looks its so dirty & really could do with a few tins of paint been spent on it...Oh & whoever fitted the air con wants put to a sword its a discraceful job,even my wife commented so that has to be bad!!! All in all ive had some great nights in this place but now i feel staying in the comfortable surroundings of my home is a better choice than spending my hard earned cash in a place that has no customer appreciation...come on brewery stop taking all our money & atleast tidy your establishments up this pub cfould be a gold mine switch on to making more money spend some of your cash in there...What no sky because its too costly??? we pay for your over priced beers n surroundings...sort yourself out....As for the Manager he is trying but help him out guys....

Date visited: regular

Review by Jeff Gibson on 3rd October, 2007

Add your review
My Partner & I have been a local since the Block was built. We once again visited just the other day and was even more impressed than normal. The young Manager who has been there for about a year really cares about the customers and his staff. The quality in the food has increased some what, and it it is annoying to read some reviews below about portion sizes, and that he's not been attentive to customers requirements, I've never come accross anything so petty in all my life! I think he's called Scott, well Scott if you ever read this carry on doing a great job! Well Done! Jeff.

Date visited: Oct 1st 2007

Review by Liz on 26th September, 2007

Add your review
I would just like to sing the praises of the Manager of the Block & Tackle, he has certainly turned this once none atmospheric pub into somewhere I really enjoy visiting. He is very attentive to his customers and is always seen walking around talking to us to enquire if all is okay, this was never done before. To say all he does is shrugs his shoulders is a load of rubbish, if I have ever felt the need to bring something to his attention (i will add this is not very often) he is always very accomodating and to say he just laughs a lot well wouldnt it be an awful place to be if he was grumpy!! Since his arrival the staff are very attentive as well. This pub is a great place to eat and drink and Iwould certainly recommend it to everyone.

Date visited: 22nd Sept 2007

Review by Sandra on 21st September, 2007

Add your review
My husband and I are regular visitors to the Block and Tackle. On arrival we are greeted by staff who take our coats and show us to our seats. This service was an excellent suggestion by the manager to make his customers feel welcome. We know that the manager laughs and shrugs his shoulders a lot but it all adds to the jovial atmosphere of the Block. A Drinking hole highly recommended by locals.

Date visited: 1/9/07

Review by Tony Randle on 21st September, 2007

Add your review
i had a golden great meal which consisted of 12 chips and tea spoon of peas and a thin slice of pie then the kitchen didnt have my my dessert of choice off the menu so i got a thin slice of apple pie and a teaspoon of ice cream. i was left hungry and dissapointed.

Date visited: 21/09/07

Review by Helen on 2nd September, 2007

Add your review
My husband and i, visit the Block and Tackle on a regular basis,it is a nice place to eat and socialize, however i have been disappointed a few times with the portion sizes and on occasion the taste of the lager, even trying to complain discreetly has not worked, the manager just laughs and shrugs his shoulders, this is a real shame,my husband and i went out for a meal tonight and the meal i had was the worst i've ever had. The manager was not there to complain too, however speaking to a few friends and family they have said the portion sizes are terrible but do not feel confident to complain, i'm doing it on behalf of them!!!

Date visited: 02.09.07

Review by jess on 13th September, 2006

Add your review
i have got a very positive view on the block and tackle. my mam, aunty and sister had gone for something to eat and drink there whilst staying at Wansbeck Riverside camp site just down the road. the food was lovely, my steak was just how i wanted it and the staff were very polite. we will certainly be coming back when we are next up from London!

Date visited: 10/8/06

Review by Mrs C King on 2nd August, 2006

Add your review
Visiting Ashington from Yorkshire,my husband and I with 4 other famiy members chose the Block & Tackle as an eating place georaphically suitable to everyone. The meal we had which cost me just under 45 total, (excluding drinks and wine), was disappointing to say the least. The chicken with pasta and sauce was overcooked, the pasta just fell into pieces. The battered Haddock was cooked to death and it was a struggle to break and remove the batter (which was very dark brown) to find the fish.The steak with the mixed Grill was done to death and the mountain of chips was excessive. I know it is a 'Bar Meal' and not a restaurant but I thought the standard was poor. even the wine glasses were cloudy. A bit more attention to detail by the staff may have gone part way to compensate for the poor quality of the food.

Date visited: 31.07.2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Reading without reflecting is like eating without digesting. - Edmund Burke
More Quotes

On this day:
First Atomic Explosion - 1945, Stirling Moss is first Englishman to win the British Grand Prix - 1955, Helicopter Crashes off Scilly - 1983
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages