Village

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Village Inn, Westward Ho!

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Bob Fleming on 18th August, 2011

Add your review
Arrived at about 7.20pm and directed to the conservatory as we had our dog. Order a pint and half of Otter whilst looking at the menu, beer immediately returned as undrinkable, replaced with Exmoor ale which was barely an improvement. Ordered a kebab starter to share, this took 40 minutes to arrive and was disgusting, full of fat and very little flavour. Main course; I had meat balls which were done in sauce and pasta, ok but not a meal I would choose again. My wife had a mushroom and mango stroganoff, described as creamy mushroom soup with a very nasty aftertaste. These were served after a further wait of 30 minutes and a sharp reminder to the poor waitress who appeared to be doing her best with a lack of guidance from the management. Following our complaint we were kindly offered further drinks, declined on the point that we had not been able to drink our first ones. Overall we spent 2 hours and 20 minutes anticipating quality of food and service and unfortunately receiving neither. Definitely give this one a miss

Date visited: 14th August 2011

Review by Fran Blakes on 13th October, 2010

Add your review
Though I been many times just for a drink or a meal from the menu I have found the "The Village Inn" very friendly and the members staff very accomodating. The locals are polite and friendly and not at all troublesome. In all a quite place for a drink and or meal, which can be enjoyed by all the family!

Date visited: October 2010

Review by mike roberts on 20th September, 2010

Add your review
called in at the village in on the off chance of a warm welcome and a very much needed meal for my family after a very long journey, and we wasnt dissapointed, love the meal love the price and we have booked up to come again. five star pub.......

Date visited: 18/09/2010

Review by Bob Davis on 12th September, 2010

Add your review
One thing I forgot to mention is that you are detained in your room from abt 1130 pm until abt 8:00 am not allowed outside your door. Never been in jail but I've never been locked down in a hotel before either. This wasn't mentioned on the website but the non-existent wi-fi was.

Date visited: 09/11-14/2010-

Review by Andrew on 22nd June, 2010

Add your review
Food was burnt and late in coming. AVOID AVOID AVOID you have been warned!

Date visited: 21.06.2010

Review by rich.m on 11th March, 2010

Add your review
stoped only for a sat night with my family. found it very noisy and lots of doors slamming till about 3 am.found out there had been a party but not warned of this. stopped a few times before but decided this was the last!

Date visited: 08

Review by sadie jarvis on 24th August, 2009

Add your review
I have eaten in the restaurant in the village in a few times now and each time the food has been outstanding. The staff are friendly and welcoming and the pub is a warm comfortable environment. The chefs are extremely talented and take great pride in their work. Ad Boon in particular cooks the most amazing food and has unique ideas for interesting and tastey new dishes. Highly reccomended. x

Date visited: 2008-2009

Review by Chris and Julie Barton on 6th August, 2009

Add your review
We have been eating in the Village in at least 3 times during each August for the last 10 years, our two boys and ourselves have never had a bad or cold meal there, quite the contrary the food had always been excellent. Stuart and Julie run an exceptional family atmosphere pub resteraunt, and as a means to this we will be booking to eat there for our 25th Wedding Anniversary in August this year. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.

Date visited: 2000-2009

Review by NORRIE on 13th July, 2009

Add your review
My wife and I had an evening meal at the Village Inn and found it to be well under par. I had the Gumbo which consisted of two shrimps and shovel loads of rice and a pinkish gooey mixture that had a consistency of wallpaper paste. Yuch. My wife had a plate of ribs which we think had been purchased at LIDL and had been nuked to such a degree that they're probably still too hot to eat. Would'nt recommend and won't be going back.

Date visited: 5/7/09

Review by Bill Nunn on 24th March, 2009

Add your review
I have stayed at the Village Inn on a number of occassions and have always found the pub a good place to stay. After my Father died I used the Village Inn while I sorted out his affairs. Stuart and his family were a tower of strengh during this difficult time, they looked afer me and fed me well. What people need to remember is that a Village pub is not a 24 hour a day hotel, if you want that then stay in large hotel by the Motorway. I like the Village Inn and I will go back again very soon.

Date visited: various

Review by malinda mackenzie on 23rd December, 2008

Add your review
good pub atmosphere, average service. A local bohemian type really saved the day with his intelligence and wit. By god,is he married?

Date visited: 17 aug 08

Review by Stuart Hudson on 29th July, 2008

Add your review
I am the landlord of this establishment and have run it with my wife and daughter for over 8 1/2 years. We have noted the comments of Gerald and Maggie and respond as follows:- We have four en-suite rooms three of which are accessed in the main building. The fourth is accessed from our rear garden and is kept for people who wish to return late. The other three rooms are covered by our alarm system which is set as and when we close, hence, as we operate using no late night hours, we request our guests to be in by 11.30pm. We do not serve after hours nor do we give preference to locals above our guests. With regard to Gerald interestingly, having checked both our register and diary, we can find no bookings of four nights in Feb/March in any of our rooms let alone room one!!!!! Nor can we find any record of his presence at any time during this year!

Date visited: July 2008

Review by gerald on 29th April, 2008

Add your review
room 1 bed very uncomfortable, on arriving went into bathroom towel rail came off wall, bath tap top fell off and bath grab rail was very loose. Like faulty towers. breakfast ok although coffee pot was covered in dust for the whole four mornings makes you think how clean place is. will give it a miss next year.

Date visited: late feb 2008

Review by Maggie on 8th April, 2008

Add your review
we arrived on a Friday and were told that we had to be in by 11 at night as they lock the doors no good if you want to go to the live music at the other pub on the front !! Feel this should have been mentioned in particulars. The bar closes at 10.30pm on Sundays. Were serving regulars after time but refused to serve us even though we were residents. Will not be saying at the Village Inn again!!!!!

Date visited: 9th march

Review by adie on 19th January, 2008

Add your review
Arrived to a friendly and warm asthenosphere, Very clean and well run restaurant, First class food at a very good price. *****

Date visited: 05.01.08

Review by dave mason on 29th August, 2007

Add your review
great staff lovelly atmosphere i had one of the chefs specials the lamb shank with a rosemary and red wine jus it was tender and melted in my mouth my partner had a monkfish fillet in a fresh herb breadcrumb coating with a pineapple and mango compot that to was also well cooked well done to all the staff at the village inn

Date visited: sept 8

Review by lisa gilbert on 2nd July, 2007

Add your review
New Owners. Fantastic, great service, great food. Friendly and warm welcome. Will recommend to all.

Date visited: 29.06.07

Review by L Teff on 17th February, 2006

Add your review
I ordered one of the evening 'Blackboard' specials - the lamb shank. It arrived plonked vertically on a bed of gluey potato mash - but worse, it looked an odd grey colour. I touched it. It was stone cold! I sawed an exploratory cut into it and revealed bright red meat - it was raw! The waitress did remove it from the Bill (9.50) and wrote 'apologises' (sic) alongside the entry. But no-one ever came out to expain how they could present a customer with a raw lamb shank - even as a Special!

Date visited: 6.11.05

Review by peter lawson on 29th June, 2005

Add your review
Lovely people, superb food well presented and served in relaxing surroundings. Next time we will try the conservatory or weather permitting the walled gareden.

Date visited: 26 June 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Football is not a matter of Life and Death - its far more important than that - Bill Shankly
More Quotes

On this day:
First English Parliament Held - 1265, Edward Balliol Renounces Scottish Crown - 1356, The Great Severn Tsunami - 1606, Charles I Goes on Trial - 1649
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages