Raven

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Raven Hall Hotel, Scarborough

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Helen on 2nd November, 2009

Add your review
We were booked in for 3 nights - had there been anywhere else in the area that had free rooms I would certainly have not even stayed one night however we made a mistake of going to an area that was booked up with "Goths" for the Halloween celebrations. The room was Damp, had dirty water marked ceiling from obvious leaking roof, paper peeling off the walls and needed a good clean - the bathroom wasn't any better. The restaurant staff were totally bored and disinterested - Breakfast was a shambles. We checked out early - I was asked if I'd enjoyed my stay by the manager behind the reception. I told her it had been "interesting" she said "that sounds ominous" but didn't ask why - I'm assuming she knows exactly what the hotels problems are.

Date visited: 30/31st Oct

Review by Lola Crowe on 30th October, 2009

Add your review
This hotel is haunted! we spent the night in a twin room and couldnt sleep because there was a constant banging on the wall. we thought it was just some other residents, but then realised the room next to us were vacant. we went into the room where we heard the banging the next day and they were doing a refurbishment during the day and no one was in there at night. in each of the rooms a poem was written upon the wall by previous residents, written hundreds of years ago. the one in the room where we heard the banging had a poem written on a wall saying "all night i heard rapping and tapping on the walls!" we then asked a staff member in good jest and he defensivly denied any paranormal goings on. creepy or what?

Date visited: sept 07

Review by andrew hill on 16th September, 2009

Add your review
We had booked the hotel only the previous day on late rooms and had requested a double with room for a cot as we have a 2 month old baby boy. Upon arrival at the hotel we were initially quized and "told off" because we had brought a child and not mentioned it on the booking ( which we did and we had the booking print off to prove ) then told that the room we were in was a small double. As it was around half 6 in the evening when we arrived we didnt really want to argue and made our way up to the room so we could unpack and come down for our evening meal ( our wedding anniversary ) The room was shabby , paint was hanging off the ceiling, the bathroom was filthy and it was clearly a single room which had had a double bed plonked in there. I went down to complain only to be told there was no other rooms available and that it was a small double. We made our way to the dining area for around 7.20pm to be informed that no children are allowed in after 7pm ( anniversary meal ruined ) we had to get in the car and drive 4 mile down the road and eat in a pub. The overall ambience and feel of the place is very unerving for a family. we found the next day that we were the only family there and that from the staff and hotel guests ( average age 75 ) we were just out of place. breakfast was very poor..undercooked sausages... stale bread....and rubbery bacon. Dont get me wrong, the views from the hotel are fantastic and the grounds are well maintained BUT if your between the age of 18 and 45 a couple or family and you dont want to be treated like a lepor and subjected to snotty manageresses, poor food and dread full rooms then i suggest you find a 2* bed and breakfast because it would be 10 times a better stay than this place. kind regards andrew hill

Date visited: 10/09/09 to 12/09/09

Review by Norman on 9th June, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Manager very much in attendance, and available.Dining room staff very attentive. Exercise room and pool good. Plenty of hot water. Beautiful position and gardens.Comfortable lounge with plenty of seating. Dining room has spectacular views. Interesting menu well presented. Excellent breakfast. Bad Points: Reception a little offhand. Chef didnt quite hit the high notes that the menu promised General review: Very pleasant hotel

Date visited: 2008-06-09

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A loving heart is the beginning of all knowledge. - Thomas Carlyle
More Quotes

On this day:
First Known Performance of Macbeth - 1606, Britains 1st Grand Prix is held at Brooklands - 1926, Buckingham Palace Opens for Tourists - 1993
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages