It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Black Horse Hotel, Giggleswick

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by John & Margaret Rose on 19th March, 2012

Add your review
Great place to stay.Try the steak & ale pie.See you soon.Whats the name of the golf course near by?

Date visited: week after Easter 2012

Review by steele on 26th February, 2012

Add your review
We had a meal there today .for dad.s 80th bday. What can we say ? Thankyou you to family and staff.had a fab day . What a place.nothing can be faulted. From the welcome.the service.the food the cleanleness.lovely atmosphere. Friendly. Absolutly amazing. We will be returning very soon. Thankyou all again.

Date visited: 26/2/2012

Review by Mark & Jenny on 16th August, 2010

Add your review
Stumbled on this place just at opening time & we were made to feel very,very welcome. So much so we went back at a later date & were made equally welcome. The food was outstanding,the Nachos a plenty,the Lamb was perfect & just fell off the bone-outstanding!! The hospitality was commendable,the food outstanding & the Whisky good. We were so impressed that an hours drive for a Sunday lunch & perhaps an overnight stay will certainly be in order. We recommend it heartily.

Date visited: 09/08/10

Review by Julie Hole on 28th June, 2010

Add your review
From outside the Black Horse looked inviting and, since we were visiting the area,we decided to pop in for a drink. It was made quite clear to us that our custom was not wanted. We were asked if we were eating, when we said not at that time, we were directed to the patio area, not once, but several times by members of staff who obviously did not want us in the lounge area. It appeared to be a popular place to eat, and we may have returned if we had been welcomed or if someone had taken the time to explain that it was a restaurant and not a Hotel as described.

Date visited: 25 June 2010

Review by trevor spalding on 8th April, 2010

Add your review
the people that run this pub are very friendly and welcoming the pub itself is a beutiful place very well decorated and clean. the food was very good and we really enjoyed our visit next time we visit the dales we will try to book the hotel as our place to stay. plus the landlord gave us directions to get home and they were better than the sat nav.

Date visited: 3 april 2010

Review by Joan Hetherington on 8th September, 2009

Add your review
Excellent food BUT went outside for a mid course cig break - chased to come back and pay! Didnt have any sweet. Could have been good.

Date visited: August 2009

Review by Barrow on 15th July, 2009

Add your review
Very friendly owner and staff. Excellent food, ' . . freshly out of the Oven' Steak Pie enjoyed by all. Firmly on our recommended list

Date visited: 7 July 2009

Review by Montana Jackson on 19th December, 2008

Add your review
All I can say about this pub is WOW! Fantastic food and portions, staff very friendly. One of my all time favourites! Will I be back - MOST DEFINITELY!

Date visited: 7/12/08

Review by colin farrer on 29th June, 2008

Add your review
Wow i am just starting to feel hungry again after having the best quality and qauntity pub meal that i have had for a long time.The beef and ale pie was out of this world.We just happened to drop in on this quaint country pub and the staff and food will make us repeat this experience again very very soon even though we live one hours drive away.

Date visited: June28th 2008

Review by Gillian Simpson on 30th May, 2008

Add your review
We arrived at this pub quite by chance on our way to the lakes. What a wonderful location. We had a superb lunch and were made to feel extremely welcome by the landlord and landlady. The landlord was one of the most pleaseant landlords we have met for some time and extremelly helpful in advising us on places to eat and drink in Bowness. Thank you for a very pleasant visit. We would like to stay there for a weekend break some time and explore the area.

Date visited: 23 May 2008

Review by Richard Wright on 19th May, 2008

Add your review
I do not agree with the previous review. I have visited the pub many times and work in the catering industry. I think that this place is the friendliest within a wide radious. The food is nice and homely, the atmosphere is always good and the locals are actually quite friendly. If you are in the area looking for a good pub you will not find a better one....

Date visited: 19 /05 /08

Review by Bob Harrison on 14th April, 2008

Add your review
Was not able to sit and drink, tables were all reserved for diners - except there were no other people in the Pub! Couldn't tell you about the food because we were made to feel so uncomfortable - we left and will never go back. Not impressed.

Date visited: Jan 2008

Review by jodie ryan on 26th September, 2007

Add your review
the black horse pub is probably one of the nicest pubs i have ever been to,it has a lovely warm apmosphere, excellent staff and serves gorgeous food.we visited around christmas time and the christmas spirit was great, with singsongs and decorations. i would give it 10/10! fantastic!

Date visited: dec 2004,dec 2005.

Review by kevin on 27th August, 2007

Add your review
Great food and drink, a warm friendly atmosphere surrounded by scenic surroundings in giggleswick. Good friendly service from staff...just like the bank, look for the sign of the BLACK HORSE!excellent food had lasagne, salad and chips and soup, excellent...would recommend to anyone eg tourists, travellers.10 out of 10 all round. KEVIN from bradford

Date visited: 26/08/07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
The sort of poetry I seek resides in objects man can't touch. - E M Forster
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James Iís Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleportís Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages