It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Red Lion, Malvern

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by John on 7th March, 2010

Add your review
Don't know what the other John was on that day in December. Had a lovely meal, reasonably priced and served wsith a smile. Place was packed with eaters and not a builder in sight. Pleasant experience. Have also been to the attached Thai restaurant.... delicious!!!! John

Date visited: 07/03/10

Review by John on 24th December, 2009

Add your review
Was practically empty when we went for lunch at 2.30. Started well and food was reasonable tho expensive. However, the place was more about drinking than eating. If you're into getting leered at by locals & builders, 'What the f* do you think you're doing in my territory!!' and talk back by 17 yr old bar'man', then this is the place for you! Shame as this had been a decent eatery at one time. My advice - stick to the tourist season when theres plenty of incomers about!

Date visited: Dec 09

Review by Flibberty on 16th May, 2009

Add your review
See below review by Worcester news I agree whole heartedly Flibberty The Red Lion, Malvern 12:35pm Friday 1st May 2009 By Ceri Vines » THERE are two things you can do in Malvern on a beautiful spring Saturday. The first is take a hike up the famous hills. The second is dine al fresco at one of the town’s pubs. After checking out the Red Lion’s sun-dappled terrace, complete with St George’s flags fluttering in the breeze and petals floating down from a tree in full blossom, we chose the latter. And as we relaxed in the sunshine watching walkers huffing past us up the hillside, it seemed a very good decision indeed. Plenty of other people obviously had the same idea, because the terrace was soon full, although the rather dark and bare interior remained virtually empty. Starters arrived promptly. Deep-fried brie (£4.99) was as good as it gets, with the hot cheese oozing out of a crispy crust. Homemade mushroom soup (£4.50) looked a little thin at first sight – until you plunged your spoon a little deeper and discovered the mountains of succulent mushrooms piled high beneath the surface. The result was just what a soup starter should be – satisfying enough to take the edge off your appetite and get your tastebuds humming, but not so rich or hearty that it overwhelmed the main course. Which was just as well, because the salmon and prawn fish cakes (£9.99) were an absolute joy. Bursting with fishy flavour, they were complemented perfectly by a rich basil sauce. However, the fish cakes’ vegetarian equivalent (£8.99), ordered by my companion, were less successful. They appeared to be much the same recipe without the fish, which seemed to leave little apart from potato and peppers. The result was rather bland, despite the efforts of the accompanying salsa – also heavy on the peppers – to sex them up. Desserts, a ‘trio of ice cream flavours’ and chocolate fudge cake (both £3.95), were real crowdpleasers and just the thing to round off a largely satisfying meal. The Red Lion bills itself as Malvern’s “number one food pub”. I suspect there are places in the town where you can get food that’s at least as good, and perhaps cheaper, too. However, this quirky pub, wedged into the hillside beside the headquarters of the British Society of Dowsers (this is hippie Malvern, after all) is certainly a pleasant place to spend an April afternoon. HOW IT RATED The Red Lion, 4 St Anne’s Road, Malvern Telephone: 01684 564787 Food ★★★✩✩ Value for money ★★★✩✩ Ambience ★★★✩✩ Service ★★★✩✩

Date visited: 5/5/09

Review by sam on 13th April, 2009

Add your review
35 mins for starter to arrive - 'bruschetta topped with mozerella, red onion and olives' - cheese on toast with zero finesse/tinned olives and no onion. Main arrived 10 seconds after we'd finished the starter and was nuclear hot thanks to a good microwave. 'caramilsed veg cakes' - cold potato cakes, with a tiny bit of chopped cucumber and tomato lobbed in and nothing was caramilsed. 'chips' - re-heated and dry. 'sauce' - blatantly out of a jar. If i'd have been paying pub prices it would have been acceptable - but they market themselves as so much more and the price reflects this, alas the food and service do not Whilst I sat for 35 mins waiting for my starter - the monosyllabic 'kevin' behind the bar at his dinner in between wandering around asking 'did you order this'? Im may pop back for a warming cup of tea or to use the loo when hell freezes over. Take my advice - go to the chippy and get a good honest meal, not 'faux dining'

Date visited: 12.04.09

Review by CHARLIE on 14th December, 2007

Add your review
THE RED LION IS THE BEST PUB FOR FOOD IN MALVERN AND HAS JUST OPENED A NEW THAI RESTAURANT IN ADDITION TO ITS PUB MENU WELL WORTH A VISIT **** 4 STAR

Date visited: 13/12/2007

Review by Geoff Lattimer on 6th December, 2007

Add your review
Our visit was to close of the evening with friends in our local freindly pub.When my wife enquired on what type of Rose wine was available, the manager then became very agresive instisting that Rose Wine was Rose Wine take it or leave it, i politely questioned his attitude,at that point he because extremely obusive and we left. What a nice small local friendly pub.

Date visited: 1st December 2007

Review by ANON on 15th November, 2006

Add your review
A TRUELY ENJOYABLE VISIT, LOVELY COSY ATMOSPHERE, EXCELLENT FOOD AND THE SERVICE WE RECIEVED OFF THE TWO YOUNG LADIES WAS SECOND TO NONE. WOULD HIGHLY RECCOMMEND TO ANYONE. THANK YOU.

Date visited: 12/11/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Cowards die many times before their deaths; the valiant never taste of death but once - William Shakespeare
More Quotes

On this day:
Anne Boleyn Beheaded - 1536, Cromwell Declares England a Commonwealth - 1649, Kew Gardens Opens - 1759, Lawrence of Arabia dies - 1935, Speaker Announces Resignation - 2009
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages