Doubletree

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Doubletree by Hilton Garden House Cambridge, Cambridge

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 3rd October, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: beautiful room, very helpful and friendly staff. situation to Cambridge Bad Points: A little expensive

Date visited: 2007-10-03

Review by Anonymous on 31st May, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: The room was furnished with bottles of water, crisps, sweets and other essentials that were not an extra charge. The view was stunning and I would stay at the hotel again. Bad Points: Having to pay £5 to park my car while I was a guest General Review: Although this is a predominantly business hotel it was comfortable for the leisure traveler. The location is superb for the center of Cambridge and was overall very relaxing. We did not each in the hotel as it was a little expensive.

Date visited: 2006-05-31

Review by Roz on 25th May, 2006

Add your review
Although I agree that the hotel is not easy to find without Routefinder or sat-nav, it is ideally placed for exploring central Cambridge. Location is ideal for access to the city centre, but being between the river and green open space it doesn't feel like you are in the middle of a city. Parking costs £5 per day which is not clearly advertised on the website, but once parked you will not need your car to explore the city, as everything is within a few minutes walking distance. If you choose not to eat in the hotel, there is a huge variety of pubs and restaurants very close by. The hotel was undergoing a refit whilst we were staying which was only mildly inconvenient (ie dodging ladders and tins of paint in corridors and public spaces), but the upside was a refurbished room with excellent furnishings and flatscreen tv. Health club facilities were excellent, but a minor niggle was that although advertised as open until 10pm, last admission is at 9pm - no use if you just want a 20 minute swim before bed! Staff are willing to be flexible if you don't realise this on your first day though. All in all, hotel couldn't be bettered as a central location for exploring Cambridge and surrounding area.

Date visited: 16/05/06

Review by Jamie on 16th April, 2006

Add your review
Obtained an AA route before leaving so had no problem finding the Hotel despite its position, which is tuck away. Parking was no problem, reception was clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The room, although a little small, was clean and the on suite clean and supplied with a range of nice toiletries. The evening meal was really something special and the service excellent. Breakfast was a buffet style and included both full English and continental style. Tea and coffee was served by the staff, who were friendly, helpful and efficient. All in all I thought the whole experience was very good and value for money taking into account today’s prices. I would have no problem in recommending the Hotel to anybody. I would however shop around for prices on the internet as they can be variations.

Date visited: 16/04/06

Review by Disappointed on 12th September, 2005

Add your review
Location a bit tricky to get to if you don’t have proper directions – due to the one-way system around town and road closures during pedestrian shopping hours! Arrived at hotel and got parked ok in the complimentary (for hotel guests) car park. Didn’t have to queue at reception – bonus! Got our room keys and the receptionist wrote down our room number 211 on the card. We went to our room as stated on the card – only to find that neither key card worked the door! Went back to reception and said that neither keycard worked for room 211 so she reprogrammed them Went back upstairs, tried the first on – it didn’t work, then tried the second one – which worked but upon walking into the room we soon realised that someone else’s stuff was already in the room!! Quickly headed back downstairs and told her, she looked into it and realised we were supposed to be in room 241 – her writing had made the 4 look like a 1. We then got the keys for our actual room and went upstairs. Upon entering the room it looks exactly like a room in the holiday-inn chain. Pretty small (for the money per night) and the bathroom was ok, nothing special though! A bit disappointed that we paid £139 (which was actually a cheap rate!) However, bed was very comfortable. The gym was adequate – not huge but had a variety of machines (1 of each) to keep you busy! The pool was nice and there was also a sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and solarium – which again, were all free to hotel residents. Breakfast – hmmmm, where do I start. At weekend it is served until 10am. We got down there at 9:45am and found lots of people sitting around. As the hotel was full for this particular weekend, they didn’t have enough tables for people breakfasting. So you had to put your name on the list and wait to be called. 20 minutes later we were in – only to find hardly any food left! We were told that more would be our shortly – another 15 minutes later and they bought some more food out – which obviously by then meant that the food that was there originally had all gone a bit congealed!! Managed to get enough scraps together to get rid of the hunger-pangs for a while! As we booked the breakfast in advance we only had to pay £8 ( I say “only” because if we’d have paid when we arrived its £13.50 each!!) but NO WAY was the breakfast worth £8, let alone £13.50!! Very disappointed so we told the receptionist when we checked out and they knocked the price off our total bill (think they must’ve had a lot of complaints that morning!) so all-in-all the whole breakfast process took us over an hour!!!! The hotel location was central and inside was nice and clean but I would not go back to this hotel – unless it was £50 a night with breakfast included!! It was very very overpriced for what it was and the size of the rooms were one of the smallest I’ve stayed in (even though this was the most expensive hotel I’ve stayed in in England!) Very disappointed :(

Date visited: September 2005

Review by Anonymous

Add your review
Location of hotel excellent; ample parking; easy access into Cambridge. Staff friendly and helpful.,Quality of food at breakfast was not up to standard for the price and status of the hotel.,I have used this mhotel many times in the past when I lived in Cambridge. It is ideally situated to feel the spirit of Cambridge with easy parking and walking access to the city centre. Rooms overlooking the river with a balcony would be ideal in the summer. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent but breakfast left something to be desired. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Date visited: 25/11/2004

Review by Christine

Add your review
Friendliness of staff,"The room contained everything needed for a luxury break. The magazines were up to date, the bathroom toiletries luxurious; dressing gown and slippers a nice bonus! The food was excellent and the service very friendly and child-friendly. The only drawback for a family with young children was the lack of children's meals in room service, but our 2 year old is rather a faddy eater."

Date visited: 07/01/2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Being powerful is like being a lady. If you have to tell people you are, you aren't - Margaret Thatcher
More Quotes

On this day:
Last Great Viking Raid Defeated - 0910, William Wallace is captured by the English - 1305, Battle of Dogger Bank - 1781, Britains 1st Cinema Opens - 1901, Plaid Cymru Formed - 1925, First English Match to “Go to Penalties” - 1970
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages