Black

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Black Bull Coaching Inn, Godmanchester

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by A.GRAY on 19th February, 2010

Add your review
Without doubt this was the worst pub lunch we have had in years.My gammon steak was, I suspect, reheated. It was very tough. My wife and grandson had filled jacket potatoes that had either been reheated or kept hot for a long time. We complained but were only given our drinks free. My advice is don't go there.

Date visited: 18/2/2010

Review by julia griffin on 30th September, 2008

Add your review
hired the function room for a birthday party . the bar was also hired but denied by landlord, then we were told the girl who should have been in to run the bar had miscarried.(why employ someone to run a bar that wasn't hired) landlord said we could have glassess and drinks from the pub at cheaper prices, very nice we thought until we discovered to late that we were charged £ 12.50 for a bottle of wine!!! we certainly will not be visiting or recomending the black bull to anyone

Date visited: 29 08 08

Review by georgia smith on 30th April, 2008

Add your review
i have just stayed at the Black Bull Inn , Godmanchester and was welcomed by the warm and friendly staff, Great Food, Lovely Bedrooms and i will definately b going there again ! It has recently been tsken over by new management . I would reccommend it to any of my friends and family.

Date visited: 28th april 2008

Review by Natalie Harris on 23rd November, 2007

Add your review
I stayed there a couple of times as I was attending a revision course at Wood Green Animal Shelter. The 1st time I stayed there I was unable to have a cooked breakfast (as stated) and eat there in the evenings as the kitchen was closed, This was a let down but I understood this and obviously couldn't be helped, a discount was given to me. 2nd time I stayed there was for a weekend, again for a college course. The 1st morning when I came down for breakfast there was no one around, I waited in the seating area for half an hour, I had to go to college with no breakfast!! the door was open so anyone could just walk in, was the pub alarmed??? On a good note: Lovely waitress lady in the evening and morning, Made us feel welcome.

Review by PAT on 21st October, 2007

Add your review
FRIENDLY STAFF AND EXCELLENT WAITRESS IN THE EVENING. THE FOOD WAS FIRST RATE ROOM QUITE BASIC BUT NEW OWNERS WORKING HARD ON IMPROVEMENTS HOWEVER, NO ONE REMEMBERED WE WERE DUE FOR BREAKFAST AT 8.15AM. THE PUB WAS DESERTED AND WE FELT VERY UNCOMFORTABLE AS THE DOORS WERE LOCKED. WE WERE SCARED TO SET OFF AN ALARM. EVENTUALLY WE OPENED THE BACK DOOR - ONLY SECURED BY ONE LOCK AND NOT ALARMED! IS THE PLACE SAFE? A SLEEPY MEMEBER OF STAFF, LIVING OFF THE PREMISES, MET US AS WE PACKED THE CAR. HE HAD JUST HAD A PHONE CALL REMINDING HIM OF BREAKFAST - 20 MINS AFTER THE REQUESTED TIME. WE HAD NO TIME TO WAIT - A SPOILED STAY AND NOT ONE TO RECOMMEND OR REPEAT. SHAME

Date visited: 19TH OCTOBER 2007

Review by Liz on 5th February, 2007

Add your review
Excellent affordable food though service somewhat slow. Very pleasant environment. Staff when we were there were not over friendly.

Date visited: Jan.- Feb. 07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Mountains are the beginning and the end of all natural scenery. - John Ruskin
More Quotes

On this day:
Scotland and France form their 'Auld Alliance' - 1295, Battle of Southwark - 1450, Newton’s Principia Published - 1687, Giant Hailstone Hits Plumstead - 1925, National Health Service established - 1948
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages