It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Del Villaggio, Birmingham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Sasha on 21st January, 2011

Add your review
My past memory of Del Villaggio was a quick stop cafe, and restaurant was hidden upstairs. When i poped in with my mate for a meal in this week, i was pleased with decoration and seeing that a sleek and glossy version has taken over the whole outfit. Smily staffs looking after all tables and very helpful. Food in overal was tasty, but portions were too big. i had no room to order my favourite tiramissu!!

Date visited: 20/01/2011

Review by luke on 18th January, 2011

Add your review
food and deco is great..service good and the waiters are very friendly

Date visited: 15/01/2011

Review by Peter Tyson on 3rd September, 2007

Add your review
This particular Saturday I visited the Bull ring restaurant with my Daughter and wife. Having spent 2/3 hours shopping we where looking forward to a nice meal, in a place hat looked like perfect suroundings, however, as the saying goes, "do not judge a book by it's Cover" because this one looked all mediteranian and ended up being a james herbert horror. We ordered a pasta dish and two callzone pizza's. When they arrived my daughter advised the inside of her callzone was cold, and upon checking so was mine. I obviusly sent them back and asked for replacements, which came some 15 mins later, by which time my wife had finnished her meal. Yes these wher now a stage further comming back a little warmer. As they use cooked foo for the filling and being so hungry we both ate our pizza's, but I thought it prudent to have a word with the manager Mr Manoli, to just advise him of what had happened and the fact that perhaps another time a customer may be ill because his chefs where not checcking the internal temprature of the food. Well to say the least it was a waste of time because he wasn't interested, and just shrugged his shoulders. Remebber if this had have been chicken rather than just Cheese and ham, someone could have been very ill. So if you want a good meal don't go here go to rthe restaurant next door they look after you.

Date visited: 1/08/2007

Review by sorcha on 13th February, 2006

Add your review
We flew to Birmingham hoping for a relaxing Valentines weekend. We booked ourselves into Jury's Hotel, which was fantastic. The staff were excellent, the services efficient, the room clean and comfortable. Excellent choice of hotel. Unfortunately, we made the mistake of going to Del Villaggio's, next door to Jury's, for our dinner. The meal was going well until I ordered a second glass of prosecco, towards the end of our meal. The glass never arrived at our table. My partner was finished his meal so I thought there was no point in looking for it and we asked for the bill. The bill came down with the second glass on it. No Problem (we thought), we will just let the waiter know. The staff refused to acknowledge that we didnít get the glass, becoming arrogant and loud and creating a very embarrassing scene in front of the other customers. About four waiters all extremely impolite surrounded us. The customers sitting beside us could not believe what was happening and they themselves confirmed we did not get the second glass. After refusing to show us the (supposed) security camera he originally threatened us with the manager, Roberto, threatened to ring the police. Imagine, over a glass of prosecco! It was very humiliating. They eventually took the glass of the bill but this was followed by a series of comments insinuating we had drunk the wine. The manager even encouraged the waiter dealing with our bill not to give us our change. All in all, it was the worst experience I have ever had in any restaurant. We were insulted and greatly upset while trying to enjoy a Valentines dinner because of the silly matter of £6.25. It was awful and ruined our night and stay in Birmingham. We will not be back again. WARNING: Do not visit Del Villaggio.

Date visited: 11/2/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
The Welsh are all actors. It's only the bad ones who become professional. - Richard Burton
More Quotes

On this day:
Oxford University Chartered - 1214, First Municipal Fire Brigade Forms - 1726, 1st Paddleship steamer crosses Atlantic - 1819, Death of William IV - Victoria becomes Queen - 1837
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages