It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of White Horse, Church Fenton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by ann brown on 18th December, 2014

Add your review
We have just had an excellent three course meal served by very friendly and efficient staff everything was of the highest quality and the taste was superb cant wait for the next visit that will be very soon hopefully. Thankyou all.

Date visited: 18 december 2014

Review by Jo beavers on 14th March, 2013

Add your review
Always a pleasure to dine at The White Horse . Nice to see the dining room has had a refurbish much improved .Service is always good and staff friendly . I recommend the steak! But there is always a good variety of specials.

Date visited: 1.3.2013

Review by K S on 1st January, 2013

Add your review
Lovely meal on New Year's Eve 2012. Dining room re-decorated since last visit, much improved design & colourscheme. Generous portions of good food, prepared well. Very child friendly, offering to prepare "simple" fish & chips for a six year old, who didn't fancy anything from the special "new year" menu. Great service. Thanks.

Date visited: 31st Dec 2012

Review by ian on 10th July, 2012

Add your review
myself and my girlfriend went to the whitehorse as a special treat with our family,the service was good,and the food,excellent, there was a problem however,there was lots of it,problem solved by the landlady,she gave us a takeaway carton so we could take it home,a wide range of beers,and some good wines,the staff were very courteous,and obliging,we will going again. ian and tracy

Date visited: 7/7/2012

Review by Sheila Greenwood on 29th January, 2012

Add your review
Have been many times & had lovely food. However last summer we went & things had gone down hill. The cheese served on the ploughmans was foil wrapped & out of date by 6mths! We decided to give it another try & wished we hadn't. The place is seriously in need of refurbishment the seating is broken & dirty. The pancake starter took 40mins to arrive & was dry & tasteless. After another 45min wait we were served our main I had fish provencal which was crusty & the fish wasn't fresh. Both of our meals were luke warm. On both occassions when we have had bad service & poor meals we have paid by debit card. Both times we have been asked if we would like a tip adding to our card. This is very embarrasing as we don't like confrontation & just wanted to leave without complaining. After our long wait for food did they seriously expect a tip? I will not be returning ever to dine here £35 can well be better spent elsewhere. There are so many excellent eating places around now. The White Horse needs to make some major changes!!!!!

Date visited: 28/01/2012

Review by Karen on 4th March, 2011

Add your review
well we have been to the white horse at Fenton many times over the years. We visited this evening to celebrate my uncles 80th birthday. I noted that the pub is looking tired and dated. my meal was awful, the french onion soup was like gravy and the crusted cod in provencal sauce was dry and inedible, I was offered the choice of another meal, I declined and did not pay for my meal. I did not make a fuss as everyone else was enjoying their meal and did not want to spoil the evening. Will not return sorry to say.

Date visited: 4,3,11

Review by V Shaw on 8th September, 2010

Add your review
Been a couple of times now for food, the steak was the best I have ever tasted. The steak was presented on two large wild mushrooms cooked in a garlic sauce. Plenty of brews to wash it down, I chose the Timothy Taylors 'Landlord'. Staff very friendly. Hope to return quite soon.

Date visited: 20-08-2010

Review by Gaunt / Cox / Collinson on 14th August, 2010

Add your review
Every time we have visited the White Horse....one gets the same friendly welcome and we now feel quite at home, and well looked after... The food is always the same very high standard..so on Sunday, I have booked for a special important occasion ....

Date visited: Many many times

Review by nigela on 16th May, 2010

Add your review
The fillet steak you prepared and cooked for me was again to perfection and i loved the pepper sauce on the side, mouthwatering and delicious as always Nige.What a great time, a shame my visit was clouded but it was time for me. Thank you for all and have a great birthday on the 19th. toy x

Date visited: 21st April, 2010

Review by nigela on 16th May, 2010

Add your review
first time here, beautiful weather, nice pleasant surroundings, i was very well looked after so think i shall be back? Thankyou N. x

Date visited: june 28 2008

Review by den on 14th March, 2010

Add your review
I was a tadge concerned on reading the previous reviews, when we were invited to attend a Birthday celebration at the White Horse. The previous reviews are unfounded, as the food was very good and the staff extremely pleasent and courteous. I did have the steak which has come under some critisism but mine was cooked to perfection. A very enjoyable evening.

Date visited: 13 Mar 10

Review by Nigela on 3rd February, 2010

Add your review
Would have liked to have visited again this month, but unfortunately due to commitments I was unable to so very very sorry for that, I know i have missed out on some real good fun, good food and lots and lots of laughs.toy all. xxx

Review by Sally on 7th August, 2009

Add your review
Visited this pub for the 1st time and ordered steak. What a disaster. It wasnt cooked properly and the service was appauling. I will not be visiting this place again and would not recommend it to anyone!!

Date visited: 3 August 2009

Review by Theresa Green on 7th June, 2009

Add your review
I would just like to say, My friend and I travelled quite some way to visit The White Horse. The staff, one in particular was a in fact a pleasure to see and well worth the journey, he ensured everything was to perfection!!! so we will most definately return. I thoroughly reccommend The Steak, he cooks it to perfection. Mmmm ... mouth watering and delicious. xxx

Date visited: 6 June 2009

Review by nigela on 29th April, 2009

Add your review
The food was lovely, think Nige is the best cook ever, and pretty good looking to I might add. lovely visit. thanks.

Date visited: april 2009

Review by Vince on 29th March, 2009

Add your review
I saw the lady owner having a go at a couple who had complained about their meal. The couple were very pleasant but the lady had a bad attitude and told them to leave. This was totally unacceptable and ruins this pub. No customer service at all.

Date visited: 28 march 2009

Review by J Robinson on 28th March, 2009

Add your review
It was the first time me and my husband went to this pub for a meal. The landlady seemed posh and polite when we arrived so we both felt very comfortable. We both had a lovely starter. However, my husband ordered a 24oz T-bone Steak which was not right. It smelt very revolting and was obviously "out of date". We told a waitress who agreed and took the steak back to the kitchen. No one came to us to apologise and we were just sat waiting. After a while I asked the same waitress what the situation was and she seemed quite defensive. We then went to the bar to see the lady in charge (assuming she is Sue Langrick). I went to the bar where I met the lady in charge, she immediately told me there was nothing wrong with the T-bone steak, saying she had eaten it herself! She told me to leave the premises and not return. This pub and this lady are a disgrace. We like our food and have never come across such a poor establishment. Rythre Arms is 100% better than the White Horse shambles!!!!

Date visited: 28 march 2009

Review by sal on 20th March, 2008

Add your review
the pub is very nice, friendly,not too pricey & the selection of food v.good. all in all a good meal......could feel tension between the two "older" members of staff (possibly owners).

Date visited: march 2008

Review by l jackson on 8th February, 2008

Add your review
What a lovely place. staff very helpful & friendly. Food fantastic. I have visited a couple of times twice with family and iv also taken a coach of elderly people for their lunch. Am at present arranging another meal there. Prices are super, i recomend this pub to lots of people. Give it ago.

Date visited: xmas 2007

Review by special k on 11th December, 2007

Add your review
good pub, good beer, excellent food, good prices, good atmosphere. I will be going again

Date visited: 7 December 07

Review by bob on 13th November, 2007

Add your review
Wow wat a pub . James was great and the use of food was very fun . i am looking forward to my retern. Get ready boys

Date visited: 12.12.07

Review by bill staffodshire on 28th September, 2007

Add your review
Amzing Pubs, Gr8 food, crnt wait to go bk and c the bald kid behind the bar, gr8 managment no complaints! thnx langrick

Date visited: 19.9.07

Review by Niki on 10th August, 2007

Add your review
Nice pub, good bar snacks ( but a little expensive ) lively atmosphere good facilities . . . the let down ~ slow bar service

Date visited: 04/08/2007

Review by Chelsea Cooper on 5th August, 2007

Add your review
LOVELY PUB

Date visited: All the time

Review by Steve J on 19th July, 2007

Add your review
All in all good pub and eating house ... but yes, I know the member of staff others refer to - she is so ill mannered and clearly has a chip on her shoulder - lets the place down Cheers all Steve

Date visited: 12 July 2007

Review by talbot on 9th July, 2007

Add your review
exellent beer! good staff, part from 1 member, great night life, good funny atmosphere, but watch out for a lad with ginger hair *(crazy) *

Date visited: everyday

Review by Jayne Clarke on 4th July, 2007

Add your review
Great bar food, nice atmosphere good range of dring for boys and girls - generaly god night - but yes service very slow xx

Date visited: 12 / 06 / 2007

Review by kalamity on 3rd July, 2007

Add your review
This pub is clean and friendly. The bar staff are friendly and the company is not bad either. They serve great food of high standard and the booze is quality too, never had a bad meal or pint in there. They also have attractions which appeal to a younger and older audience, such as; a pool table, an I.T box, a widescreen television with sky and darts. Not to mention comfy seats and a nice atmosphere!

Date visited: 08.04.07

Review by Mike Ocks on 18th June, 2007

Add your review
Nice clean pub, been a few time over the summer - food good but dinks might as well be self sevice - spoilt the night having to wait so long ant one girl behind the bar was so miseable she made the beer sour !

Date visited: 16th June 2007

Review by Gary on 9th June, 2007

Add your review
You are so right ... food OK but the service, I waithed for over 30mins for a drink and the bar was not even busy, the girl just wanted to chat to her mates ... big let dowm Gary

Date visited: 01/06/2007

Review by Gill Mason on 3rd June, 2007

Add your review
Nice place, but service truly diabolical person behind bar can't be bothered to serve unless you are one of her friends.

Date visited: several

Review by gladys flynn on 27th July, 2006

Add your review
I just wanted to say we went on coach trip for a meal there and the food was amazing, they choice was outstanding and the service was second to non. The manager even came out to our coach and wiched us all the best and a very safe journey. Thanks you for a very very special day and we will come again.

Date visited: 25/07/2006

Review by Garry Wilson on 21st May, 2006

Add your review
A good menu, pleasant atmosphere and better than average food was totally spoilt by shoddy restaurant management. Booked for 8:30pm, eventually seated at 10:00pm, had to rush our food down and had no time for dessert or coffee as taxi was pre-booked for 11:00pm. Management did not even have it in them to apologise or acknowledge some portion of blame when brought to their attention. Would like to return as the menu had lots more we would like to try but the booking system is a shambles, so we probably won't !!!!

Date visited: 20/05/2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Above our life we love a steadfast friend. - Christopher Marlowe
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James Iís Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleportís Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages