It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Joiners Arms, Hampsthwaite

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by James Henderson on 20th August, 2010

Add your review
Visited here after a recomendation from a friend. On arrival it was nice that the pub was buzzing with atmosphere you very rearely find these days. The pub is in the Great British Beer guide and when we visited had Tetleys Cask and Rudgate Viking as the guest beer. The food was excellent, it is displayed on a blackboard in between the two rooms and you can eat anywhere in the pub. I started with Shredded Duck in Filo Pastry, it came ontop of a fresh mixed salad. I continued with a Pan Fried Sea Bream which came simply cooked but full of fresh flavour and enhanced with new potatoes and fresh vegetables and absolutely fantastic value at 12.95. For dessert i plumped for the home home made merange with strawberries and vanilla ice cream, and believe me the merange was definately home made! the menu has something for everyone from fresh fish, steaks, stir fry, pies, gammons etc My wife always judges an establishment by the toliets...she commented that they were the best she had ever visited with hair sprays hand creams and deoderants. This place is a little gem and deserves a visit

Date visited: 13/08/2010

Review by matthew stokes on 11th June, 2008

Add your review
We visited the Joiners Arms on Thursday 5th June following a recomendation from a friend about a Steak Night Offer, for £8.95 you get a drink from the bar and a 10oz Rump steak with all the trimmings. Normally im very sceptical about offers like this but I was plesently suprised. The pub had a great atmosphere, the steak was excellent quality and the service was second to none. We will be returning, this is one of the best offers in the area, take it up while it lasts!

Date visited: 05/06/2008

Review by Scott Hough on 14th May, 2007

Add your review
Excellent country pub with great beers (member of CAMRA) and got to say now Jon the chef is back the Fish and Chips are the best in the area, Harry Ramsdens are not in the same league!

Date visited: 14/5/07

Review by Ben Black on 3rd May, 2007

Add your review
fantastic country pub, a hidden gem just located off the A59, stopped off for a meal while passing thru the area and already been back twice. Probably ne of the best steaks i have eaten in a long time, enhanced by a nice selection of fresh vegetables. Very friendly landlord and excellent service for all his team...well done Keep up the good work

Date visited: 10/3/2007

Review by JOHN GIBBINS on 5th October, 2005

Add your review
This place was absolutely gorgeous. Friendly , full of ambience. Home made extensive cooking Excellent service superb food great puddings excellent all round. booked already to go back next week!!!

Date visited: 1st october 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I used to be indecisive but now I am not quite sure. - Tommy Cooper
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James Iís Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleportís Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages