It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Harrogate Arms, Beckwithshaw

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mrs Garth on 13th August, 2012

Add your review
Wow what a difference a fortnight makes. We as a family called in for drinks a fortnight ago and saw carnage but were informed the pub had just been taken over and were told of the changes afoot, sounds great news and worth another visit I thought. We booked in for carvery- brilliant!! Nowhere else decent for a carvery in Harrogate. £8.95 per adult beautiful meat, all you can eat organic veg. Proper roasties and yorkies! They said the meat was all outdoor responsible reared too, good to hear. They had an offer on with the flyers theyve been sending out of a free pudding, great news for our kids! The staff were very helpful and efficient. They've also opened a tea room which looked so quaint. Menu And wine list has been updated and all food is home cooked must say it was delicious well worth a visit!!! Ooh another thing I was told is the downstairs is getting done out too!! Yay

Date visited: 12/08/12

Review by Dave Broadbank on 29th July, 2012

Add your review
What a disappointment! Went for lunch today with friends (my suggestion as there were 5 kids in the group and there is a small playground to keep them entertained) and all seemed fine until we ordered food, the 8 meals came out to us over approx 10 minutes and we had to hunt out cutlery, napkins and condiments. Out of the 8 meals we ordered I sent 4 meals back, 2 of the kids meals included raw sausages (although great for weight loss I didn't fancy the clean up operation afterwards). The veg was clearly microwaved, the meat in the steak and ale pie was so tough I couldn't actually get a fork/knife into it and had I attempted to eat it I would have been looking at a number of visits to the dentist. Once my meal had been replaced I did actually eat the majority of it, you'd have thought that they would have made doubly sure that the plate of food was of the highest standard they could produce so imagine my surprise when I found a large piece of scrunched up tin foil The front of house staff were embarrassed to say the least and the owner/manager didn't show their face to make an attemp at an apology. We weren't the only party to send food back and all the staff could really say in their defence was that next week they should have a carvery station (well that's ok then, don't worry if you've just tried to get my kids to eat raw sausages, a carvery you say, all is forgotten, see you next week!). I will not be eating here again and I would recommend you stay away too!

Date visited: 29/07/12

Review by Sonia Lewis on 29th May, 2011

Add your review
Stayed for 3 nights over May Day Bank Holiday weekend and as we parked the car in the grounds we knew we would be delighted. A happy, friendly and warm atmosphere seemed to had by all. We were shown to our room and were most impressed. Spotlessly clean, great views, coffee, tea and multi chanels on the TV. We had a dog with us, fantastic walks around the Arms and a 20 minute walk into Harrogate centre through woodlands and a beautiful park. Could not believe it when we emerged right in the centre of Harrogate (which is an amazing city). Husband loved the breakfast and all day breakfast in the evening(it was that good). Not so much a choice for me being a veggie, but certainly was never hungry or let down. The pub had a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere in the evenings with lots of locals who went out of their way to make us (and the dog)feel so welcome. Landlord and landlady so helpful and friendly, really made the whole holiday. Can't wait to go back again and we definitely will.

Date visited: May 2011

Review by Friendsof Valley Gardens on 28th December, 2010

Add your review
We booked Christmas dinner for 13. The welcome was warm, the pub was cold. The stuffed mushrooms had too much bread in them. The veg was lovely and fresh, sadly the beef was not homecooked but sliced deli style. The cream on the trifle tasted like Dream Topping. The mince pies were not home made. We were disappointed

Date visited: 15 December 2010

Review by Daniel Fox on 1st July, 2010

Add your review
we stayed at the harrogate arms after our wedding. the staff, bedrooms,food, locals, birds, animals and falconry are all fantastic, we can't wait to go back they made a great weekend fantastic. it's far enough away from the town to be relaxing and quiet, yet close enough to walk to the center. nothing was too much trouble for everyone there we felt completly at home. it's one of those places that so good it makes you feel like keeping it secret yet at the same time you want to shout about it!!! Danny. Cumbria

Date visited: 26-28-06-10

Review by Susanne Camilleri on 24th September, 2009

Add your review
I've been lucky to visit The Harrogage Arms on more than one occasion. Even stayed there for a few days at one point. The pub is situated in beautiful woodland right next to one of England's unique gardens. Nicole and Tommy gave us a warm welcome and made us feel very much at home. The food was delicious and always served with a smile. Truly British hospitality at its best! Well worth a visit

Date visited: June 2009

Review by Sue Covill on 3rd April, 2009

Add your review
Still thoroughly enjoying our visits to the Harrogate Arms. The food is excellent and there is always a warm welcome for our labrador Libby and ourselves. All there are so helpful.

Date visited: 25 March 2009

Review by Joanne St Lawrence on 9th February, 2008

Add your review
Went to Harlow Carr gardens but found Betty's cafe packed out so decided to give the Harrogate Arms a try. What a lovely place! We had a toddler and baby with us but they were very friendly - high chair provided - and the food was exceptional. A small but good menu of home cooked dishes with fresh, perfectly cooked seasonal veg. We had pan fried liver, bacon and onion gravy with mash. The children's menu is proper food (no fish fingers), Charlie had fish gougons with great chips and peas, ate every scrap and was treated to three flavours of ice cream for pud. Very good value and a very well kept Theakstons best bitter among many others. They do a special sausage and mash night on a Wednesday must give it a try!

Date visited: 8th February 2008

Review by Sue Covill on 14th January, 2008

Add your review
This is a lovely pub - set in beautiful woodland and very close to the RHS Harlow Carr gardens. We've had several visits here and always have a warm welcome for ourselves and our dog. The atmosphere is enhanced by lovely log fires and comfortable surroundings. Excellent food with a wide choice of menu. Well provided with car parking - a great venue for a good walk followed by a super meal.

Date visited: 25 December 2008

Review by Karen on 4th November, 2007

Add your review
I visited this pub with my husband and kids, and I must highly recommend it!! The staff were very kind, efficient and very helpful. The atmosphere was wonderful and the children were able to run around safley outside due to the pub's great location. I would stongly urge anyone to pop in themselves, the fish pie (all food is home cooked!) is especially good!!

Date visited: September

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Artists aren't really people. And I'm actually 40 per cent papier mache - Morrissey
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James Iís Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleportís Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages