It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Castle Inn, Spofforth

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by GRAHAM CROLL on 6th March, 2013

Add your review
THE SERVICE AND FOOD WERE EXCELLENT AND IS WAS VERY GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY. A LOG FIRE. I LOOK FORWARD TO MY NEXT VISIT

Date visited: 5 /3/13

Review by Chris Partridge on 6th March, 2013

Add your review
Good grub and good value with great service. Look forward to my next visit

Date visited: 6.3.13

Review by caroline on 30th December, 2012

Add your review
I visited this place by chance today and I can only say that I was disgusted by the welcome we received. My party entered the pub and sat at a table and ordered in total 3 rounds of drinks, we were in the process of deciding what we wanted to order to eat and were asked by the landlady to vacate the table as she needed it for her locals and as we weren't locals we didn't take priority. she tried to soften the blow by saying "sorry if this sounds rude but...." Only welcomes locals!!!

Date visited: 30/12/2012

Review by Jessica on 15th August, 2012

Add your review
Had a wonderful time at the Castle Inn. Friendly Staff & great food. Will definatly be returning :)

Date visited: July

Review by tracey on 25th March, 2012

Add your review
Had a great meal tonight with my family .food was plentyfull and excellent. staff were most helpfull .wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Date visited: 24march2012

Review by Al Greenwood on 26th February, 2012

Add your review
Without a doubt, the absolute last place I would ever choose to visit. I Live in the village and took 2 friends here on a Saturday night Feb 2012. The Landlord was involved in a private party and our faces clearly didnt fit. He turned the lights off on us in the pool room/dining area while the pub was still open and after his wife educated him that we had done nothing wrong and he should be nice to us he came over and hurled abuse "what do you think you are doing?,(we were doing nothing) if you don't like my pub then FUCK OFF" Clearly the worse for drink, my 2 non drinking friends thanked us for the evening, made made their excuses and quickly left. I have never been so ashamed in all my life.

Date visited: 25/22012

Review by Chris on 21st February, 2011

Add your review
Can I just say that I am really sorry that we decided to come to your pub and had the cheek to order drinks from you. Perhaps it would be more honest to put a sign up saying 'New Customers not welcome'. When your regulars pass away, who will pay your wages?

Date visited: 20th Feb 2011

Review by L Smith on 9th January, 2011

Add your review
Nice looking pub but let down by poor customer service. Would not recommend.

Date visited: 04/12/10

Review by Ray Shellard on 16th November, 2010

Add your review
Visited the pub for a meal 1 member of staff only at 7 PM, waited for service locals got prefence then tried to order meal waited 10 to 15 minutes for order to be taken at bar I mentioned time it took to get served I was then insulted so took my business elsewere they should try getting staff without an attitude

Date visited: 13/11/2010

Review by Jean Reeve on 8th July, 2010

Add your review
We visited the Castle Inn again this year to find it every bit as good as we remembered from our previous visit. The home cooked food was excellent and the new dining area very comfortable. It was very friendly and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Inn.

Date visited: 1st July 2010

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Books shouldn't be daunting,they should be funny,exciting & wonderful - Roald Dahl
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James Iís Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleportís Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages