It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Angel Inn, Gilling West

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Caroline Foster on 13th September, 2013

Add your review
We stayed at Bakers cottage just down the road from The Angel. Had two excellent evening meals , food superb , hot, fast and plentiful. Vince Emma and the mother in law are lovely friendly people, we were made most welcome. It is so good to find a good old fashioned pub rather than modern chrome and glass establishments. Highly recommended ... a piece of England sadly dying out

Date visited: week ending 14.09.2013

Review by Mr Dixon on 22nd August, 2013

Add your review
What a lovely atmosphere, very welcoming. We were lucky enough to visit on a wednesday evening when local musicians were playing, what a brilliant night !! Food was excellent, freshly cooked and good value. Apparently the Landlord is famous for his Sunday Lunches! Will defiantly visit again soon.

Date visited: 07/08/2013

Review by Andy on 20th August, 2013

Add your review
On a short visit to the area we walked into the Angel as it was advertised as dog friendly. We were made very welcome and the beer was extremely well kept. Although we live 260 miles away, we would certainly come back to this pub whenever we come back to the area again. Highly recommended.

Date visited: 20/08/2013

Review by Helen and Martin (Newcastle) on 11th March, 2013

Add your review
Stayed at Bakers Cottage 2 minutes walk from this fantastic pub. We went for Sunday lunch and it was the best dinner we've ever had, we also went for more meals and the standard of food was excellent. We visited the pub most of the week and the welcome from Vince and Emma made our time their brilliant, Vince is a born comedian (go to the Folk night to see what we mean). The locals were a great bunch and very friendly, if only all local pubs were like this!!!! So if you want great food great company and the friendliest welcome from hosts and locals The Angel Inn is the place to go.

Date visited: 2/3/2013 - 8/3/2013

Review by sally on 26th January, 2013

Add your review
After visting this pub on the 18th of janaury, i feel very disappointed and defalted from my vist. The staff were rude, very unwelcoming, and the food arrived cold. We felt like if we complained they would be hostile towards us, so we left hungry, and thirsty. We ordered our drinks on arrival and were told they would bring them over to us, this pleased us, until they arrived and the glasses were lipstick stained, and dirty. We asked for new glasses, and were told this was what the drinks came in. I'm also glad i never brought my dog, as he wasn't allowed to sit by the table we were eating at, just as well as i wouldnt feed my dog that food. take this as a warning guys and dont go, its over priced, dark, dingy, there's only one toliet and the staff do not make you feel welcome.

Date visited: 18th january 2013

Review by Dave Wright on 7th September, 2012

Add your review
This has got to be the world's friendliest pub. Good beer, warm welcome, totally dog friendly. Come and see Vince and Emma - an experience not to be missed. Thanks Boss and Mrs Boss from Ollie the Dog.

Date visited: Aug/Sep 2012

Review by arbara nicholson on 15th August, 2012

Add your review
Called last year and again this august. Food of excellent quality and good choice of menu. Landlord, wife and mother-in-law very friendly.

Date visited: august 2012

Review by nikki on 5th May, 2012

Add your review
very picturesque and friendly villsge angel inn was very clesn, and made to feel welcome, food was great ,will be going back very soon, could'nt of met a nicer couple than emma and vince.

Date visited: 30/05/12-04/05/12

Review by Tony on 22nd April, 2012

Add your review
Having visited the Angel Inn a number of times it is clear that this is a delightful and welcoming establishment. Vince and his wife Emma and all their staff are a real joy. The food is first class and well recommended not just by myself but by many who have visited. Vince and Emma are not just welcoming but go out of their way to provide their customers with real service. You are not just another customer but a friend. If you havenít called itís well worth a visit.

Date visited: 22nd April.

Review by Colin Cowell on 10th April, 2012

Add your review
We called in for a drink on Bank Holiday Sunday to check out the menu For the Monday Vince told us they were closed We told him we had family visiting us in our rental cottage and he offered to open for us We arrived with family and 3 month old baby to be met by a barmaid who was expecting us she took our orders and when the food arrived insisted on looking after the baby who had woken up so we could have our meal without interruption The food was excellent The service was fantastic The welcoming atmosphere was the best The best pub I have been in for years

Date visited: 7/4/12-10/4/12

Review by sian walker on 8th April, 2012

Add your review
My Mother and I visited the Angel for Sunday lunch and were very impressed by the high quality of the food and the portion size, certainly value for money. The landlord and his wife were very friendly and told us all about the history of the pub which was fascinating. We were also shown the beer garden which was so pretty with a stream running at the bottom of it. We will certainly be returning, well done!

Date visited: 8th April 2012

Review by whateleys on 27th July, 2011

Add your review
hi chaps we would love to share our views on how the angel inn in gilling west richmond. had made us so welcome in all aspects ie from service, to food and most of all friendly and warm atmosphere. and value for money the lanlord and staff was amazing try for self you wont be disapointed .

Date visited: 17th july

Review by Dee Royston on 9th June, 2011

Add your review
This was our first visit to the Angel & we were most impressed. It is a clean, cheerful and friendly little pub also bright and airy unlike many other pubs we have visited. We were approached immediately and seated at a round table with crisp white linen cloth & green serviettes. Drinks were served and our orders taken, with the landlord then enquiring as to how we would prefer our seafood paella - ie spicy, medium or hot. 3 of out party had the paella which was certainly a good sized portion, and the 4th, had gammon with pineapple ring, onion rings, mushrooms, tomatoes, chips etc - again a large serving (possibly a half size portion might be worth their offering as we had no space for pudding!!) The landlady & landlord (charming couple) made us most welcome and assisted with table arrangements for our one disabled diner who was in a wheel chair. We can certain recommend this pub and will be visiting again.

Date visited: 07.06.2011

Review by Geoff on 30th May, 2011

Add your review
Lovely friendly pub. Good food and excellent service. The "Black Sheep" bitter was also very good. Would visit again if in the area.

Date visited: 21/05/2011

Review by Jane on 9th April, 2011

Add your review
Read reviews and thought why not give it a go as I was in the area. What a disappointment. I didn't find the staff or food to be of the quality I had expected. Didn't experience the warmth and homeliness of the pub. Maybe they were having an off day. Not sure whether I'd give it another go.

Date visited: 2nd April 2011

Review by rob robinson on 21st February, 2011

Add your review
Having visited the Angel Inn several times in the past, I can without doubt say the present Landlord and his wife have really elevated the pubs character, good food and beers, in hospitable surrounds are a welcoming attraction of the Angel Inn. With quality live entertainment on a weekly basis the pub is becoming a favourite of mine.

Date visited: 19 Feb 2011

Review by Tony Jenkins on 20th January, 2011

Add your review
Had a great night, beer is really good, people are friendly and they had a one man band (Roger Coates) playing who was out of this world.I will be going there again on my next trip oop North!

Date visited: 18 September 2010

Review by Diane Whibley on 5th August, 2010

Add your review
Weve now been open for 6 months and we have built up a good reputation with locals and holiday makers . After 5 months of rennovation we feel we have succeeded in bringing the pub standard back to somewhere everyone can enjoy a pleasant drink. We serve food daily and have live entertainment on saturday evenings. Our beer garden is child friendly and we also welcome dogs .

Date visited: august 2010

Review by Richard on 12th June, 2010

Add your review
Friday nite, Great night good beer, good compant and the locals seem friendly! :-) Give it a try when you are passing, well worth a visit.

Date visited: June11 2010

Review by Glyn Whibley on 16th December, 2009

Add your review
After having the pub closed for the past few months for renovation and a well needed freshen up, we will be re-opening The Angel Inn in the New Year. As we own the pub and will be running it ourselves, we can assure all that it will be certain to please!! Look forward to seeing you all in the coming months... Rob, Diane & Glyn

Date visited: 16th December 2009

Review by Ann Weatherb y on 21st November, 2008

Add your review
First day that it was opened under new management - Maureen and Michelle. Fancy dress, free buffet lots of people there all enjoying themselves. People from where they came from - Northumberland (supporting them on their first night) locals and people on holiday - all made to feel welcome. Even though I am a bit biased (my sister's pub) - everyone will be made to feel welcome! It's well worth a visit!

Date visited: 31/10/08

Review by Jess on 24th June, 2008

Add your review
Had a lovely time here, excellent food and good company. Locals made us feel very welcome. Beautiful views and scenery esp with the river running along side. Well worth a visit.

Date visited: 30th May 08

Review by Alan McDonald on 28th January, 2008

Add your review
Found the bar staff very grumpy and not at all welcoming. Real shame as it is a lovely looking pub with real potential.

Date visited: Oct 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Ours is an excessively conscious age. We know so much, we feel so little. - D H Lawrence
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James Iís Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleportís Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages