Kings

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Kings Arms Hotel, Berwick-upon-Tweed

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Michael on 2nd September, 2010

Add your review
Good Points: Staff, location, size of room Bad Points: small things - broken light bulb, no toilet paper, mould around bath General review: Fine - would recommend

Date visited: 2010-09-02

Review by Anonymous on 2nd February, 2010

Add your review
Good Points: Nice small town hotel; good value for money; friendly, helpful and efficient staff; good facilities Bad Points: Bed was poor -- far too soft and sagging in the middle -- poor night's sleep as a result

Date visited: 2010-02-02

Review by Anonymous on 30th August, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Nice room,breakfast excellent Bad Points: Overpriced for the location

Date visited: 2009-08-30

Review by David on 14th November, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Friendly staff, good location, pleasant room Bad Points: Expensive restaurant, no free parking General review: Good and I will stay again

Date visited: 2008-11-14

Review by Simon on 7th September, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Interesting building and history Bad Points: Decor old and needs updating - walls in bedroom dirty, Old Television with only four channels not even Channel 5 NOT up to todays standards for the price of £86.00 per night - so expensive for what was provided

Date visited: 2008-09-07

Review by Garry on 16th June, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Situated in town centre. Bad Points: Cleanliness of room, chewing gum on ceiling and lumpy bed with springs that needed replacing in the mattress General review: First impressions were good with newly refurbished lobby, bar and restaurant areas. Rooms need updating, a bit pricey for the facilities. No hotel car parking, on street only.

Date visited: 2008-06-16

Review by Anonymous on 4th November, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: Pleasant staff, good food, nice lounge/restaurant Bad Points: creaky, uneven floorboards everywhere, particularly bad in bedroom, old sagging mattress, no parking General review: This was a reasonable stay but not excellent. The food was good and the lounge/restaurant were of a good standard. The service was good and staff friendly. The building is very old and although some parts have been refurbished, the noise that the floors made was unbelievable. We found ourselves trying to tip toe around the room to avoid making such a racket. We also had somewhat of a sleepless night due to the poor quality and old (roll together) bed. Unfortunately we also found Berwick a little uninteresting.

Date visited: 2007-11-04

Review by Mr & Mrs Kirby on 19th February, 2007

Add your review
Booked in for a romantic valentine's weekend and now wish we hadn't bothered!!! Service terrible; 1st room not worth the money we were paying, 2nd room far better; starter was lovely, main meal was edible and dessert was still frozen. In all a disastrous day...left and booked into a local low budget room that was far nicer than this place.

Date visited: Saturday 17th February

Review by Mike on 19th February, 2007

Add your review
Reason for stay Romantic Night Away. one night 170 1.Waited at Reception for 10 minutes until someone was available. 2. Name & Address wrong on check in paperwork. 3. First room offered was very small and decor from the 70's and i think the dust was also from this era. 4. Ask for a pint of fosters at the bar to be told it was off then i asked for a pint of stella to also be told it was off to then be given a pint of fosters that they managed to squeeze out. 5. My wife tried to make conversation with bar staff oops silly me the bar staff are also reception staff and waiting staff but got ignored. 6. Good news this time, when we complained to the reception/bar/waiting staff about the room and got moved to a bigger room slightly better this time but still a bit out of date. 7. we a booked meal for 8pm but unable to be seated until 8:45pm until the other function had cleared no apology for the delay. 8. Had to order 3 different wines from the wine list until they had one In stock. 9. Good News the starters came and well presented and tasted great. (tick in the box for this) 10. Main course, sorry folks Steak nice but my wifes chicken breast was reformed chicken (chicken roll) 11. No sweet for me but my wife fancied a berry cheesecake but the berries on the top were frozen solid. 12. complained to the waitress and ask to see the manager but told he was busy and then changed to he does not want to speak to you. 13. I went to reception to find the manager as he was not able to spend any time speaking to his customers. I was met by a very cold and un helpful gentleman who hides behind his staff and shouted just give them a refund. At that point two other couples needed to complain as there rooms/meals were not upto standard. 14. Good News we gathered our bags and left to go to a great Travellodge who helped us with all our requirements and the room was of a far superior standard. We do not normally complain but i think the above was an unacceptable way to treat any customer. I can not think of one reason why anyone would like to stay in this hotel. Sorry maybe Basil Fawlty. Thank you Mr Currie (Manager/Owner) for spoiling our romantic night away.

Date visited: Feb 2007

Review by Anonymous on 25th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Room - OK, bathroom - good. Restaurant service very pleasant and responsive. Bad Points: Food in restaurant - particularly evening meal; of poor standard and not reflective of what was on the menu. Overall - for the cost of a poor meal. General Review: No comments to make other than the above; food quality (main course particularly) let you down.

Date visited: 2006-08-25

Review by clive, Macclesfield on 7th June, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Location. Nice room and building in general. Bad Points: There did not appear to be any other people staying.

Date visited: 2006-06-07

Review by Anonymous on 13th April, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Comfortable room, extra facilities such as armchairs; large size with double bed though I had booked single room. Bad Points: Nothing, apart from no private parking - paid parking only. General Review: Hotel was comfortable and warm for cold weather. Attractive restaurant and good food.

Date visited: 2006-04-13

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Failures are finger posts on the road to achievement. - C S Lewis
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Edgecote - 1469, The First Public Railway Opens - 1803, First Asian MP Elected - 1892
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages