It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Sawley Arms, Sawley

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Jenny Siddall on 26th April, 2009

Add your review
We had a family celebration here, on a warm spring evening. Everyone had a great time and we all enjoyed our food. Unlike many pubs serving fastfood, the freshly prepared and varied menu had a creative flair. The open fire was very welcoming - thanks for a lovely evening, Nicky and Robin!

Date visited: 11th April 2009

Review by Jonathon Pierce on 27th January, 2009

Add your review
I am quite suprised reading some on the reviews this site,I visited the sawley arms 4 times throughout dec/jan as i was staying nearby.I noticed that there was children in the restraunt so maybe they have changed their rules.The food on the otherhand was excellent.They had a broad choice of dishes and on each occaision i had some freshly made soup,that came with homemade red onion and sage bread which was out of this world.I would reccomend this restraunt to anyone wanting a snack or a full meal.Thanks

Date visited: 13th jan 2009

Review by Susan Hogg on 27th November, 2008

Add your review
I was surprised to see a review posted by Robin Jaques as I understand he is the son of the proprietor.Is his review impartial one wonders?

Review by robin jaques on 2nd August, 2008

Add your review
what a wonderful experience,to find such a place, we went for a family party last night and every one of us cant stop talking about the excelent food the friendly welcome and the overall quality of our evening,the staff made us very welcome and we were made to feel at home straight away,we sat in the cosy bar area to choose from the extensive menu,being a party of 8 we decided to try a little bit of everything,we were not let down we were brought some lovely warm homemade bread whilst we were waiting for our food to be prepared,all of us tried a little of each others food not one of us could find a fault,this is obviously somewhere to be given some awards,we have dined out in some of the best restaurants all over the country,this one surpasses them all, the whole experience is worth the short drive out from harrogate,we are planning our next visit already,mouths watering!

Date visited: 1st august 2008

Review by Heather Lewington on 25th July, 2008

Add your review
I am afraid to say I was met with anything but a generous welcome when, on a quiet weekday lunchtime I asked whether it would ok to bring in a sleeping, 8-week old baby. I was told no, not in thirty years and not about to start now. The brusqueness of the retort left me hurt and embarrassed and I shall certainly not be returning there, nor recommending it to my friends.

Date visited: 22nd July 2008

Review by Mary Goldsworthy on 8th July, 2008

Add your review
We were on our way to show some visitors to Yorkshire the most wonderful Fountains Abbey and decided to stop off for a snack on our way. We ordered their sandwiches on wholemeal bread. We decided to sit out in the lovely garden, but, although we thoroughly enjoyed the ambience, we were very disappointed in the quality of the sandwiches. From the cost we were expecting some lovely country bread with high quality ingredients. We ended up with one round of supermarket wholemeal bread with a reasonable quality of food. We were very disappointed and will not be returning.

Date visited: 4 July 2008

Review by Claudio Peral on 5th May, 2008

Add your review
We have visited Sawley Arms a number of times and it remains a treat for special occasions. We visited yesterday for Sunday Lunch and we were not disappointed. As a means of un-winding after a busy week, we particularly favour the grown up atmosphere provided by the Sawley Arms. Donít get me wrong, there are times when you are in the mood for some music and more raucous atmosphere, yesterday however was a day for relaxing and that is why we chose Sawley. We felt very welcome and were given the opportunity to relax with a menu before being shown to our table- it was busy but we were given the impression that we had all the time in the world to choose and deliberate over the tasty menu. The food was delicious as we had expected. Bread was provided to nibble on whilst we awaited our starters and was a lovely touch- we enquired afterwards and were not surprised to find that it is home made on site. Our roast dinners were faultless as we had hoped and the service was fantastic- professional and attentive whilst allowing us to enjoy a private meal for two without interruptions. I suppose that our favourite part of the experience would have to be the meringue swan with strawberries for dessert, it was almost a shame to eat as it was so good to look at, suffice to say we did eat it and it was very good! Will definitely be back.

Date visited: 4th May 2008

Review by Tim Harper on 2nd May, 2008

Add your review
The Sawley Arms used to be famed for good food so we were a little surprised to turn up at 12:30 and find an almost empty car park and only one couple inside eating. That should have set the warning bells ringing, and the signs by the entrance forbidding children, dogs, muddy boots etc hardly made for a welcoming atmosphere. The choice of beers and wine is limited to nitrokegs and screw tops and the menu had the look of having been put together from the ready pub meals of the local cut price cash and carry. The scampi and chips was perhaps some of the worst I have ever experienced, tasteless with no texture (possibly reconstituted) and served with a bowl of obviously frozen chips, the ubiquitous bow of peas and a rather mean sliver of lemon that looked to have been fished out from the bar rather than the kitchen. At 1 pounds a head we had expected better than motorway service station food. It;s a shame but we won;t be back.

Date visited: 2nd May 2008

Review by Dr. Robert Burket on 14th February, 2008

Add your review
We have eaten at Sawley Arms on a regular bases since 2002. We have always enjoyed the delicious meals, wonderful atmosphere and the service has been next to none. But tonight we booked a table for 2 at 1900. This was a special night for my wife of 39 years and myself. When it was time for us to be seated that sat us at a very small table. It was not a proper eating table, but more like a decorater table. I was very embarrassed for my wife. I had decided to speak to the proprieter, but decided not too. We will not be going back to Sawley Arms nor will we will ever refer the Sawley Arms to any one else. We have in the past, but no more. It makes my wife very sad that we won't be going back.

Date visited: 14-02-08

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
The greatest man is he who forms the taste of a nation; the next greatest is he who corrupts it. - Joshua Reynolds
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James Iís Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleportís Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages