It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Horseshoe Inn, Levisham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Kel on 6th June, 2012

Add your review
We like to go to this pub at lunchtime - quite often! It is a 45 minute drive from where we live, but my gosh, it is worth it. It is in beautiful walking country, but in a super village easily accessible by car off the Pickering-Whitby road, and so its lunchtime clientèle include walkers, mountain bikers, families,retired folk, tourists and locals. The pub is wonderfully welcoming and cosy, with a roaring fire on cold days. Charlie the landlord is there to greet you, as are his lovely friendly staff. There is a superb range of local beers, wines and spirits to chooses from alongside softer offerings. And there is the food. Nothing but good quality delicious food - believe me, we have tried it. Many times. If you like steak, the steaks are without doubt the best I have ever tasted, cooked to perfection! No hyperbole here - I mean it. The chef and his team are excellent, and serve up food for the most discerning palates - the hungriest ones as well! With the best food, the best to drink, the friendliest and very efficient staff and the most welcoming atmosphere, this place is some sort of heaven for us - an oasis that we keep coming back to, time and time again. No, we are not relatives, we don't get discounts, we just believe in giving credit where it is due. In a sea of mediocrity, the Horseshoe Inn is a shining star!

Date visited: numerous times

Review by Tammy Atkinson on 25th January, 2008

Add your review
*Important announcement* The Horseshoe Inn is under new ownership. The new owners Charles and Toby Wood, who also own The Fox and Rabbit Inn at Lockton, would like to announce that the Inn will open early February. To see a review of The Fox and Rabbit Inn click here or follow this link: http://www.information-britain.co.uk/reviews.php?place=40321

Review by Dennis on 24th December, 2007

Add your review
The pub is closed. Apparently it has been sold. The rumour is that it will re-open and revert to being a village pub serving meals. My wish is that they sell Black Sheep beer and re-open their caravan/campsite. Watch this space!

Date visited: 24.12.2007

Review by Jan on 31st August, 2007

Add your review
We arrived at approx.6.15pm and I stayed in the car while my husband went to ask if they were serving food at that time. He returned to say they were. We went to the bar and, as there was a notice saying that they didn't accept cards, queried whether they would take a cheque as we were wanting a meal. The barman told us that they did and dutifully gave us our drinks which he agreed to put on the bill with the food. All of the tables that we could see had reserved signs on them, although only a few people were in the other side of the restaurant. We asked the barman where we could sit and he directed us to a table for 2 which did not display a reserved notice. We went to the table and sat down. The barman then came from behind the bar and directed us to the blackboard menu on the wall. We walked across to the menu and while we were making our choice another couple entered saying that they were looking for a meal. Originally they were told that they could not be accommodated, but after a short discussion it was agreed that they would be served. Having made our choice of meal we went to the bar to order, to be told by the barman to sit down and that he would take our order in a few minutes. Dutifully he arrived, to tell us that the chef had told him that he was not taking any more orders. At this stage the restaurant was virtually empty, only a family were in the other half of the restaurant who were already eating, and the couple that had followed us in, who were going to be served. We went to the bar to query this and suggest that a mention of booking was put on the board on the main road which was a mile and a half away. A lady who had appeared behind the bar, and who we presume was the landlady, would not listen and walked away telling us, ' What do you expect. It's Friday night and any decent establishment you would have to book.' Needless to say we left our drinks on the bar and walked out. Obviously from our experience and reviews made here so far, this is one establishment to be avoided which is a pity because it is in a beautiful village.

Date visited: 31st August 2007

Review by Reg Warren on 1st June, 2007

Add your review
This is a pub trying to be a restaurant and run for the convenience of the staff. We arrived at 20.15, had a reasonable meal but served with no breaks and in a rush and were told at 21.15 that we had to order the sweets immediately as the staff were about ot eat. We paid and left the empty diner and we did the door was slammed behind us at 21.30. Goodnight Basil.

Date visited: 25th May 2007

Review by garry on 29th May, 2006

Add your review
arrived at this pub at 1.30 pm on a sunday dinnertime after walking on the moors for five hours we were looking forward to a nice pint of beer. the bar was busy and one member of staff was working the bar, i say working, i could have served the whole pub while she mixed a lager shandy. there were seven other members of staff serving food. i think the beer drinkers were sacrificed for the sake of the eaters. i voted with my feet and would never darken this doorstep again..

Date visited: 28/05/2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Each generation imagines itself to be more intelligent than the one that went before it, and wiser than the one that comes after it - George Orwell
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James I’s Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleport’s Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages