It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Royal Oak Inn, Nunnington

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Stephanie Taylor on 24th September, 2010

Add your review
Sunday Tea at the Royal Oak is to die for! Fabulous value, fabulous flavours and the best in home baking. We have not dined here because we are not locals but we will do at some point because the menu looks fabulous. A trip to Nunnington Hall is not complete without Sunday Tea at the Royal Oak. I am loathed to recommend this in case it becomes uber popular, but it is so worth a visit.

Date visited: July/Sept 2010

Review by Kathy on 4th August, 2010

Add your review
We had a great Sunday lunch here - it was nice that the full menu was available to choose from as well as the traditional roasts. Lots of lovely puddings to choose from and really good coffee. You should book a table as its obviously very popular and we were lucky to get a table as we were willing to wait for a bit until one was free.

Date visited: 1 August 2010

Review by Andrea Bradley on 25th July, 2010

Add your review
My husband and I together with our friend Elaine went to the Royal Oak for lunch today, it was the best meal any of us have had for a long, long time in a pub. Everything tasted of what it should, just the right amount of food and we could not fault it in any way. We all eat out regularly and will most certainly recommmend this pub to all our friends, a hidden gem, WELL DONE!

Date visited: 25.7.2010

Review by Lesley on 3rd April, 2009

Add your review
Fantastic 'real country' pub, very welcoming, good food, had 4 generations of our family with us and everyone enjoyed it

Date visited: 29 March 09

Review by Jane Bedingham on 23rd February, 2009

Add your review
I was extremely disappointed with our visit to this pub yesterday. We went for a family get together, which is something we do not do very often, so we were all very much looking forward to it. We took our 5 month old daughter with us and chose this particular eatery as it advertises as a 'family friendly' pub. The only reason they can call themselves this is because they have a high chair! We arrived there and decided as our baby was wanting a sleep we would take her in her pushchair. However, our table was behind a beam so there was no way of getting this around and none of the other customer's in the restaurant seemed to want to accommodate us in any way by allowing us to get around their tables. So, we put baby in the highchair and decided to put the pushchair back into the car. At first glance of the menu the food seemed nice, some different meals on the menu, which are always refreshing. I started with celery soup and roll which was lovely (4.50), followed by steak and kidney casserole (10.95), and a fruit crumble for dessert (5.50). During our starter, baby began to get a little agitated as she needed a sleep so began to cry a little, as the pub is the kind of place which has no background noise or music, (so you only dare speak in hushed voices) everyone began to stare, one man in particular (who was sat behind my husband opposite) even made a rude comment about her crying! Surely if this is a family friendly pub, a baby crying for a few minutes should not get this kind of reaction from the locals?? He had 2 boys with him himself - did his children never cry as babies?? This made me angry and as a result decided to take baby outside until we had both calmed down. Once inside we began our main courses, my choice being steak and kidney casserole @ 10.95. This was a disappointment as it was basically a plate of gravy with a few pieces of dry beef in the middle - where was the kidney? However it did come with a large dumpling and two Yorkshire puds, which were nice and gave me something to mop up the gravy with. On the side came vegetables and potatoes also which I cannot complain about. My dessert choice was a winner as the custard tasted like a dream, however the custard to crumble ratio seemed to lean towards the custard side way too much. Following the meal, baby needed a change and with there being no baby changing facilities, not even a surface to put my mat down on, I had to change her on the back seat of my car, which in February was not pleasant for her! Next came the bill which we decided to split equally between all 8 of us and resulted in us paying 21.50 a head. This seemed rather steep considering the whole dining experience was rather unpleasant and the food was very average! If you are thinking of taking a baby or a small child to this restaurant I would strongly recommend that you don't, for all the reasons above. This pub should not try to attract families as they are quite obviously not set up for it!

Date visited: 22/2/09

Review by Shereen on 5th July, 2005

Add your review
Very welcoming atmosphere. Good red wine. Excellent menu choice. Prices are not the cheapest however it was excellent value for money. I had stilton mushrooms for starters which was a fantastic savoury dish to get the taste buds on overdrive. For main course I had chicken breast in a cheesy mustard sauce, the chicken was so succulent, and the flavours were amazingly well balanced, I couldn't not enjoy it!! (The steak pie was great too!!) I had a truly fantastic evening by candlelight in a very relaxed and non-smokey (you can smoke but people weren't) country pub environment. I heartily reccommend you make a visit if you appreciate good food.

Date visited: 1st July 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Honest people don't hide their deeds. - Emily Bronte
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Nechtansmere - 0685, Major Earthquake Damages Canterbury Cathedral - 1382, Treaty of Troyes - 1420, Cooper Floors Ali - 1966, Cutty Sark Ablaze - 2007
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages