It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Fountaine Inn, Linton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Chris Downing on 5th October, 2009

Add your review
Had heard a lot of good things about this pub. Was very disappointed! The pub itself has a good atmosphere. The food was at best below average, I've never seen such a flat fish and although the chips were home made they certainly weren't freshly made!! Will not be going back for a meal. The Angel at Hetton is the best restaurant in the area by a mile!! We are going to stay in Grassington in a fortnight but will only be visiting the Angel!!

Date visited: 3/10/09

Review by J H WRIGHT on 26th August, 2009

Add your review
Having a second home nearby we have been regular visitors to the Fountaine for over 20 years and have seen many changes of ownership-some good some not so good.The present regime has been in situ since there was an attempt to create a "gastropub"and it appears more successful than ever.The food is good but by no means as good as the nearby Angel at Hetton.The beer is usually well kept but sadly no longer Black Sheep.Our principal gripe is the frequent presence of customers indisciplined small children even at the bar which we believe is against the law.However as the only pub within short walking distance from our home we will continue to patronise it.

Date visited: over 100 times in recent years

Review by h boughey on 24th August, 2009

Add your review
what a fantastic pub. where have they all gone . we have been here several times and every time it has been great. good food great atmosphere and a beautiful location .who could ask for more

Date visited: 23 aug 2009

Review by Walter Boyes on 17th April, 2008

Add your review
Myself and my family (10 in total)had the pleasure of stumbling across this fantastic pub. The welcome was warm a roaring fire, the staff although young were bright and buzzy. My lamb shoulder was hugh and so tasty it came with the most fabulous choice of vegetables. All of our party were over joyed with the food and service, we will return and we will tell all our friends!! 1st class and keep up the good work in what is a touch trade!!

Date visited: 4th April 2008

Review by j stephenson on 7th October, 2007

Add your review
Visited your lovely restaurant last night for dinner. The food was fabulous, great presentation, great taste. However, the front of house service is lacking good training. We were not offerd the wine list, had the bottle of house wine plonked in front of us, were given our coffee 10 mins before we got our dessert. no one asked if we had enjoyed or meal etc.

Date visited: 6/10/07

Review by Jan McWilliam on 9th October, 2005

Add your review
We had one of the best meals ever here. A lovely setting. The food was first class - could not fault it. Will return regularly.

Date visited: 17 Sept 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
All great truths begin as blasphemies. - George Bernard Shaw
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James Iís Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleportís Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages