It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Blacksmiths Arms, Lastingham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Wendy & Louise on 3rd September, 2008

Add your review
The accommodation is excellent! Our rooms were very comfortable and tastefully furnished with many thoughtful, extra features which made each of them a sitting-room that one could relax in. The dining-room provided superbly cooked good food with unfussy, efficient and friendly service. Moreover, the tariff is very reasonable. We will certainly return to the Blacksmith's next time we fancy relaxing and being well looked after and well-fed in North Yorkshire.

Date visited: 1st September, 2008

Review by Linda G on 11th August, 2008

Add your review
I first visited this wonderful establishment several years ago, so now whenever I visit the North, always try to make a point of going for a superb meal and a warm welcome at the Blacksmith and a lovely walk afterwards.

Date visited: as often as possible

Review by Jill Hiatt on 31st October, 2007

Add your review
By far the best pub we know; excellent food, very friendly staff, always sure of a welcome, great beers, what more can we want?

Date visited: frequently!

Review by John Northall on 6th July, 2007

Add your review
We very much enjoyed a lunch & evening meal in the dining room. The beef pie, salmon in sauce & roast beef were all good & each came with different vegetables..all hot and fresh. The pea & ham soup is quite filling, especially the lunch portion which is larger. Varied guest beers, friendly staff & prices all make this an excellent place!

Date visited: 26th/29th June 2007

Review by Rachel & Jake Cable on 28th September, 2006

Add your review
The food was extremely good and the welcome warm. The pub has a charming atmosphere and the landlord and landlady are very friendly. Pub was recommended by Ann & Colin from the Old Smithy/Anns Cottage in Rosedale! Worth a visit.

Date visited: 20.9.06

Review by Alvan Ikoku on 26th June, 2006

Add your review
Without doubt the best Public House we have stayed in. The Rooms were very well appointed having every necessary comfort. The food was truely excellent better than many a 'stared' hotel. The location is again excellent, with many fine walks, litrally on the door step. The only changes I would make are two: Bigger 'bath' towels and sound proofing the floors above the bar, however, a few pints of the guest beers could have the same result! Thank you for a wonderful stay. Alvan (one of the 'Munsie' party).

Date visited: 23rd to 25th june 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Boldness is a mask for fear, however great. - John Dryden
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James Iís Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleportís Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages