It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Horseshoe Hotel, Egton Bridge

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by MR & MRS HODGKINS on 24th June, 2013

Add your review
Our 2nd visit to this hotel. Our room was lovely overlooking the river. Beds comfortable. Bathroom & bedroom spotless. What can I say about the food - absolutely delicious. Large portions of flavoursome food. A varied menu. Good service and plenty of smiling faces. The staff were attentive and helpful. Breakfast was very good with a selection of cereals and FULL ENGLISH!! Customers in the bar varying from locals, walkers and people just wanting a good meal. Good atmosphere. We will definitely be returning in the not too distant future.

Date visited: 19-24 June 2013

Review by MR & MRS MIDGLEY on 17th June, 2012

Add your review
What a find. Lovely traditional hostelry, in a very pretty setting. Stayed here overnight after partaking in a murder mystery evening aboard the North Yorks Moors dining train. Just a short taxi ride from Grosmont station, we were made very welcome by our hosts. The room was warm and comfortable with a lovely river view. We were served an excellent breakfast the next morning, and found everyone very pleasant and helpful. Will definetely stay here again.

Date visited: 16.06.12

Review by David Liffen on 28th May, 2012

Add your review
My wife and I visited the Horseshoe and had a delicious meal outside in the glorious grounds and sunshine.The staff were really helpful and friendly. I had previously visited the Horseshoe about a year ago with my two daughters,and the food was excellent on that day too.

Date visited: May 23rd 2012

Review by Nev Cole on 15th May, 2012

Add your review
Having visited here many times, food seems to have declined during the last year and the size of the portions too! They used to be very big hearty portions and menu was more choices. Perhaps the place has been taken over? Altogether still good but not what i have been used to. Beer worth a mention though very good .

Date visited: April 2012

Review by Holly on 11th November, 2011

Add your review
After working at the Horseshoe hotel for four years I feel the negative comments on this website are wholeheartedly ridiculous. In reply to Chloe's complaint, the owners of the hotel had been there over 4 years when you came to stay on the weekend of the annual beer festival. The live music was enjoyed by all staying at the hotel that evening apart from yourselves as was the steak pie and fish pie!! As for bad service I'm sure if you had approached the situation differently and asked to speak to an appropriate member of staff at the time we could have come to an arrangement that would have suited everyone! Alison and Paul have put a great deal of time and effort into the hotel and thankfully it has been appreciated by most.

Review by Chloe on 13th September, 2011

Add your review
absolutely spoilt our stay with loud and intrusive music!! food was sub standard and service was appalling. will not be staying there again, spoilt our coast to coast walk. Situation and gardens area of pub are lovely but service is not what you would expect!!

Date visited: july 2011

Review by Matt & Vikki Wharton on 4th February, 2011

Add your review
The bad review really does amaze me!! For the past 12 years we have been staying at this place on average about 4 times a year (sometimes more), both for the fantastic walking and when we are working in the area. Since 2007 Alison & Paul the fantastic hosts have made many improvements to the pub. The service is second to none and the food some of the best you will get at any pub/restaurant in the country!! We would certainly recommend anyone to stay here in the beautiful bedrooms (oh and fantastic breakfasts). The real ale selection is superb and really you cannot ask for the wrong thing. An absolute gem!! Alison & Paul, hope to see you again soon and for many years to come!!

Date visited: 11th October 2010

Review by Pam Whitehead on 3rd January, 2009

Add your review
My husband and I wholeheartedly enjoyed Alison and Pauls Festive menu and am shocked by the previous review. We have always been made to feel exeptionally welcome and the food has always been excellent. Keep up the good work!

Date visited: 23rd Dec 2008

Review by Lyndsay Thomas on 2nd January, 2009

Add your review
For the second year in a row the festive food at The Horseshoe Hotel was fabulous, and value for money. Alison and Paul are great hosts and we are always welcomed. We'll be back next year!

Date visited: 25th Dec

Review by andy richter on 25th December, 2008

Add your review
We'd booked in advance for the festsive menu. The beef was tough, the brussels hammered, gravy like water and the yorkshire pudding was like uncooked dough. Very disappointing and a poor start to our Chrismas Told the owner - no response I'd be amazed if this feedback appears on this website!

Date visited: 24 December 2008

Review by Will on 2nd September, 2008

Add your review
We had a light lunch here after a walk in the area. Really enjoyed it. The garden was lovely, the beer well kept and the ploughman's lunch was phenomenal - although be warned, it was meant to be a light lunch and I could have shared it with my wife and still been full!

Date visited: July 2008

Review by Bob Hurley on 9th December, 2007

Add your review
A group of friends we spent the weekend exploring the area. The landlady and landlord were great hosts. We ate well and the real ales available were a great pleasure. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a real "Country Pub" in the area

Date visited: 19th to 21st October 2007

Review by Lisa Hadland on 12th September, 2007

Add your review
I cannot believe the other review on this pub! I have been a regular visitor to the Horseshoe on my visits to Whitby and ALWAYS make a special journey to Egton Bridge for my Saturday evening meal. My husband and I last visited on 31 August and found the same service and quality of food as always – Excellent. The staff are friendly and hospitable. I have been to this pub for a meal 6 times.

Date visited: 31 August 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Be thine own palace, or the world's thy jail. - John Donne
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James I’s Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleport’s Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages