It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Malt Shovel Inn, Brearton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Gaynor A on 4th October, 2009

Add your review
I couldn't disagree more with the previous poor review (but then people who are vegetarian can not be classed as discerning when it comes to food). I dragged my other-half, kicking and screaming, to the Malt Shovel last night (he wanted a curry instead you see). However, even he agreed we had a tremendous evening. It is hard to describe the Malt Shovel as it is more than a hostelry serving good food; it is a total experience. For example, we were treated to the odd tinkle on the piano by Anna as well as a bit of opera. Jurg, the chef, came and chatted to the diners after he had finished in the kitchen and Jane, his wife, was most knowledgeable and enthusiatic about the wine list, which is superb. As for the food, it is a very simple menu featuring many classic and homely dishes; it is not traditional pub grub but more 'fine dining' with a seafood orientation. Pleasingly, there was nothing served in a foam and no mention of jus anywhere on the menu! Instead, just simple dishes made from the freshest ingredients and all home-made.

Date visited: 3 October 2009

Review by emma on 15th June, 2009

Add your review
we had high hopes for this place on entering. sadly, the visit was a disappointing one with substandard, overpriced food and haphazard service. probably ok if you like reasonably cooked meat. absolutely avoid if you don't. with a fairly bogstandard roast coming in at £14 and soft drinks at around £3 a pop,they were amazingly unembarrassed to serve a yorkshire pudding, two - no more - roast new potatoes, 4 roast carrot batons and 3 parsnip batons as a non meat main course. the vegetarian choice (singular) was an uninspired mild aubergine curry or a range of starters with cheese. Maybe we should be grateful it wasn't that stock veggie favourite of poor restaurants stuck in the 1980's, the soggy vegetable lasagne but as experiences go, the Malt Shovel was pretty much there. When we complained, we were told that we just had to tell them what dish we wanted and they could have prepared it. I would have preferred to see that spirit on the menu or even the plate.

Date visited: 14/06/09

Review by Brian on 14th August, 2008

Add your review
What a lovely place. Very cosy and where you are made to feel welcome. The food is really something special! Not the usual boring pub food, the quality and presentation is second to none. I would recommend making the trip, it is well worth it.

Date visited: 8 August 2008

Review by Laura Marsh on 7th February, 2008

Add your review
What a wonderful evening! The food, atmosphere and service was out of this world. I'd highly recommend this restaurant to anyone! Have the duck!!

Date visited: 19th Jan 2008

Review by satisfied diner on 18th October, 2007

Add your review
This place is off the beaten track but is so worth finding! The food is imaginative and beautifully prepared and the service is always spot-on. Fantastic wines with knowledgeable hosts. Atmospheric and the singing!!! Wow!

Date visited: many times

Review by Geoff Wilkinson on 13th October, 2007

Add your review
Absolutely perfect! One of our best places ever. Our first visit but not our last.

Date visited: 12.10.2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Independence? That's middle class blasphemy. We are all dependent on one another, every soul of us on earth. - George Bernard Shaw
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James Iís Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleportís Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages