It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Crab & Lobster, Asenby

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by s cull on 6th May, 2010

Add your review
My wife & I were extremely disapointed with the food. We thought the food was no more than ordinary and was massively overpriced

Date visited: 05/05/2010

Review by Mark 7085 on 24th October, 2009

Add your review
I have eaten and stayed at the crab and lobster on a few occasions and have never been disappointed. I personally have always found the staff very pleasant and helpful, the hotel has a unique feeling and its like being transported into your own little world, with every room being unique with their own appealing features, especially the rooms outside the manor with their own hot tubs. There Is even a secret beer tap to find with free drinks you can pour yourself. i have never had a bad meal in the restraunt with every need catered for, the price is about right for good quality food but the portions are a good size and always recommend this place to my friends.

Date visited: various upto feb 2009

Review by kevin on 11th February, 2009

Add your review
we went here for our wedding annerversary, what a lovely place the food was superb,also my brother lee and gill got married here,that was a fantastic day all the guests said how much they really enjoyed the day and would be visiting again for a taste of the fine food and wines and loveley surroundings, it just is a great place to have any type of celebration.

Date visited: oct 4th 2009

Review by John on 1st July, 2008

Add your review
We went here for a celebration and have to say the food was just about okay. Fishcakes as a starter were very dry and the fish was virtually non existent. Sea Bass main was very small (with soggy skin, not crispy !). Expensive for what you get.

Date visited: 14 June 2008

Review by Steve on 26th April, 2008

Add your review
I never realised the mark of a truly great restaurant was how many expensive Audis were sitting in the car park, so thanks to Gaynor Allen for that invaluable tip. If on the other hand you are into superb, unpretentious seafood in generous portions, in genuinely unique surroundings with a friendly, warm ambience, get yourself to the Crab & Lobster. The prices are reasonable, and if you're staying over get yourself either a log cabin or Bird Island Lodge - private saunas and outdoor hot-tubs included. I've eaten there several times and never been disappointed, and had my wedding there. Several people said it was the best wedding venue they'd been at, including their own. Still, if its a row of Beamers you've come to look at you may be in for a let down.

Date visited: April 2008

Review by simon f on 2nd July, 2007

Add your review
Nice place but staff not particularly friendly and the food was well overpriced, the wine list being particularly expensive. I have paid twice as much elsewhere and felt as though I have had value for money. We had one course each, 2 bottles of wine and one dessert; the bill came to 130 for 4 of us. You can eat much better elsewhere!

Date visited: 30th June 2007

Review by Gaynor Allen on 4th March, 2007

Add your review
Oh dear. The car park use to be filled with expensive german cars, so i guess the fact the car park was full of older cheap cars was not a good omen. Obviously the discerning diner have taken their business elsewhere. The place is full of ambience, but the food is not quite right. I had seabass which did not taste particularly fresh, and the sauce of roasted red pepper was like something from a Knorr packet soup. I had the assiette of desserts, and I swear one of them was blancmange pretending to be panna cotta. As for the service, it was unorganised and poor. Not as good as it once was basically. It is still very busy but I suspect this is due to it relying on its past reputation. I will not waste my money here again.

Date visited: 16th Jan 07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A State without the means of some change is without the means of its conservation. - Edmund Burke
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Nechtansmere - 0685, Major Earthquake Damages Canterbury Cathedral - 1382, Treaty of Troyes - 1420, Cooper Floors Ali - 1966, Cutty Sark Ablaze - 2007
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages