It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Mussel & Crab, Tuxford

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by kay morris on 20th July, 2010

Add your review
Went with another couple. yep it is a bit pricey. Some things like guiness were silly prices also some expensive wine you would only buy if you had more money than sense. Some customers were pretentious too. we were not seated till really late despite meal was for 9 Seated on a ridiculous bench.Cannot say how stupid a bench. Howevever tapas, two course each starter and main, and coffees were all good. finished really late due to not being seated till late, but not rushed. So overall not a favourite but made a change, might even go back after a drink somewhere else first and booking a real seat!

Date visited: 17th July2010

Review by Maryn Cotterill on 31st January, 2010

Add your review
We arrived at half eight for a table sitting at nine, we were showh to our table at a quarter to ten! The starter arrived at the table at almost ten, after being served the wrong starter inatially. By this time i had already complained to the owner. You pay top prices for food that is distinctly average, as is the presentation. The service is distinctly BELOW average. To top of an terrible dining experiance i was given someone elses coat from the cloak room on leaving.

Date visited: 29/01/2010

Review by Sue Maddock on 8th November, 2009

Add your review
I wish we had read these reviews before traveling 3 hours and booking a hotel especially to go here! We had been passing by and ha a lunch time drink here some time ago, it looks fantastic and we swore that we would return for a meal. It was our anniversary so I thought we would have a treat, book a hotel and travel the 3 hours to the Mussel & Crab. The set up and concept of this restaurant are fantastic, the problem is the execution. My started was good - a potted duo - but my husbands so called king scallops were very disappointing as another reviewer has pointed out. When we ordered our main course - lobster thermadore for my husband and monkfish on mash for myself - I was suprised to be asked if I wanted chips or new potatoes - mine supposedly came with mash, why would I want yet more potatoes! I asked if I could have a salad instead and was told I would have to pay 2.95 for it! My husband decided he wouldn't mind some chips and some new potatoes so we ordered one of each. Neither the monkfish nor the lobster were at all impressive and with mash, chips and new potatoes it felt like the whole meal was just a plate of spuds!! With no dessert and a bill of almost 90 I mentioned my disappointment as we left just to be told "that's the way we do it". I don't care if that's the way they do it, they should listen to some feedback - potatoes and more potatoes just doesn't go! We will not be returning!

Date visited: 6th November 2009

Review by Cliff on 6th March, 2009

Add your review
Visited the mussel and crab as a party of 8 and although initial impressions of the interior were good,I was suprised by the layout of the menu boards which were placed around the bar area you had to stand in the middle and become dizzy while choosing your meal.When we made our choices we were then asked if we would like vegetables with our meal. As we thought that these would be included in the price as with other restaurants we had visited we said yes. We also said yes to the rustic breads that were also offered while we waited for our starters. My starter was whitebait that was rather dry and overcooked. My wife had scallops at a cost of 9 for 4!! each not much bigger than a sugar cube which although were cooked ok they were not the best she had had and wasnt convinced that they were fresh king scallops as suggested. We both thought that the whole meal was average but not the best that we had tasted. But the main shock was the bill. The total cost for 8 people was 273 this included 2 drinks per person. Be warned vegetables and bread are an extra 4.50 each! On ordering desert I asked if I could have icecream with my lemon tart again usually included in the price! But I was charged an extra 3.30 for two small scoops of icecream. We were also charged for two extra drinks that we never had. Luckily we noticed this on the bill and it was taken off for us. I wish to conclude that the mussel and crab is not as good as the prices suggest and ask anyone eating here to be aware of the expense of what I feel was not that enjoyable of a meal.Please once seated do not move you may be charged extra for this !!!

Date visited: Monday March 2nd 2009

Review by polly on 5th December, 2008

Add your review
Really disappointed - food average and expensive, deserts were not made on the premises. The menues were written on boards placed around the pub so to choose you had to stand in the middle of the bar area and walk around reading each board, which were placed very high up. Well we tried it but never again, I'll stick to Cafe Bleu.

Date visited: 4th dec 2008

Review by Geoff Foster on 25th March, 2008

Add your review
We visited the Restaurant for a special occasion and were extremely pleased with every aspect of our dining experience. We were made to feel at home on arrival and every assistance was given before, during and after our meal. The service was excellent and the food wonderful. We highly recommend this place, having visited three times in the last 12 months. Management and staff are to highly commended.

Date visited: 5th March 2008

Review by dawn quincey on 18th March, 2008

Add your review
Visited the Mussel and Crab to celebrate our daughters birthday.When you walk through the doors you know immediately this is no ordinary restaurant, everywhere you look and in every room there are special yet subtle features Had an amazing evening, all staff were friendly and courteous, food was delicious and the wine recommended by the staff was perfect, they obviously know what they are talking about. After reading the reviews we were a little bit wary, especially with regard to the puddings! However, we all had sweets and they were all so nice and all clearly home made. I will certainly visit again - if you want to impress this is the place to go!! Dawn

Date visited: 15 March 2008

Review by linda boult on 1st February, 2008

Add your review
wonderful service, excellent vast menu and lovely starters and mains but sadly very poor puddings we were told when we asked that the puddings were made off site .They tasted factory made and bland such a shame please make your own or next time we will be skiping the puddings

Date visited: 26/01/08

Review by linda boult on 31st January, 2008

Add your review
wonderful service,excellent choice,starters and mains brilliant but the puddings were not made on the premises and were very poor in quality and taste

Date visited: 26/01/08

Review by Bruce Elliott-Bateman on 8th September, 2007

Add your review
I think there should be a right of reply to some of these comments made. Especially Kate's comments is her name really Kate I would not have been in business 10yrs if I was horrible to my staff and customers.

Review by Kate on 28th August, 2007

Add your review
Appalling restaurant, terrible service, the proprietor in particular was especially obnoxious and foul to both staff and customers. The food was very nice, but was unfortunately overshadowed by the generally abysmal service.

Date visited: August 2007

Review by Victoria on 23rd October, 2006

Add your review
We have found the service at this restaurant appalling. We have visited this restaurant on a number of occasions but on New Years Eve 2005 we were over-looked and customers with later bookings were served before us. When we complained we only received a cursory apology. We decided to take this as a one-off, however we returned for our anniversary and exactly the same thing happened again. Despite making a booking and arriving early we were left waiting whilst other customers arrived later and had their orders taken immediately. We complained and were offered a free meal but by this time our opinion of the restaurant was so low we did not want to stay. The food is lovely but the service means we will not be dining there again.

Date visited: 21st Oct 2006

Review by michelle on 15th June, 2006

Add your review
I was recommended this restaurant by a friend and was glad i took them up on it! the food was amazing. i had the mussels to start, which were beautiful, and then the monkfish as a main. i had never tried monkfish before but our friendly waiter suggested it and i thought why not...i was glad i did. like i said our waiter (glen i think) really looked after us and despite it being what seemed a very busy night, he always had a smile on his face when we asked stupid questions. a great night had by all.

Date visited: 03/06/06

Review by Will Darby on 13th March, 2006

Add your review
Very disappointed. We booked a table for 4 in the main restaurant but were seated in the 'cafe' area. After the starter we had to wait 45 minutes for the main course to be served. Obviously this course had been ready for some time as the fish had dried out. Our waiter was abrupt and rude and had obviously had a bad day. Having visited this delightful restaurant before I will not be doing so again.

Date visited: 10/03/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Give him enough rope and he will hang himself. - Charlotte Bronte
More Quotes

On this day:
First English Colonists in North America - 1584, American colonies declare independence - 1776, 1st regular bus service - 1829, Alice in Wonderland Published - 1865, George Michael Crashes into Snappy Snaps - 2010
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages