It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Martin Arms Inn, Colston Bassett

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Dee Callaghan on 4th July, 2010

Add your review
This pub is in a beautiful setting and I spent a very pleasant afternoon with colleagues sitting in the garden. The service, however, was slow in spite of everything having been pre-ordered and the landlord (an Italian) has to be the rudest publican I have ever had the misfortune to encounter. When I arrived at 12 noon to meet up with colleagues I found the front door locked. I saw that someone was working in the garden and asked him when the pub opened. He looked at his watch and said that I could go through the garden into the pub as it was already 12 noon. Once inside and looking to see if my colleagues had already arrived I was told in a very aggressive manner by the landlord to leave as they didn't open until 12. When I said that it was already past 12 and that I'd been told by one of his employees that I could enter the pub, he shouted out to the gardener to shut the gate and not allow anyone in. What a rude man! Definitely a place to avoid. Why should people like this expect to enjoy the patronage of the public when they feel itís OK to be so rude to their customers?

Date visited: 3/07/10

Review by Richard Spendlove, MBE on 8th September, 2008

Add your review
I Have been 'running away' to Colston ever since 1943, when I attended the funeral there of my Great-Grandfather. I Have about seven or eight generations of my family safely lodged in the 'proper' churchyard there. My last visit was 2nd September 2008. I intended to have a meal at the Martins Arms, where I have always, before, been made most welcome. I attempted to drive into the car park at 11.45am (fifteen minutes before it opened, I will grant you) and was prevented from doing so by a man who supervised the reversing out of my car before putting a chain across the entrance. His motives for this are irrelevant, but it did cause me to decide that the establishment had seen the last of my money. I drove to the Lime Kiln (who were just opening) and 45 minutes later you couldn't get a motor car within 300 yards of it! I am not a bit Surprised!

Date visited: 2nd September 2008

Review by Dave Golding on 2nd March, 2008

Add your review
Really odd - fantastic and quite beautiful old place, but after a 30 minute drive out there, discovered that the restauarnt wasn't open..............so had a quick drink in the totally deserted bar. Lovely warm fire and comfortable seats, but beer prices an utter rip-off

Date visited: 17th February 2008

Review by Mike Humphries on 15th November, 2007

Add your review
This was our fifth visit this year, takes 25 minutes by car to get there but is very well worth it. The food is excellent the service good and the staff friendly. Very cosy on a cold day with the fire on, lovely in the garden in summer.

Date visited: 4/11/07

Review by john haskell on 15th November, 2007

Add your review
Very dissapointed, food served luke warm, returned it and it came back reheated but well chard on the outside, not good for lame hock even worse for a blue steak. Eventually the meal was recooked which was acceptable. Accepted the offer of a free pudding but when that arrived the crumble was tepid and the apple cold. Only saving grace was the barman who delt with the problems well. I will certainly be crossing teh Martin Arms off my list.

Date visited: 14/11/07

Review by Paul Desborough on 19th May, 2007

Add your review
Quiet simply the best restaurant in the area. The service is second to none and the standard of food is simply outstanding.

Date visited: 18 May 07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
If we have to have Tories, good luck to her. She is the best man among them - Barbara Castle
More Quotes

On this day:
Churchill Fails in Oldham By-Election - 1899, Beatles release 'All You Need is Love' - 1967, Four terrorists explode bombs on London Transport system - 2005
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages