It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Nags Head, Little Hadham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Yvonne on 28th November, 2010

Add your review
Badly disappointing: Booked Sunday Roast well in advance for 18 of us Waiting staff tried their best, Owners/management rude & dismissive Ran out of three of the four roast meat options before we got to order Natalie & her Husband (Proprietors) said they'd taken 16 "walk -ins" before us & they's run out of other roasts. Basically saying "too bad" that's how it is. In fact the male proprietor said if we don't like it we could go somewhere ese Very rude, poor service, my meat was like shoe leather & to top it all they got the bill wrong by 40....in their favour! The epitome of rude indifference regarding their substandard service & definitely not so great food!

Date visited: 28th Nov 2010

Review by georget on 26th September, 2009

Add your review
I visited the nags head and enjoyed a very good meal. value for money was excellent . the pub was clean and tidy and the staff was helpful and friendly and i cant wait to go back .

Date visited: 27/07/09

Review by David on 16th January, 2009

Add your review
This is my fifth visit to the pub, having been there at other times during the year. I can only say that I have never been disappointed at anytime and having a health interest in food/cooking with first hand experince in 'the food industry', it is of a very high standard. If it fails anywhere it might be that the portions are alittle on the large side, but we would be the first to complain if it was the otherway round! Maybe I have just been lucky. I have been to many an eatery up and down this country that purport to provide good wholesome food at competitive prices and trust me-The Nags Head is a winner. I have seen some of the other reviews and well if you want a chic or pastiche interior in which to consume food,go to a Toby carvery and sit at the end of the production line with everyonelse. Remember this is a traditional local/rural pub and long it remain.The landlord and staff are welcoming and helpful, their a good selection of drinks and foods. The place is always warm, especially in the winter and is clean; it also has the right clientele with a nice outside space. I can add that I have had the displeasure to visit a well known tv chefs restaurant in Somerset in the belief that it would be good traditional cooking, created with local fresh produce (because you think it is in the countryside-via the tv programme) and it was nothing like it. I sent out a search party to find the offering, which was on the small plate and served as haute cuisine(but not by the reknown chef himself-but some unkown) and I had the privilege of settling half the national debt for it from uncomfortable chairs in a cold space. To add insult to injury wanted they 15.0 for a free range chicken at their farm shop! Anyhow, their will always be mishaps in life, so get one and give the pub a break. There are plenty of grubby, cheap and terrible other pubs to go to in the area, serving small plates, warm beer and you can get beaten up on to of the extortionate pricing. The Nags Head is good value, friendly and safe pub to visit any anytime. -Long may it reign!

Date visited: November 2008

Review by Alex Johnson on 18th July, 2008

Add your review
A typical food experience in the UK - huge portions, some vegetables overcooked and soggy, other vegetables undercooked, Yorkshire puddings burnt, and some of the deserts still frozen. The pub exterior is lovely, but the interior is grubby. The waitresses were pleasant enough, but this in no way compensates for the sub-standard food. A few other details to complete the picture - CCTV camera in the bar, Airwick air freshener in the dining room, and many parts of the menu not available (no roast lamb, no veggie sausages, they even ran out of some ice-creams!). This is why continental Europeans laugh at British food.

Date visited: 13/07/2008

Review by donna obertelli on 23rd November, 2007

Add your review
After having a wonderful morning walking around the local area we went to the Nags head for lunch. The atmosphere was jolly with many families, and couples enjoying their meals. We opted for the Sunday lunch choice, a delicious large ( too much for me to finish) traditional sunday lunch, with mineral water then coffee to finish. Everything was fairly priced, except the one litre bottle of water. this cost us 5.95. I believe this is the most expensive mineral water in a pub! on questioning it was explained to us that small bottles cost 1.50 and a litre is about four bottles so in fact we are saving 5p. ( we didn't even finish the water!) So future customers ask for tap water or just get a small bottle.

Date visited: October 2007

Review by Joanne on 12th February, 2007

Add your review
Excellent!! The best meal i've had for a long time. Great meal, excellent service and great value for money. I cant wait to go back. The nags head has really friendy staff and clearly a excellent chef.

Date visited: 11.02.2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Evil is unspectacular and always human, and shares our bed and eats at our own table. - W H Auden
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Falkirk - 1298, King David Hotel Bombing - 1946, Death of Jean Charles de Menezes - 2005
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages