Bricklayers

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Bricklayers Arms, Flaunden

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by nicky wolfe on 1st July, 2008

Add your review
We visited the Brickie again after an absence of a couple of months and were delighted to discover the same amazing food and attentive staff. If anything this place gets better and better. This gastro pub is a must if you havent been before, or even if you have.

Date visited: 28th June 2007

Review by Yvonne Rolfe on 21st October, 2007

Add your review
Having read the awards and write ups about this pub, we couldnt wait to visit and sample the food. On arrival we asked if they were still serving food to be told, you have five minutes and we would have to be quick, in quite an abrupt manner, not a good first impression. Undaunted we sat at a table and ordered - mash potato had a huge lump in it, spinach was unwashed and like eating sand, dauphinoise potato had obviously been microwaved as the cheese was melted and lay in a pool of grease at the bottom of a dish of undercooked and anaemic looking potatoes, deserts arrived and lemon tarte was stale, as was the creme brulee, whilst the chocolate mousse was heavy and sticky, all deserts were quite obviously not home made as expected, the thick slice of star fruit adorning each dish was also a surprise and held no purpose as a garnish? All in all a very disappointing visit and would certainly not bother again - Over 3.50 for an orange and lemonade was also very high -

Date visited: 18/10/07

Review by harold fisher on 27th August, 2006

Add your review
I visited the Bricklayers Arms in Flaunden today and was delighted by the experience. Everything was perfect; the surrounding countryside - ideal for a post lunch walk; the attractive old building; the ambience of the restaurant; but above all the superb food and service by well trained staff. Every dish was beautifully prepared and presented and the tastes were amazing. This pub deserves all the praise heaped on it and I would give it top marks.

Date visited: 27th August 2006

Review by Dale Morgan on 9th October, 2005

Add your review
My second visit to this fabulous old country pub. Had a really good menu. Difficult to choose as the I liked everything on the menu. Scallops were cooked to perfection and the goose was really tender with the chesnut port jus. Finished up with a guinness creme brulee, really good! Very busy. Chef of the year finalist, well I think the French chef deserves it as I was impressed. Had a Pomeral (wine of the week) at 20. The staff were young, professsional and helpfull. Good value and lovely atmosphere. I will be back. Dale Morgan

Date visited: 8/10/05

Review by Neil Saunders on 8th August, 2005

Add your review
I have been here twice. First a couple of months ago with the family. Gorgeous building and the service was fine but we all came away a little disapointed with the food. With an American guest to stay this weekend, I went again, mainly because it was the nearest example of a nice country pub for a Sunday roast I could think of. This time the food was very dispaointing. Roast chicken was served with cold roast potatoes and salad on the same plate, hence salad & gravy! Other dishes were poor too. Real shame as the property itself is lovely.

Date visited: 7/8/5

Review by Marta Eaton on 19th May, 2005

Add your review
Went there for dinner for my Birthday. Great atmosphere, welcoming staff and very good service. The food was fantastic with a very French influence (well, the chef is French after all!). Great portions...so much so that next time I won't have any starter...but that would be a shame too. Every item in the menu sounded fantastic! Great value, great food & great overall experience.

Date visited: 18 May 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I have the body of an eighteen year old. I keep it in the fridge. - Spike Milligan
More Quotes

On this day:
Great Fire of London 1212 - 1212, Nelson Loses Eye - 1794, First Briton Killed in Aircraft Accident - 1910, Debut of the Rolling Stones - 1962
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages