Sword

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Sword in Hand, Westmill

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Nikki forrow on 8th September, 2009

Add your review
interestingly 2 people giving reviews on this pub are personal friends of the landlady!...literally. we ventured there again tonight, the toilets were dirty one didn't even have a lock, the wine by the glass was way overpriced and the rose tasted like...well vinegar, we gave it another chance but to be honest...there is better value out there.

Date visited: 06/09/09

Review by Linda Townsend on 24th August, 2009

Add your review
I had booked up as a surprise for my husband for our wedding anniversary a room and meal at The Sword in Hand. Looking on the web to see what time we could get in our room I came upon these reviews. I very nearly cancelled our booking but as it was the day before we were due to go I left it and did't tell my husband! We had the 4 poster room which was lovely, the setting is delightful and it was really peaceful. There were children playing in the enormous garden but who doesn't like to hear children laughing and being happy! We sat outside in the little patio area before our meal and enjoyed a drink. I asked my husband where the wine came from which he thought was a bit peculiar but said "a bottle" He obviously thought I was coming down with something! Yes, there was a bit of a wait after our first course which was really good. My husband had a T.Bone steak which was 75% good but the last bit was quite chewy which at £22.00 is not so good. I had the Beef Wellington which was good but unfortunately drowned in the sauce which accompanied it and again at £20.00 not so good. A good idea if serving something in Puff pastry is to serve the sauce in a small gravy boat so that the pastry does't get wet and stodgy! The saute potatoes were fine but the vegetables did look a bit tired. We didn't have room for puddings as the meals are quite large. We had coffee and brandy in the lovely garden area. Overall we enjoyed our evening and other people seemed happy with their meals. We had a good nights sleep and went into breakfast. We have in our lifetime stayed in some really nice hotels etc. but we have never had a cooked breakfast like the one at The Sword in Hand. It was fabulous. Nobody could moan about that! All in all it's worth trying a meal here or even a night. I have to say that we did see a lady who did look a bit frosty but everyone else was very pleasant and obliging and we would go back.

Date visited: 22nd August 2009

Review by Cheryl Marie Wright on 31st July, 2007

Add your review
My partner and I had one overnight stay. The pub itself is very quaint and located in lovely village. However, the greeting and level of service was well below standard. The landlady of the establishment was clearly too good to serve. The landlady never once acknowledged either one of us, spoke to us, made eye contact, or even managed a smile. The bar staff also were unapproachable, cold and unwelcoming. The beer was on it's way out and the wine was poured from a carton. We dined in the restaurant that evening. The food was expensive and unimpressive. The room was lovely and clean but sadly smelled very heavily of cigarette smoke. The breakfast was the highlight of our stay. The landlord served breakfast and was refreshingly welcoming, friendly and polite - unlike the landlady. To summerise - the pub is in a beautiful quiet location and if run by a landlady that actually acknowledged her customers, and enjoyed meeting 'NEW" people, then I presume it would do much better. We have managed a pub for almost two years now and we understand the significance of a warm and friendly welcome. Repeat custom is very important to us. The Sword in Hand will not see us again. We will be sure to tell our friends and family and anyone else wishing to head out to Westmill to avoid this pub. The icy greeting was completely unacceptable to us – we expect better . Landlady, if you don't like 'strangers' staying in your establishment, please remove your sign from the A10.

Date visited: 28/07/07

Review by Leanne Barry on 30th April, 2007

Add your review
I visited this venue on my sons birthday as I the venue had been recommended. I must firstly point out that we were taken aback by the location, facitilies and menu. We all decided (even the two children) that we would order sausages and mash, and we sat back to enjoy the fantastic surroundings while we waited for our food. My son and his friend bounced on the trampoline, and my brother enjoyed a short game of football with them. Coupled with the beautiful weather it was all in all a fantastic choice. Stomachs rumbling we all smiled as our meals were served, only to discover that the childrens meals consisted of one sausage and a dolop of mash (£4.50), and that our high expectations of homecooked local sauages and mash for adults consisted of 3 sausages and mash – oh and some gravy (£10.00)! There were no vegetables, no onion gravy and the presentation was poor. My brother is an unfortunate 6’7 and has quite a large appetite, and, although not over weight myself, I feel that a good portion always gives the ‘value for money feeling’, but after giving one of our sausages each to the children we were left with 2 sausages and a little mash. My mum was paying and she did not want to cause a fuss, however I asked for some extra mash for my brother, which we were given but told there was no more gravy! Not wanting to push the matter any further my mum paid the princly sum of just under £70.00 and we departed. But, on having time to reflect on this experience I feel very upset. I have written to the manager but as yet (over 2 weeks later I have had no response. I will be following this up with a phone as I am now even more disgruntled than before! This experience has certainly left a ver BAD TASTE in my mouth and I will most certainly choose other pubs over this one every time.

Date visited: 5th April 2007

Review by Rob Ansell on 5th July, 2006

Add your review
We had two customers visting our company so decided to try out The Sword Inn Hands new accomodation .Our customers loved it ! the rooms were excellant and the breakfast was the best they have ever had . Good selection of beers and fantastic evening meal made the whole vist first class . We will be using it again soon!

Date visited: 1/06/06

Review by Greg Page on 2nd June, 2006

Add your review
On a recent business trip I stayed at the Sword before flying from Stanstead (only 20mins. away)and found this to be a most welcolming pub. In fact it was so good that I'm sure if you looked up the word "pub" in the dictionary the definition would be "The Sword Inn Hand". The food was fantastic and the whole overnight experience even better by possibly the most comfortable bed I've slept in. A great selection of beers and a roaring fire (spring in the UK!)made for a very enjoyable stay indeed.

Date visited: 25th April 2006

Review by D G Sutherland on 6th September, 2005

Add your review
If you want really good quality food in the Buntingford area - this is the place. However, make sure that you have lots of time to spare !! This must be about the worst service in the UK - two hours and ten minutes waiting for service of a three course menu, "Soup of the Day, Salmon Fishcakes and Apple Crumble! Not exactly haut cuisine you would think ? The little girl left to run the bar, serve food, and answer countless telephone calls was clearly well out of her depths, and I feel that the management were more concerned with making a bob or two than considering their clients !! Definitely not one to be re-visited !!

Date visited: 5th September, 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
All that I desire to point out is the general principle that life imitates art far more than art imitates life - Oscar Wilde
More Quotes

On this day:
Storming of the Bastille - 1789, 1st demonstration of Dynamite - 1867, First National Grid Pylon Erected - 1928, Abortion Bill Passed - 1967
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages