It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Sailors Return, East Chaldon

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by marie on 16th April, 2012

Add your review
having rented a cottage in east chaldon....the sailors was yards away......perfect. As soon as we walked in we were greated by friendly staff and a lovely village pub atmosphere......had a chat with the barstaff who said the pub was under new management... our 4 year old twins were with us....one has autism..and is a very fussy eater...th staff couldnt do enough to help....... the menu was quite small.....but we certainly wasnt disappointed with our meals.....the local venison is beautiful....first time i had tried venison...it wont be the last!...:) if we hadnt had the kids with us we would have liked a friday or saturday night drink in there!.....a really great pub...made our holiday.

Date visited: april2012

Review by paul on 6th July, 2009

Add your review
Disappointed . Used to love the variety and volume on the menu . The list is now 60 % smaller . Previously a very extensive menu that included lots for vegetarians as well as meat eaters . I was really looking forward to eating there but unlikely to go back again . I'll look for a nearby replacement . The pub may now attract a different group / not so spcial to me but location is hard to beat and cider very nice .

Date visited: 27/06/09

Review by Chelsea on 26th January, 2009

Add your review
What a surprise - I was delighted with the interior of this historical pub ..it has great service, cheerful staff and good food.... The history of the place makes it a 'must do' for any literary lovers of poetry ... I have spent time researching the village and its historical locals ... I love this place ...the walks the beer and especially the food Can't wait to go for second helpings!

Date visited: 20th December

Review by bryan caldell on 29th July, 2008

Add your review
Have eaten here 2 years ago whilst staying at Durdle holiday camp & it was ok.. Visited last Saturday for an expensive baguette!..which made us go back for more...lovely home done ham!! Went back on Sunday to a bit of a wait..Good roast!..4 veg!..ok..ploughmans but i guessed some stress goin on as it was crazy. We will go back...& if you go expect to wait but...i think its well worth it as its homedone food without a doubt... Smiley Landlady!

Date visited: 26th July 2008

Review by Michelle Walker on 13th May, 2008

Add your review
Made to feel very welcome on our 4th visit for lunch. Food is excellent and served quickly with a smile, it was also home cooked which makes a big differnce. The different ales and ciders are worth trying. In all the staff especially Cath the new owner made everyone in our party including the dog feel very welcome. Thanks for a lovely lunch and your hospitality. Would highly recommend a visit or two.

Date visited: 27.04.08

Review by Tim+Lesley Carrington on 21st May, 2007

Add your review
The food used to be excellent, but recently, our last two visits have been disapointing, the food side seems to be run entirly by young people who still offer a Large menu but are unable to deliver to the high standard it used to be.

Date visited: 20.05.07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
In my end is my beginning. - Mary, Queen of Scots
More Quotes

On this day:
Bolton Massacre - 1644, First indoor swimming pool opens - 1742, First Isle of Man TT Race - 1907
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages