It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Rosedale Caravan & Camping Park, Rosedale Abbey

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Amanda Page on 4th June, 2012

Add your review
This campsite is set in a beautiful area, there is 2 lovely pubs within walking distance and the village is a typical yorkshire village idyllic. we booked in advance for 3 nights over the jubilee weekend, the website states there is tent pitches (without electricity) for 50 tents. When we arrived the place was heaving !!! They had trouble finding us a pitch, we were told to pitch on a patch of grass between a fork in the road only 3ft away from the next tent, all tents were very close together. We counted over 100 tents on a site for 50 !!!! There were 5 ladies toilets and 4 gents, for over 100 tents,there was not enough water to clean your teeth let alone wash or shower, there was literally a trickle of water from all the taps, it didn't matter what time of the day it was either! The 2nd morning the gents toilets were completely out of action ! The last straw was when they had to close the ladies toilets altogether, leaving 1 operational loo. Looking at other reviews its not a new problem so why take an extra 50 + tents knowing that the facilities just wouldn't be able to cater for them its just greedy. With no washing, shower or toilet facilities, we had no choice but to come home a day early, we will never return !

Date visited: 02/06/2012

Review by hannah on 20th August, 2010

Add your review
rosedail abby is a great place to camp the shower blocks are very clean the stream is exselent for all ages we will be coming again thankyou for a great holiday rosedail abbey.

Date visited: 15/8/2010

Review by Adam Taylor on 5th August, 2010

Add your review
This is a follow up review from my previous post prior to a weekend visit to Rosedale Abbey camping site. I must say that the weekend was lovely, as was the site and the staff. Despite the site being full the shower and toilet blocks were very clean. We even got some lovely sunny weather! What I would advise is to make sure you book ahead. I contacted the site to book a camp spot a week before my visit but the lady told me just to turn up as they would have plenty of space. However we were very lucky to get on site as they were almost full! Other than that all was well and looking forward to our next visit.

Date visited: June 2010

Review by paul on 28th June, 2010

Add your review
Couldn't complain about the facilities at all very very clean even though site was really busy. Wardens were very nice and helpful. Beautiful views of the York Moors!!! We stayed in a tent with our 2 children 8 and 3 yrs. Lovely park and play field which was great for the kids to play ball games. Only downfall was it was very noisey on a night going on til well after 12/1am in the morning. Some of the older kids stayed in the park til well after 11pm so my kids couldn't sleep as we were put right in front of the park. Park was really busy and the tents were cramped a bit too close together.

Date visited: 24/6/2010

Review by Miss Maria Coward & Mr J Laugley on 27th June, 2010

Add your review
What a fantastic friendly place. as soon as we arrived we were greeted with smiles and staff willing to help. the stay was very pleasent and ideal for my little family. The camp is clean and caters for everybody. The childrens park could maybe do with updating but my son had a fantastic time on it with all the other children. Also maybe some grip mats for the showers as when it was fyll the floor came very slippy but there was always a member of staff around to keep mopping it up. We will be returning this year along with 3 other famlies who wish to visit. Look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks Maria Coward

Date visited: 25/06/10-27/06/10

Review by Adam Taylor on 24th June, 2010

Add your review
I am due for a very relaxing visit to Rosedale Abbey Caravan and Camping site this weekend with my partner. I am hoping to re-visit my childhood as my parents had a caravan and we would visit Rosedale almost every weekend. Despite only 25 miles from where we lived we even had a number of main summer 2 week holidays at Rosedale. I am amazed at the post previous to this about the "pot holed track", i mean, this is a rual caravan site and i don't want a perfectly smooth tarmac road through the site. As for the electric going off well that is part of caravanning, it happens occasionally! Having said that bad customer service should not be tollerated but it does make me wonder how much petty complaining was made by that particular person! Anyway, i won't let it put me off my relaxing weekend and i am very much looking forward to my visit.

Date visited: June 2010

Review by Alan Smith on 7th April, 2010

Add your review
Spent a very disappointing Easter weekend at Rosedale. It started with the road down to our Pitch which was no-more than a pot holed cart track. Then came the frequent power cuts as the site struggled to cope with the number of visitors. I had the audacity to complain and was met with a very rude" you have gas don't you". As for the showers three were cold and the one which did eventually provide hot water you had to run around in to get wet and no heating in the shower block.

Date visited: Easter 2010

Review by Gordon Alan Beard on 14th August, 2009

Add your review
An excellent site some of the other contributors are confusing this site with another .This is near Ellesmere,Wrexham,Whitchurch.I am convinced the unfavourable review and the young lady were referring to a site in Yorkshire not this one on the England/Wales border

Date visited: July 2009

Review by Joanne Parish on 5th July, 2009

Add your review
I have been going to rosedale caravan and camping for the last 30 years, i am now 38 so I have gone as a child and now take my own family. I enjoy my hoildays but always come here twice a year for a long weekend for a nice quite break. its worth the money and very clean.

Date visited: 04/07/2009

Review by mr c marshall on 1st September, 2008

Add your review
This was my second visit to rosedale caravan park and i must admit its my last i couldn't belive the price per night of this site it was ott,we arrived at 830 on the evening of friday with our tourer and two adults and two dogs,i was amazed at the price of 22 pounds per night plus 4 pounds for the dogs,the site is very nice i must admit, but when i needed the little boys room i was flabergasted at what i saw there was mud water on the floor, and urine on the toilet seats the showers were cold and dirty,as we had already paid for this site we had no choice but to put up with it,we enjoyed a decent friday and saturday night and we had to vacate the sunday by 12 noon which i thought prefound,i went to the office to ask if possible there was any chance of a extended stay the lady said yes but with a extra charge of three pound,what the heck is going on with our sites its cheaper to get b&b for a night,us all present have decided to visit c/l sites in the future we have found in the past that the toilets etc can be very clean and if they are not any we use our own,all for as little as 6 pound,i think that if these sites are to survive through lots of customers they need to be in the real world and charge less.

Date visited: 29/08/2008

Review by carla on 5th August, 2007

Add your review
Great camp site great hosts very pleased to see you and help in any way thay could. Would go again thanks alot

Date visited: 3/8/07

Review by Christopher Nicholson on 16th April, 2007

Add your review
After having a static caravan for 30 years on the site we have enjoied going to Rosedale. We have been there longer than most the locals,and still find some interesting walks to go on.One of the walks is along the old railway line were you get a lovly view of the area.

Date visited: 13/4/07

Review by Nichola on 13th February, 2006

Add your review
I think that rosedale abbey is one of the best camp sites i have ever been to its got a huge field were you can play cricket and footy and other sports its also got a big park with a huge slide, I think that the shower rooms was great all you do is get washed i meen u pay for wat u get dont ya. One of the best things at ROSEDALE was the river it was cold and was quite deep with a rope hanging of the tree so u can just jump in. All in all i think its the best camp site and were goin in summer. !!!!! YOU PAY FOR WAT U GET !!!!!

Date visited: 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Life is a comedy for those who think... and a tragedy for those who feel - Horace Walpole
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Nechtansmere - 0685, Major Earthquake Damages Canterbury Cathedral - 1382, Treaty of Troyes - 1420, Cooper Floors Ali - 1966, Cutty Sark Ablaze - 2007
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages